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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 
quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 
as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 
In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 
executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 
regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 
publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 
the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 
to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 
easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 
of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 
in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 
60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 
committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 
promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 
Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 
the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 
the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 
or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 
Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 
of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 
require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 
the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 
of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 
additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 
days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 
determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 
period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 
(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 
which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 
from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 
deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 
date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 
regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 
duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 
at register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 
carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 
date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 
Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 
6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 
Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 
Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 
Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 
Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 
Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2024 through August 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 18, 2024 October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jennifer Nicole Brandt. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 
Board of Pharmacy amend 18VAC110-20-322 to include 
mitragynine and 7-hydroxymitragynine, the active alkaloids 
found in kratom, in Schedule I of the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on June 25, 
2024, the Board of Pharmacy voted to take no action on the 
petition. The board did not feel it possessed sufficient evidence 
at the meeting to determine that kratom has no medicinal value. 
The board may, however, research and review this matter at a 
future meeting. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 
caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-39; Filed April 11, 2024, 1:05 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Sharon Watson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 
Board of Counseling amend 18VAC115-20-52 B 10 and 
18VAC115-50-60 B 8 to allow residents in counseling to 
directly bill for services and directly receive payments from 
clients. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 
rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations on July 29, 2024. The petition will also be 
published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 
www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens July 29, 2024, and closes August 28, 2024. The board 
will consider the petition and all comments in support or 
opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 
comment, currently scheduled for October 4, 2024. The 
petitioner will be notified of the board's decision after that 
meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 28, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-40; Filed June 27, 2024, 12:13 p.m. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

VIRGINIA ALCHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 
review of 3VAC5-20, Advertising; 3VAC5-40, 
Requirements for Product Approval; 3VAC5-50, Retail 
Operations; and 3VAC5-70, Other Provisions and 
determined that these regulations should be amended. The 
proposed regulatory actions amending 3VAC5-20, 3VAC5-40, 
3VAC5-50, and 3VAC5-70, which are published in this issue 
of the Virginia Register, serve as the reports of findings. 

Contact Information: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior 
Legal Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority, 7450 Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, 
telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 
latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 
undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 
review: 11VAC10-47, Historical Horse Racing. The Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 11VAC10-47, which 
is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 
agency notice of announcement. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Davis, Director of Pari-Mutuels 
and Licensing, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 
Horsemens Road, New Kent, VA 23124, telephone (804) 966-
7415, or email rhonda.davis@vrc.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the following regulations are undergoing a periodic 
review and small business impact review: 18VAC160-30, 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators Licensing 
Regulations and 18VAC160-40, Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals Licensing Regulations. The review of these 
regulations will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine 
whether each regulation should be repealed, amended, or 
retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 
review of any issue relating to these regulations, including 
whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 
public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 
performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 
minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 29, 2024, and ends August 
19, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 
both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Executive Director, 
Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 
Onsite Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-0362, 
FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 
review and small business impact review: 22VAC40-100, 
Minimum Standards for Licensed Child Caring 
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Institutions. The review of this regulation will be guided by 
the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 
periodic review is to determine whether the regulation should 
be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 
comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 
regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 
the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 
economical performance of important governmental functions; 
(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 29, 2024, and ends August 
19, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 
both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Alisa Foley, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7138, or email a.foley@dss.virginia.gov. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Racing Commission intends 
to consider amending 11VAC10-47, Historical Horse 
Racing. The current regulation requires Churchill Downs 
Incorporated, the owner of Colonial Downs Racetrack, to have 
eight live tellers at the Rose satellite wagering facility (SWF) 
due to the number of historical horse racing terminals at that 
facility. The purpose of the action being considered is to reduce 
the current number of required tellers at historical horse racing 
terminals from two to one at Collinsville, Dumfries, and 
Emporia SWFs; from three to two at Hampton and Richmond 
SWFs; and from eight to three at the Rose SWF. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 
impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 
small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 
applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 28, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Davis, Director of Pari-Mutuels and 
Licensing, Virginia Racing Commission, 10700 Horsemens 
Road, New Kent, VA 23124, telephone (804) 966-7415, or 
email rhonda.davis@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7958; Filed June 27, 2024, 3:35 p.m. 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Common Interest Community Board 
intends to consider amending 18VAC48-60, Common 
Interest Community Association Registration Regulations. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to undertake a general 
review of the regulation in accordance with the regulatory 
reduction goal of Executive Directive Number One (2022). 
The regulation prescribes when and how common interest 

community associations are to register with the Common 
Interest Community Board by filing an annual report in 
accordance with the Code of Virginia. The regulation 
establishes registration application filing fees, procedures for 
renewing registrations, and requirements for updating 
registration information. The goals of the action include (i) 
reviewing discretionary requirements imposed on regulated 
parties to determine whether such requirements impose 
burdens that are not necessary to protect the public health, 
safety, and welfare or are not necessary to effectively 
administer the licensure program; (ii) ensuring the regulation 
conforms to current Virginia law and meets applicable federal 
requirements, is organized, clear, and understandable, and 
provides minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting 
the public; and (iii) ensuring the regulation reflects current 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
procedures and policies, along with any other changes 
determined to be necessary and appropriate. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 28, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7709; Filed July 2, 2024, 1:05 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 
3VAC5-20-10, 3VAC5-20-30, 3VAC5-20-90, 3VAC5-20-
100; repealing 3VAC5-20-20, 3VAC5-20-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103, 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2024. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 
Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 
Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 
Directors has the authority to adopt regulations and to do all 
acts necessary or advisable to carry out the purposes of Title 
4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate regulations that 
establish reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions on 
outdoor advertising of alcoholic beverages so that such 
advertising does not encourage or otherwise promote the 
consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons to whom 
alcoholic beverages may not be lawfully sold. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of citizens because it provides guidance for 
alcohol advertising to ensure that regulants do not engage in 
conduct that would (i) encourage consumption by those that 
cannot lawfully consume, (ii) violate the Tied House Laws 
(3VAC5-30), or (iii) mislead or harm the public. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) include a new 
provision that excludes combinations of food and alcoholic 
beverages offered at a discounted price by an on-premises 
licensee during the permitted hours for a happy hour pursuant 
to 3VAC5-50-160 from the prohibition against advertising that 
constitutes or contains an offer to pay or provide anything of 
value conditioned on the purchase of alcoholic beverages and 
(ii) remove unnecessary and duplicative provisions. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the public 
can now enjoy combination food and alcoholic discounts 
during happy hour. Also, the proposed amendments make the 
regulation more understandable by removing provisions that 
do not relate to advertising. The authority is of the position 
there are no disadvantages to the public regarding the 
amendments. The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is 
that the regulation utilizes current terminology and the changes 
bring clarity to certain advertising rules that have been 
subjective and caused confusion in the regulated community. 
There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 
analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As part 
of a periodic review, the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority Board of Directors (board) proposes to update the 
rules pertaining to outdoor advertising of alcoholic beverages, 
remove language that it reports is redundant to the Code of 
Virginia, and align the regulation with current industry 
practices. 

Background. Section 4.1-111 B 13 of the Code of Virginia 
directs the board to "establish reasonable time, place, and 
manner restrictions on outdoor advertising of alcoholic 
beverages," and § 4.1-112.2 of the Code of Virginia provides 
specific distance and zoning requirements for outdoor 
advertising, indicates when the board may grant variances, and 
lists acceptable exceptions to the distance and zoning 
requirements.2 In addition, § 4.1-113 of the Code of Virginia 
limits the type of indoor advertising that the board may 
regulate.3 Accordingly, 3VAC5-20 addresses various details 
pertaining to interior and exterior advertising of alcoholic 
beverages, print and electronic media, coupons, and other 
advertising channels. In order to meet the regulatory reduction 
requirements of Executive Order 19, the board met six times 
between June and October 2022 to review all of the Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC) regulations and 
convened roughly 60 stakeholders, representing all categories 
of license holders.4 Thus, the board seeks to make a number of 
changes that would update the regulation to reflect current 
practice, align the language with statute, and remove redundant 
or obsolete language. The most substantive changes are 
summarized as follows. 
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3VAC5-20-10: Advertising; generally; cooperative 
advertising, federal laws; cider; restrictions. Eliminate the 
requirement that advertising of cider conform to the 
requirements for advertising beer because the laws governing 
advertising apply to all types of alcohol and alcoholic 
beverages, except as specifically indicated. Thus, the current 
requirement is moot as there are no separate requirements for 
beer to which cider advertising could conform.5 

Specify that advertising should not tend to induce "persons 
younger than 21 years of age" to drink or consume to excess. 
The current language refers to "minors," which was not 
defined, but implied individuals younger than 18 years of age. 
This change would newly prohibit advertising targeted at 
persons older than 18 years of age and younger than 21 years 
of age. 

Remove the current language restricting the use of present or 
former athletes and athletic teams and suggesting that the 
product enhances athletic prowess. The replacement language 
would prohibit advertising that "implies that the product 
enhances athletic prowess; depicts any athlete consuming or 
about to consume alcohol prior to or while engaged in an 
athletic activity; or depicts an athlete consuming alcohol while 
operating or about to operate a motor vehicle or other 
machinery." ABC states that this change acknowledges the 
growing collaborations between sports teams and 
manufacturers, while ensuring that the use of these images 
does not imply any of the prohibitions listed in the regulation. 

The current language prohibiting any advertising for a contest 
or sweepstakes "where a purchase is required for participation" 
would be amended to specify that the prohibition only applies 
to the "purchase of alcoholic beverages." Under the current 
language, advertising is restricted for contests that require any 
purchases, including products unrelated to alcohol, which falls 
outside the board's authority to regulate. 

Add language that would allow a combination of food and 
alcoholic beverages to be offered at a discounted price by an 
on-premises licensee during the permitted time for a happy 
hour. ABC reports that this change reflects current practice and 
that such discounts may already be offered in some places. 

Add language that prohibits indoor advertising materials from 
being illuminated, except for back bar pedestals that are 
allowed to contain advertising regarding spirits. Currently, this 
language appears in similar form in 3VAC5-20-20 B.  

3VAC5-20-20: Advertising; interior; retail licenses. This 
section would be entirely repealed because it is redundant to 
§ 4.1-216.1 of the Code of Virginia.6 Currently, this section 
contains a definition of "advertising materials" that is also 
found in § 4.1-216.1 A of the Code of Virginia. It also specifies 
the advertising materials used by retail licensees, which is also 
in § 4.1-216.1 C of the Code of Virginia. A stipulation 
regarding illuminated indoor advertising materials would be 
moved to 3VAC5-20-10. 

3VAC5-20-30: Advertising; exterior. Eliminate language in 
the exterior advertising section of the regulation that ABC 

states is redundant to § 4.1-112.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
Delete language that prohibits alcoholic beverage 
manufacturers, importers, or wholesale licensees from selling, 
renting, loaning, or giving any billboard placements for 
outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising, or "in any other way 
confer on any retail licensee anything of value that constitutes 
outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising." The "billboard 
placement" and "any other way or anything of value" language 
would be moved to the Tied-House regulation (3VAC5-30-80) 
and replaced by a reference to "materials except for items 
permitted by 3VAC5-30-60 and 3VAC5-30-80."7 

Repeal language that prohibits alcoholic beverage 
manufacturers, importers, or wholesale licensees from 
engaging in cooperative advertising on behalf of retail 
licensees. Such activity is already prohibited by 3VAC5-30-
80. 

3VAC5-20-60: Advertising; novelties and specialties. This 
section would be repealed entirely. These requirements would 
be added as 3VAC5-30-100 because the board believes they 
more properly belong in the regulation governing tied-house 
requirements. 

3VAC5-20-90: Advertising; coupons. Specify that consumer 
submitted refund coupons may not be honored for "on-
premises consumption" at retail outlets or state government 
stores. The current regulation does not contain the phrase "on-
premises consumption," and ABC indicates that it is necessary 
in order to prevent individuals who have over-consumed from 
driving. 

3VAC5-20-100: Advertising; sponsorship of public events; 
restrictions and conditions. Update the cross-references to the 
definition of advertising materials in 3VAC5-30. Separate the 
provisions for manufacturers and wholesalers to clarify that 
manufacturers may sponsor public events and that wholesalers 
may only cosponsor charitable events with manufacturers. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 
largely serve to update the regulation to reflect current practice 
and remove redundant or obsolete language. The proposed 
amendments would benefit the public to the extent that 
restrictions on advertising to young adults and the use of refund 
coupons lowers the risk of underage drinking or excessive 
drinking. The loosening of restrictions with respect to athletes 
and athletic teams could benefit manufacturers that wish to use 
more representations of athletes in their advertising in Virginia. 
The proposed amendments may generate some losses to 
entities that engage in advertising if they had already invested 
in advertising materials that specifically targeted people 18 to 
21 years of age. Given that these changes were broadly 
supported by a number of stakeholders, it is unlikely that any 
manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, or retailer engaging in 
advertising would face significant costs or adverse economic 
impact as a result of these changes.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 
amendments potentially affect ABC's approximate 20,892 
licensees8 who manufacture, distribute, or sell and serve 
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alcoholic beverages in the Commonwealth, and other 
interested parties. Only licensees and other entities that engage 
in advertising would be affected by the changes to this chapter. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 
adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.9 An 
adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 
or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 
exceed the costs for all entities combined.10 The proposed 
amendments do not appear to increase net costs or reduce 
benefit. Thus, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses11 Affected.12 The proposed amendments do 
not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities13 Affected.14 The proposed amendments neither 
disproportionally affect any particular localities, nor affect 
costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 
amendments do not substantively affect the use and value of 
private property. The proposed amendments do not affect real 
estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  
2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter1/section4.1-111/ and 
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/ title4.1/chapter1/section4.1-112.2/, 
respectively. 
3 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter1/section4.1-113/. 
4 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Meetings.cfm?BoardID=2&time=Past. 
ABC provided a list of external stakeholders; although all stakeholders may 
not have attended every meeting, the meetings were spent conducting a line-
by-line review of the regulations, and the proposed changes reflect the board's 
decisions after considering stakeholder input. 
5 ABC explained that the law currently treats cider the same way as beer for all 
purposes except taxes, where cider is treated the same as wine. 
6 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-216.1/. 
7 The board is concurrently amending 3VAC5-30 to incorporate this language 
in 3VAC5-30-80. See 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=10230 for the proposed 
changes to that regulation. 
8 Data Source: ABC. 
9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  
10 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 
a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 
for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 
changes to the regulation. 
11 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 
than $6 million."  
12 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
13 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 
likely to occur.  
14 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 
disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 
the majority of the Department of Planning and Budget's 
economic analysis; however, the authority does take exception 
to a statement mentioned by the analyst in the section entitled 
"Estimated Benefits and Costs." The analyst states, "The 
proposed amendments may generate some losses to entities 
that engage in advertising if they had already invested in 
advertising materials that specifically targeted people 18 to 21 
years of age." The analyst's assessment assumes that there are 
members of the alcohol industry actively engaging in 
advertising to individuals older than 18 years of age yet 
younger than 21 years of age who cannot lawfully purchase, 
possess, or consume alcohol (§§ 4.1-304 and 4.1-305 of the 
Code of Virginia). The authority does not agree with taking 
into consideration the actions of entities that would promote 
violating the law in assessing the economic impact of the 
proposed regulations. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments revise provisions surrounding 
outdoor advertising of alcoholic beverages, remove 
language that is duplicative or redundant, and align the 
regulation with current industry practices. 

3VAC5-20-10. Advertising; generally; cooperative 
advertising; federal laws; cider; restrictions. 

A. All alcoholic beverage advertising is permitted in this the 
Commonwealth except that which is prohibited or otherwise 
limited or restricted by regulation of the board Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority). Any 
editorial or other reading matter in any periodical, publication, 
or newspaper for the publication of which no money or other 
valuable consideration is paid or promised, directly or 
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indirectly, by or for the benefits of any permittee or licensee 
does not constitute advertising. 

B. Advertising of cider, as defined in § 4.1-213 of the Code 
of Virginia, shall conform to the requirements for advertising 
beer. 

C. B. The board authority may issue a permit authorizing a 
variance from any of its advertising regulations for good cause 
shown. 

D. C. No advertising shall contain any statement, symbol, 
depiction, or reference that: 

1. Would tend to induce minors persons younger than 21 
years of age to drink, or would tend to induce persons to 
consume to excess; 

2. Is obscene or is suggestive of any illegal activity; 

3. Incorporates the use of any present or former athlete or 
athletic team or implies that the product enhances athletic 
prowess; except that, persons granted a license to sell wine 
or beer may display within their licensed premises point-of-
sale advertising materials that incorporate the use of any 
present or former professional athlete or athletic team, 
provided that such advertising materials: (i) otherwise 
comply with the applicable regulations of the appropriate 
federal agency and (ii) do not depict any athlete consuming 
or about to consume alcohol prior to or while engaged in an 
athletic activity, do not depict an athlete consuming alcohol 
while the athlete is operating or about to operate a motor 
vehicle or other machinery, and do not imply that the 
alcoholic beverage so advertised enhances athletic prowess 
Implies that the product enhances athletic prowess, depicts 
any athlete consuming or about to consume alcohol prior to 
or while engaged in an athletic activity, or depicts an athlete 
consuming alcohol while the athlete is operating or about to 
operate a motor vehicle or other machinery; 

4. Is false or misleading in any material respect; 

5. Implies or indicates, directly or indirectly, that the product 
is government endorsed by the use of flags, seals, or other 
insignia or otherwise; 

6. Makes any reference to the intoxicating effect of any 
alcoholic beverages; 

7. Constitutes or contains a contest or sweepstakes where a 
purchase of alcoholic beverages is required for participation; 
or 

8. Constitutes or contains an offer to pay or provide anything 
of value conditioned on the purchase of alcoholic beverages, 
except for (i) a combination of food and alcoholic beverages 
offered at a discounted price by an on-premises licensee 
during the permitted hours for a happy hour pursuant to 
3VAC5-50-160 or (ii) refund coupons and combination 
packaging. Any such combination packaging shall be 

limited to packaging provided by the manufacturer that is 
designed to be delivered intact to the consumer. 

E. D. The board authority shall not regulate advertising of 
nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine so long as (i) a 
reasonable person by common observation would conclude 
that the advertising clearly does not represent any 
advertisement for alcoholic beverages and (ii) the advertising 
prominently states that the product is nonalcoholic. 

E. Interior advertising materials may not be illuminated, 
except for back bar pedestals upon which advertising regarding 
spirits may appear. 

3VAC5-20-20. Advertising; interior; retail licensees. 
(Repealed.) 

A. As used in this section, the term "advertising materials" 
means any tangible property of any kind which utilizes words 
or symbols making reference to any brand or manufacturer of 
alcoholic beverages; except when used in the advertisement of 
nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine in accordance with 
3VAC5-20-10 E.  

B. Retail licensees may use any advertising materials having 
a wholesale value of not more than $250 per item that comply 
with 3VAC5-20-10 inside licensed retail establishments. 
Advertising materials may not be illuminated, except for back 
bar pedestals upon which advertising matter regarding spirits 
may appear. 

3VAC5-20-30. Advertising; exterior. 

Outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall comply with 
3VAC5-20-10 and shall be limited as follows: 

1. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall depict 
persons consuming alcoholic beverages, use cartoon 
characters in any way, or use persons who have not attained 
the minimum drinking age are younger than 21 years of age 
as models or actors. 

2. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall be placed 
in violation of § 4.1-112.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall be placed 
on property zoned exclusively for agricultural or residential 
uses, or on unzoned property. 

4. All outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising must also 
comply with the provisions of Chapter 12 (§ 33.2-1200 et 
seq.) of Title 33.2 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations 
of the Virginia Department of Transportation promulgated 
pursuant thereto. 

5. 2. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 
wholesale licensee may sell, rent, lend, buy for, or give to 
any retail licensee any outdoor alcoholic beverage 
advertising, any billboard placements for such advertising, 
or in any other way confer on any retail licensee anything of 
value that constitutes outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising 
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materials, except for items permitted by 3VAC5-30-60 and 
3VAC5-30-80. 

6. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 
wholesale licensee may engage in cooperative advertising, 
as defined in 3VAC5-30-80, on behalf of any retail licensee. 

7. 3. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer or importer may 
require a wholesale licensee to place outdoor alcoholic 
beverage advertising or exercise control over the funds of a 
wholesale licensee for any purpose, including but not limited 
to the purchase of outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising. 

3VAC5-20-60. Advertising; novelties and specialties. 
(Repealed.) 

Distribution of novelty and specialty items, including wearing 
apparel, bearing alcoholic beverage advertising, shall be 
subject to the following limitations and conditions:  

1. Items not in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 
given away;  

2. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers 
or their representatives may give licensed retailers items not 
in excess of $10 in wholesale value in quantities equal to the 
number of employees of the retail establishment present at 
the time the items are delivered. Thereafter, such employees 
may wear or display the items on the licensed premises. 
Neither manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, 
wholesalers or their representatives may give such items to 
patrons on the premises of retail licensees; however, 
manufacturers or their authorized representatives other than 
wholesalers conducting tastings pursuant to the provisions 
of § 4.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia may give no more 
than one such item to each consumer provided a sample of 
alcoholic beverages during the tasting event; and such items 
bearing moderation and responsible drinking messages may 
be displayed by the licensee and his employees on the 
licensed premises and given to patrons on such premises as 
long as any references to any alcoholic beverage 
manufacturer or its brands are subordinate in type size and 
quantity of text to such moderation message;  

3. Items in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be donated 
by distilleries, wineries and breweries only to participants or 
entrants in connection with the sponsorship of conservation 
and environmental programs, professional, semi-
professional or amateur athletic and sporting events subject 
to the limitations of 3VAC5-20-100, and for events of a 
charitable or cultural nature;  

4. Items may be sold by mail upon request or over-the-
counter at retail establishments customarily engaged in the 
sale of novelties and specialties, provided they are sold at the 
reasonable open market price in the localities where sold; 

5. Wearing apparel shall be in adult sizes;  

6. Point-of-sale order blanks, relating to novelty and 
specialty items, may be provided by beer and wine 
wholesalers to retail licensees for use on their premises, if 
done for all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the 
consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each retailer 
or his representative. Wholesalers may not be involved in the 
redemption process; and 

7. Novelty and specialty items bearing alcoholic beverage 
advertising may not be distributed to persons younger than 
the legal drinking age. 

3VAC5-20-90. Advertising; coupons. 

A. "Normal retail price" shall mean the average retail price of 
the brand and size of the product in a given market and not a 
reduced or discounted price. 

B. Coupons may be advertised in accordance with the 
following conditions and restrictions: 

1. Manufacturers or importers of spirits, wine, and beer may 
use only consumer submitted refund, not instantly 
redeemable discount, coupons. The coupons may not exceed 
50% of the normal retail price and may not be honored for 
on-premises consumption at a retail outlet or state 
government store but shall be submitted directly to the 
manufacturer or importer or its designated agent. Such agent 
may not be a wholesaler or retailer of alcoholic beverages. 
Consumer proof of purchase (, such as a dated, retail specific 
retail-specific receipt), is required for redemption of all 
consumer coupons. Coupons are permitted in the print 
media, via the Internet, by direct mail or electronic mail 
email to consumers, or as part of, or attached to, the package. 
Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers, 
and their representatives may provide coupon pads to 
retailers for use by retailers on their premises if done for all 
retail licensees equally and after obtaining the consent, 
which may be a continuing consent, of each retailer or 
retailer's representative. Wholesale licensees may attach 
refund coupons to the package if done for all retail licensees 
equally and after obtaining the consent, which may be a 
continuing consent, for each retailer or retailer's 
representative. 

2. Manufacturers or importers offering refund coupons on 
spirits and wine sold in state government stores shall notify 
the board at least 15 days in advance of the issuance of the 
coupons of its amount, its expiration date, and the area of the 
Commonwealth in which it will be primarily used if not used 
statewide. 

3. Wholesale licensees are not permitted to offer coupons. 

4. Retail licensees may offer coupons, including their own 
discount or refund coupons, on wine and beer sold for off-
premises consumption only. Retail licensees may offer their 
own coupons in the print media, at the point-of-sale point of 
sale, or by direct mail to consumers. 
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5. No retailer may be paid a fee by manufacturers or 
wholesalers of alcoholic beverages for display or use of 
coupons, and the name of the retail establishment may not 
appear on any refund coupons offered by manufacturers. No 
manufacturer or wholesaler may furnish any coupons or 
materials regarding coupons to retailers that are customized 
or designed for discount or refund by the retailer. 

6. Retail licensees or employees thereof may not receive 
refunds on coupons obtained from the packages before sale 
at retail. 

7. No coupons may be honored for any individual younger 
than the legal age for purchase. 

3VAC5-20-100. Advertising; sponsorship of public events; 
restrictions and conditions. 

A. Generally. Alcoholic beverage advertising in connection 
with the sponsorship of public events shall be limited to 
sponsorship of conservation and environmental programs,; 
professional, semi-professional, or amateur athletic and 
sporting events; and events of a charitable or cultural nature by 
distilleries, wineries, breweries, importers, and bottlers. 

B. Restrictions and conditions. 

1. Any sponsorship on a college, high school, or younger age 
level is prohibited; 

2. Cooperative advertising, as defined in 3VAC5-30-80, is 
prohibited; 

3. Awards or contributions of alcoholic beverages are 
prohibited; 

4. Advertising of alcoholic beverages shall conform in size 
and content to the other advertising concerning the event and 
advertising regarding charitable events shall place primary 
emphasis on the charitable fund raising fundraising nature of 
the event; 

5. A charitable event is one held for the specific purpose of 
raising funds for a charitable organization which that is 
exempt from federal and state taxes; 

6. Advertising in connection with the sponsorship of an 
event may be in any media, such as print media, the Internet 
or other electronic means, television, or radio; by direct mail 
or flyers fliers to consumers; on programs, tickets, and 
schedules for the event; on the inside of licensed or 
unlicensed retail establishments; and at the site of the event; 

7. Advertising materials as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 G 
3VAC5-30-80 M, table tents as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 H 
A, and canisters are permitted; 

8. Prior written notice shall be submitted to the board 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority describing 
the nature of the sponsorship and giving the date, time, and 
place of it; and 

9. Manufacturers may sponsor public events and wholesalers 
may only cosponsor charitable events; and 

10. Wholesalers may only cosponsor charitable events with 
manufacturers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7508; Filed July 1, 2024, 4:16 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-40. Requirements for Product 
Approval (amending 3VAC5-40-10, 3VAC5-40-20, 
3VAC5-40-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2024. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 
Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 
Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 
Directors (board) has the authority to adopt regulations and to 
do all acts necessary or advisable to carry out the purposes of 
Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-111 of the Code 
of Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate regulations 
regarding the sale of beer and wine for off-premises 
consumption in resealable containers. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of citizens because it provides guidance for 
how alcohol is labeled so that the label does not encourage 
unlawful consumption, does not mislead the consumer, and 
does not exceed maximum lawful quantities for containers. 

Substance: The proposed amendments include (i) addressing 
the labeling of alcoholic brands of nonalcoholic products and 
(ii) adding language regarding wine and beer sold for off-
premises consumption by on-premises licensees. 

Issues: The proposed revisions will benefit the public because 
they update the rules to comport with modern practices for 
label approval while maintaining the mission of preventing 
misleading advertising, advertising that encourages 
overconsumption, and advertising that is otherwise improper. 
The Commonwealth benefits from these revisions because 
they clarify the authority's regulation and make the regulation 
more accessible and understandable and easier to apply 
equitably. There are no disadvantages to the public or 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
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Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 
analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of Directors 
(board) proposes to (i) add that the Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (ABC) may withhold approval of 
any wine or beer label that is an imitation of a spirits product 
or is a complete facsimile of a spirits product, excluding low 
alcohol beverage coolers; (ii) add that ABC may withhold 
approval of any wine or beer label that is not clearly 
distinguishable from a nonalcoholic product, or which 
minimizes, fails to identify, or disguises the product's alcoholic 
contents; (iii) remove current language that states that the 
agency may withhold approval of any wine or beer label "that 
implies or indicates that the product is government (federal, 
state, or local) endorsed"; (iv) amend the current language, 
which states that ABC may withhold approval of labels 
designed to induce "minors" to drink, to labels designed to 
induce "underage persons" to drink; (v) amend text to reflect 
current nomenclature, repeal text that the board states is 
duplicative of the Code of Virginia, and add clarifying 
language. 

Background. This action is part of a periodic review of the 
regulation.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to ABC, there have 
been instances where beer and wine product labels imitate 
spirits products, and this has led to market confusion and 
complaints to the agency. The proposal to add that ABC may 
withhold approval of any label that is an imitation of a spirits 
product or is a complete facsimile of a spirits product, 
excluding low alcohol beverage coolers, would be beneficial 
in that members of the public may become less likely to be 
misled concerning the nature of some beverages they consume. 
Similarly, the agency has stated that there has been a 
nationwide issue where beer or wine labels are not clearly 
distinguishable from a nonalcoholic product or minimize, fail 
to identify, or disguise the product's alcoholic contents. These 
occurrences have led to consumer confusion and underage 
consumption.3 Thus, the proposal to add that ABC may 
withhold approval of any label that is not clearly 
distinguishable from a nonalcoholic product or that minimizes, 
fails to identify, or disguises the product's alcoholic contents 
would be beneficial in that it may decrease the likelihood of 
unintentional underage consumption and unintentional 
consumption of alcohol by adults. ABC also proposes to 
eliminate text that states that the agency may withhold 
approval of any wine or beer label that implies or indicates that 
the product is government endorsed. The agency reports that 
stakeholders have advocated for this change as more 
manufacturers were producing brands with labels that had state 
college or university logos or Virginia landmarks, and that 
these labels were being rejected because of this prohibition. 
Manufacturers would still have to get permission from the 
colleges and universities or other relevant entities to get to use 

their logos or images. Most of the landmarks on labels have 
been buildings associated with colleges or universities, and the 
manufacturer has to have permission here as well.4 Since under 
the proposed language the manufacturers would have to 
receive consent from the entities whose image or logo is 
represented, there appears to be no cost associated with this 
proposed change. Since it newly allows manufacturers to use 
labels that they appear to wish to use to sell their product, these 
firms would be better off. Because public colleges and 
universities could be compensated for their permission, these 
institutions may benefit as well. 

The current regulation entitles ABC to withhold approval of 
labels designed to induce minors to drink. Because minors are 
younger than 18 years of age, and the legal drinking age is 21 
years of age, the current text does not specifically allow the 
agency to withhold approval of labels designed to induce 
individuals who are older than 18 years of age but younger than 
21 years of age to drink. Amending "minors" to "underage 
persons" would conform the prohibition to the legal drinking 
age. This could be beneficial in that it could potentially reduce 
the encouragement of drinking by those who are older than 18 
years of age, but not yet legally permitted to consume alcohol.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 
amendments potentially affect ABC's approximate 20,892 
licensees5 who manufacture, distribute, or sell and serve 
alcoholic beverages in Virginia, public colleges and 
universities in the Commonwealth, and other interested 
members of the public. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 
adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.6 An 
adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 
or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 
exceed the costs for all entities combined.7 The proposed 
amendments appear to neither increase cost nor reduce benefit. 
Thus, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments do 
not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities10 Affected.11 The proposed amendments neither 
disproportionally affect any particular localities nor directly 
affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Proposed 
amendments would affect which beer and wine labels may be 
used. Manufacturers that wish to use labels with state college 
logos or Virginia landmarks, and distributers and direct sellers 
of beer or wine who believe their sales would increase with 
such labels may have some increase in value. The proposed 
amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
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regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  
2 Pursuant to the Administrative Process Act, agencies are required to review 
regulations every four years. See § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia 
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/ chapter40/section2.2-4007.1/) and 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia https://law.lis.virginia.gov/ 
vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4017/. 
3 Source: ABC 
4 Ibid. 
5 Data Source: ABC 
6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  
7 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 
a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 
for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 
changes to the regulation. 
8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 
than $6 million."  
9 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
10 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 
likely to occur.  
11 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 
disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 
the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add that the Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) may 
withhold approval of any wine or beer label that is an 
imitation of a spirits product or is a complete facsimile of a 
spirits product, excluding low-alcohol beverage coolers; (ii) 
add that the authority may withhold approval of any wine or 
beer label that is not clearly distinguishable from a 

nonalcoholic product or that minimizes, fails to identify, or 
disguises the product's alcoholic contents; (iii) remove 
current language that states that the authority may withhold 
approval of any wine or beer label that implies or indicates 
that the product is government endorsed; (iv) update 
"minor" to "underage person"; and (v) reflect current 
nomenclature, repeal text that is duplicative of the Code of 
Virginia, and add clarifying language. 

3VAC5-40-10. Spirits; labels, definitions and standards of 
identity. 

Spirits sold in the Commonwealth shall conform with 
regulations adopted by the appropriate federal agency, relating 
to labels, definitions, standards of identity, and standards of 
fill. In addition, the prior approval of the board Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) must be 
obtained as to the spirits, containers, and labels. The board 
authority may request a copy of the federal certificate of label 
approval before a product is approved for sale. 

Subsequent sales under an approved label shall conform to 
the analysis of the spirits originally approved by the board, 
authority and shall be packaged in approved types and sizes of 
containers. 

3VAC5-40-20. Wine and beer; qualifying procedures; 
disqualifying factors; samples; exceptions. 

A. Except as provided in subsection F of this section, all wine 
and beer sold in the Commonwealth shall be first approved by 
the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) as to content, container, and label. 

1. All wine and beer sold in this the Commonwealth shall 
conform with regulations adopted by the appropriate federal 
agency, relating to labels, definitions, and standards of 
identity. An application acceptable to the board authority or 
on a form prescribed by the board authority describing the 
merchandise shall be submitted for each new brand and type 
of wine or beer offered for sale in the Commonwealth. 
Applicants shall submit a copy of the approval of the label 
by such federal agency. A registration fee in such the amount 
as may be established by the board authority shall be 
included with each application. 

2. A gift package containing wine or beer for which label 
approval has been granted may be sold without additional 
approval by the board authority. 

B. While not limited thereto, the board shall withhold 
approval of any wine if the alcoholic content exceeds 21% by 
volume. 

C. While not limited thereto, the board B. The authority may 
withhold approval of any label if it has reasonable cause to 
believe the container or label: 

1. Which implies or indicates that the product contains 
spirits; 
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2. Which contains the word "fortified" or implies that the 
contents contain spirits, except that the composition and 
alcoholic content may be shown if required by regulations of 
an appropriate federal agency; 

3. Which contains 1. Contains any obscene subject matter or 
illustration; 

4. Which contains subject matter designed 2. Contains a 
design or statement that is likely to induce minors underage 
persons to drink, or is suggestive of the intoxicating effect of 
wine or beer 5. Which contains targets underage persons; 

3. Suggests the intoxicating effect of wine or beer; 

4. Contains any design or statement which that is likely to 
mislead the consumer; 

5. Is an imitation of a spirits product or is a complete 
facsimile of a spirits product, excluding products defined as 
"low alcohol beverage coolers" in § 4.1-100 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

6. Which implies or indicates that the product is government 
(federal, state, or local) endorsed; or Is not clearly 
distinguishable from a nonalcoholic product or minimizes, 
fails to identify, or disguises the product's alcoholic contents. 
The authority shall take into account: 

a. The number, location, size, and clarity of references to 
the alcohol content on the label; 

b. Whether the labeling or container emphasizes features 
that are more commonly associated with nonalcoholic 
consumable products;  

c. Any and all differences between the product's container 
or label and the nonalcoholic product, including color 
palette, font type, imagery, placement of words, images or 
descriptions, and backgrounds; and 

d. Any other relevant factor, including whether the 
nonalcoholic product is clearly marketed as a nonalcoholic 
beverage alternative to an alcoholic beverage product; or 

7. Which implies Implies that the product enhances athletic 
prowess or includes any reference to any athlete, former 
athlete, or athletic team except that references to athletes or 
athletic teams shall be allowed to the extent such references 
are permitted in point-of-sale advertising pursuant to 
3VAC5-20-10 depicts any athlete consuming or about to 
consume alcohol prior to or while engaged in an athletic 
activity; or depicts an athlete consuming alcohol while the 
athlete is operating or about to operate a motor vehicle or 
other machinery. 

C. In analyzing products and labels for approval, the authority 
may consider the totality of the product label and packaging 
and consider any other relevant factors. 

D. A person holding a license as a winery, farm winery, 
brewery, or a wine or beer wholesaler shall, upon request, 
furnish the board authority without compensation a reasonable 

quantity of such brand sold by him the person for chemical 
analysis. 

E. Any wine or beer sold only by direct shipment to 
consumers by holders of wine or beer shippers' licenses shall 
be approved upon compliance with subdivision A 1 of this 
section. 

F. If the board authority has not approved a wine or beer for 
sale within 30 days after receipt by the board authority of a 
complete application and registration fee, the wine or beer may 
be sold in the Commonwealth pending a decision from the 
board authority on the application. If the application for 
approval is rejected, the manufacturer or importer shall 
discontinue sales of the rejected product upon notice from the 
board authority. Any wholesale or retail licensee may continue 
sales until any inventory on hand at the time of notice from the 
board authority is depleted. 

3VAC5-40-30. Wine and beer containers; sizes and types; 
on-premises and off-premises limitations; cooler-
dispensers; novel containers; carafes and decanters. 

A. Wine and beer may be sold at retail only in or from the 
original containers of the sizes that have been approved by the 
appropriate federal agency, except that farm winery licensees 
may conduct barrel tastings at the winery, at which samples of 
wine not yet bottled may be sold to visitors to the winery. Each 
farm winery conducting a barrel tasting shall measure the wine 
withdrawn for the tasting, maintain full and complete records, 
and remit the taxes imposed by § 4.1-234 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Wine sold for on-premises consumption shall not be 
removed from the licensed premises except in the original 
container with closure. Beer dispensed for on-premises 
consumption shall not be removed from authorized areas upon 
the premises. No wine or beer shall be sold for off-premises 
consumption in any container upon which the original closure 
has been broken, except for (i) a growler; or (ii) wine or beer 
sold for off-premises consumption by on-premises licensees 
that are not in the manufacturer's original sealed container, 
which shall (a) be enclosed in a container that has no straw 
holes or other openings and is sealed in a manner that allows a 
person to readily discern whether the container has been 
opened or tampered with subsequent to its original closure; (b) 
display the name of the licensee from which the wine or beer 
was purchased; (c) be clearly marked with the phrase "contains 
alcoholic beverages"; and (d) have a maximum volume of 16 
ounces per beverage. A "growler" is defined as a resealable 
container made of glass, ceramic, metal, or other materials 
approved by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority (authority) as well as resealable containers approved 
by the board authority. 

1. Beer and cider may be sold for off-premises consumption 
by persons licensed to sell beer and cider for off-premises 
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consumption in growlers with a maximum capacity of 128 
fluid ounces or, if in metric size containers, four liters. 

2. Wine may be sold for off-premises consumption in 
growlers with a maximum capacity of 64 fluid ounces or, for 
metric size containers, two liters. Wine sold in growlers may 
only be sold by persons licensed to sell wine for both on-
premises and off-premises consumption and by gourmet 
shop licensees. Wine sold by gourmet shop licensees shall 
be labeled with the (i) manufacturer's name or trade name, 
(ii) place of production, (iii) net contents in fluid ounces, and 
(iv) name and address of the retailer. 

3. Retail licensees licensed to sell wine and beer for both on-
premises and off-premises consumption and gourmet shop 
licensees licensed for off-premises consumption may sell 
wine and beer in sealed containers made of metal or other 
materials approved by the board authority with a maximum 
capacity of 32 fluid ounces or, if in metric size containers, 
one liter, provided that the alcoholic beverages are placed in 
the container following an order from the consumer. 

C. Novel or unusual containers are prohibited except upon 
special permit issued by the board authority. In determining 
whether a container is novel or unusual, the board authority 
may consider, but is not limited to, the following factors: (i) 
nature and composition of the container;, (ii) length of time it 
has been employed for the purpose;, (iii) the extent to which it 
is designed or suitable for those uses;, (iv) the extent to which 
the container is a humorous representation;, and (v) whether 
the container is dutiable for any other purpose under customs 
laws and regulations. 

D. Wine may be served for on-premises consumption in 
carafes or decanters not exceeding 52 fluid ounces (1.5 liters) 
in capacity. Beer may be served for on-premises consumption 
in pitchers not exceeding 80 fluid ounces in capacity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7511; Filed July 1, 2024, 4:17 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 
(amending 3VAC5-50-10 through 3VAC5-50-150, 3VAC5-
50-170 through 3VAC5-50-220, 3VAC5-50-240, 3VAC5-
50-250, 3VAC5-50-260). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2024. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 
Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 
Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors (board) has the authority to adopt regulations and to 
do all acts necessary or advisable to carry out the purposes of 
Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-111 of the Code 
of Virginia requires the board to promulgate regulations 
regarding requirements and restrictions on retail and other 
licensees. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of citizens because it provides 
comprehensive guidance for retail licensees on numerous 
issues, including designated manager requirements, 
qualifications, gifts of alcohol, and license-specific 
requirements for such licensees as restaurants, bed and 
breakfast establishments, marketplace licensees, clubs, and 
caterers. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) allow licensees to 
serve an entire container of spirits if the container contains 16 
ounces or less and the alcohol by value content is 15% or less; 
(ii) add the word "grain" before "alcohol"; (iii) add limitations 
on mixed beverage licensees that serve flights of samples so 
that the licensees are limited to no more than five mixed 
beverages, and each shall contain no more than one ounce of 
distilled spirits; (iv) add a subsection that limits the number of 
times a nonmember may frequent a club, requires nonmembers 
to be accompanied by club members, and makes it a violation 
if the club occupancy consists of a number of nonmembers that 
exceeds the number of club members; (v) add a provision that 
a nonmember attending a member-sponsored private function 
is not to be counted as a guest with respect to the club guest 
restrictions; (vi) clarify language; and (vii) remove redundant 
or duplicative language. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 
proposed amendments remove text that is redundant and make 
the regulation easier to read. The regulation is updated to 
account for low-alcohol beverage coolers. Additionally, the 
regulation is revised to remove requirements that are no longer 
applicable since license reform. The advantage to the 
Commonwealth is that requirements that are simply 
restatements of the Code of Virginia do not have to be 
maintained and the result is a more condensed regulatory 
chapter. Also, the Commonwealth benefits because the 
regulation will be up to date with the Code of Virginia. There 
are no disadvantages to the public or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 
analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 
Directors (board) proposes to (i) remove the exception for the 
City of Danville, where wine and beer can be sold for off-
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premises consumption as late as 1:00 am as opposed to 
midnight everywhere else in Virginia; (ii) expand the 
availability of an employee compensation plan based on total 
sales, including the sale of alcoholic beverages to other 
retailers than just beer and wine only establishments; (iii) allow 
a mixed beverage restaurant licensee to serve the entire 
contents of a low alcohol beverage cooler; (iv) allow sale of a 
flight of samples or a flight of up to five mixed beverages that 
do not contain more than one ounce of distilled spirits; (v) 
increase the required monthly sales of oysters and other 
seafood for gourmet oyster house licensed establishments from 
$1,000 a month to $2,000 a month; (vi) revise the methodology 
to determine the membership level of a club; (vii) remove 
subject's height from identification requirements; and (viii) 
make editorial changes aimed at removing text that the board 
indicates is redundant of the Code of Virginia or otherwise 
updating the language to comport with current practices within 
the industry and the agency. 

Background. This regulation contains rules about alcoholic 
beverage retail operations, including but not limited to 
designated manager requirements, licensee qualifications, gifts 
of alcohol, and license specific regulations for such licensees 
as restaurants, bed and breakfast establishments, marketplace 
licensees, clubs, and caterers. After conducting a 
comprehensive review of this chapter, the board proposes 
several changes. One such change would remove the exception 
for the City of Danville, where wine and beer can be sold for 
off-premises consumption as late as 1:00 a.m. as opposed to 
midnight everywhere else in the Commonwealth. The board 
reports that this exception was provided a long time ago to 
accommodate workers who were working for a large employer 
in the locality that had a shift end at midnight, but that that 
facility is no longer in operation. Consequently, the board 
proposes to repeal the exemption. 

Another proposed change would expand the availability of a 
compensation plan that is based on total sales, including the 
sale of alcoholic beverages to employees of retailers other than 
beer and wine only establishments. The current regulation 
contains a blanket requirement that the compensation of a retail 
employee must be based, in whole or in part, only upon the 
volume of alcoholic beverage sales. However, the regulation 
also provides an exception that allows the compensation of 
employees of retail wine and beer only licensees to be based 
on the total volume of sales of the business, including the sales 
of alcoholic beverages. The proposal would expand the 
availability of such a compensation plan to retailers other than 
wine and beer retailers. The board also proposes to allow the 
entire contents of a container of spirits to be served in its 
original package for on-premises or off-premises consumption, 
provided that the containers are small and have a low alcohol 
content. The current language states that serving the entire 
contents of a spirits bottle is prohibited. However, since the 
adoption of this prohibition, low alcoholic beverage coolers 
emerged in the market. In order to accommodate the 
consumption of cocktails that have low alcohol content and 

that are in smaller volume containers designed for a single 
serving, the board proposes to allow a mixed beverage 
restaurant licensee to serve the entire contents of a low alcohol 
beverage cooler for on-premises and off-premises 
consumption if the container is 16 ounces or less and the 
alcohol by volume content is 15% or less. 

Similarly, the board proposes to expand the sale of samples. 
Currently, the regulation allows the sale of a flight of no more 
than five different spirits products, where each product 
contains no more than one-half ounce of distilled spirits. In 
addition, the board would also allow the sale of a flight of no 
more than five mixed beverages that do not contain more than 
one ounce of distilled spirits. Such sales are currently not 
allowed explicitly. However, the board believes that such 
samples are already being served to customers. The purpose of 
this change is to provide for a more comprehensive and 
specific regulation on such sales by introducing limits in terms 
of number of mixed beverages such flights can contain as well 
as limitation on the spirits content. Moreover, the proposal 
would increase the required monthly sales of oysters and other 
seafood for gourmet oyster house licensed establishments from 
$1,000 a month to $2,000 a month. Currently, the required 
monthly sales of food for other types of licensed 
establishments such as boats, restaurants, and hotels are all 
$2,000. Generally speaking, the intent of food sales thresholds 
is to discourage establishments from solely focusing on alcohol 
sales. This change would bring the required monthly food sales 
from gourmet oyster houses in line with other types of 
establishments. 

The proposed changes would also revise the methodology by 
which the membership level of a club is determined, to use the 
current rather than the average membership, and remove 
subject's height from identification requirements because 
height is not clearly associated with age and is not contained 
on some forms of identification. The remaining proposed 
changes are editorial in nature and are intended to remove text 
that the board states is redundant of the Code of Virginia, or 
otherwise update the language to comport with current 
practices within the industry and the agency. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The impetus for the City of 
Danville's exemption, which allows sales of beer and wine to 
occur until 1:00 a.m. as opposed to midnight, was to provide 
convenience for the workers of a large employer in the city 
who left the late shift after midnight and wished to purchase 
alcohol for off-premises consumption. The exemption is 
locality-wide, and currently anyone in the city can purchase 
beer and wine until 1:00 a.m. and any licensee can sell beer and 
wine until 1:00 a.m. The proposed revised hours would apply 
to all consumers and licensed stores equally in the locality. 
Thus, this change is unlikely to provide any disproportionate 
advantage or disadvantage to specific consumers or stores 
within the City of Danville. It would be rational to expect a 
reduction in the volume of beer and wine sales in the city as 
the number of hours in which beer and wine could be bought 
and sold legally decreases. However, some consumers would 
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likely adjust the timing of their purchases and offset the 
potential reduction. However, there are no data available that 
could be used to determine the volume of sales or the number 
of transactions involving beer and wine that occurs after 
midnight in the City of Danville. Nor does any discernible 
information exist with which to estimate the likely reduction in 
sales. Also, compared to other localities in the Commonwealth, 
the consumers and stores in Danville currently enjoy an 
additional hour to buy and sell wine or beer. Under the 
proposed change, they would lose that convenience or 
advantage, but they would not be any worse off than other 
consumers statewide. Additionally, some non-Danville 
residents that live just outside the city limits, and stores that 
operate just inside the city limits selling to non-Danville 
residents, would also lose their advantage to buy or sell wine 
and beer for an additional hour. 

The change involving employee compensation plans results 
from comments the board received regarding the prohibition 
on the ability of licensees other than beer and wine only 
licensees to utilize an employee compensation plan based on 
alcohol sales. The comments reflected a perception that the 
exemption for the beer and wine only licensees is not fair to 
the other types of licensees. In response, the board proposes to 
expand the availability of this exemption to all licensees. The 
board believes that the proposal is more equitable since this 
exception would be accessible to others. The board also 
concedes that such a change may appear to have the effect of 
encouraging consumption of alcohol as employees may 
increase alcohol sales; however, the board counters this 
concern by stating that all alcohol consumption must adhere to 
the rules and regulations that place limits on consumption of 
alcohol and require the servers to monitor the signs of 
overconsumption, which are specifically designed to identify 
overconsumption patterns and prevent it from happening. If 
retail establishments other than beer and wine only licensees 
choose to adopt a compensation plan based on sales including 
alcohol sales, the employees would clearly have an incentive 
to promote sales, subject to the rules and regulations. Such an 
objective may lead to better customer service and product 
knowledge, thereby enhancing the overall customer experience 
as well as boosting employee morale and creating a more 
engaged workforce. However, such incentives may also 
unintentionally increase the risk of irresponsible sales and 
other violations, which may necessitate either additional 
training about the rules or additional monitoring to mitigate 
such risks. Assuming employees are fully knowledgeable 
about the rules, they may be able to find compliant and creative 
ways to promote total sales, rather than increasing sales to a 
customer who is at risk of overconsumption. However, no 
information exists to estimate the magnitude of such an impact. 

The proposal to allow licensees to serve the entire contents of 
a low alcohol beverage cooler for on-premises and off-
premises consumption would allow consumers to purchase and 
licensees to sell such coolers. Thus, an increase in sales of such 
cocktails may be expected. Similarly, the proposed changes 

would explicitly allow sales of no more than five mixed 
beverages that do not contain more than one ounce of distilled 
spirits. This change may help clarify that such sales would not 
constitute a violation if the licensee is already engaged in such 
sales, and also inform other licensees that such cocktails can 
be sold. Thus, an increase in sales of such cocktails may be 
expected. The proposal to increase the required monthly sales 
of food for oyster house establishments from $1,000 to $2,000 
is not expected to create a significant economic impact. 
According to the board, there are only two such licensees in 
Virginia. Although there is no information about the current 
monthly sales of the two establishments, it would be highly 
unlikely that their monthly sales would be less than $2,000 for 
them to be a viable business operation. Thus, this proposed 
change is not expected to introduce a hardship on the two 
licensees if the proposed higher food sales threshold goes into 
effect. The proposed revision to the methodology used to 
determine the membership of a club would likely help improve 
compliance and enforcement of this requirement. The existing 
language specifies that the average number of club members in 
the preceding 12 months is used to determine the membership 
level. The proposed amendment would revise the methodology 
to use the current number of members to determine a club 
membership. According to the board, the current membership 
level is easier to calculate, verify, and enforce than the average 
membership in the preceding 12 months. And, in the case of a 
new club with less than 12 months in existence, the 
enforcement is particularly problematic. 

Similarly, removing subject's height from identification 
requirements would be beneficial as it is problematic to 
enforce. The board states height is not a good indicator of age, 
and some forms of identification accepted by the board do not 
contain height information. Of the proposed editorial changes, 
some would remove text that the board states is redundant of 
the Code of Virginia. This would reduce the length of the 
regulatory text but would also remove the convenience of 
identifying relevant law requirements from the regulation 
itself. Although the laws of the Commonwealth are presumed 
to be known by all citizens, a decrease in information about 
statutory requirements may reduce compliance for those 
persons who rely upon the regulation instead of consulting the 
Code of Virginia. Although the board notes that the laws could 
change over time, and that outdated statutory requirements 
would remain in the regulation until the regulation is updated, 
to the degree that compliance is decreased the time and effort 
to update the regulation may be beneficial to the board and to 
citizens and consumers. The other editorial changes would 
remove language that is no longer applicable since the 
implementation of alcoholic beverage control license reform.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are 20,892 
licensees that are subject to this regulation. The Code of 
Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 
may result from the proposed regulation.2 An adverse impact 
is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 
net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 
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for all entities combined.3 As noted, repealing the current 
exemption allowing licensees to sell wine and beer up to one 
hour past midnight in the City of Danville would remove the 
convenience of purchasing such drinks and may reduce store 
sales. Thus, an adverse impact on licensees and consumers in 
the City of Danville is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 It is more than likely that some 
of the licensees who are poised to lose some wine and beer 
sales in the City of Danville are small businesses. Thus, that 
proposed amendment does appear to adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 
The board states that it does not have the capability to 
determine how many of its licensees meet the definition of a 
small business. 

Costs and Other Effects: The costs and other effects on 
licensees in the City of Danville who are small businesses are 
the same as discussed for all licensees. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: There are 
no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 
and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed change eliminating the 
extended hours in which beer and wine can be purchased for 
off-premises consumption in the City of Danville particularly 
applies to consumers and licensees in that locality. However, 
this change is not likely to introduce costs for the City of 
Danville. In fact, ending wine and beer sales early in that 
locality may provide some relief to the local law enforcement 
to the degree that ceasing sales earlier may also shorten the 
length of time that law enforcement would need to monitor 
such purchases for compliance with laws and regulations. 
Thus, no adverse impact on the City of Danville is indicated. 
The remaining proposed changes apply statewide, but they do 
not appear to introduce any costs for the localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Some of the proposed 
amendments have the potential to reduce alcoholic beverage 
sales while some others could increase sales. A significant 
revenue impact on licensed establishments would affect their 
demand for labor in one way or the other. However, there is 
insufficient data to estimate the net impact on sales revenues, 
demand for labor, and consequently on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Similarly, a 
significant revenue increase or decrease may affect revenues, 
profitability of licensed establishments, and their asset values. 
However, there is insufficient data to estimate the net impact 
on sales revenues, profitability, and consequently the impact 
on asset values of affected licensees. No impact is expected on 
the use of private property nor on real estate development 
costs. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  
2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  
3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 
a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 
for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 
changes to the regulation. 
4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 
than $6 million."  
5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 
likely to occur.  
7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 
disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 
the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow licensees to serve an 
entire container of spirits if the container contains 16 ounces 
or less and the alcohol by value content is 15% or less; (ii) 
add the word "grain" before "alcohol"; (iii) add limitations 
on mixed beverage licensees that serve flights of samples so 
that the licensees are limited to no more than five mixed 
beverages, and each shall contain no more than one ounce 
of distilled spirits; (iv) create a subsection that limits the 
number of times a nonmember may frequent a club, requires 
nonmembers to be accompanied by club members, and 
makes it a violation if the club occupancy consists of a 
number of nonmembers that exceeds the number of club 
members; (v) include a provision that a nonmember 
attending a member-sponsored private function is not to be 
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counted as a guest with respect to the club guest restrictions; 
(vi) clarify language; and (vii) remove redundant or 
duplicative language. 

3VAC5-50-10. Restrictions upon sale and consumption of 
alcoholic beverages. 

A. Except as may be otherwise permitted under subdivision 7 
of § 4.1-200 of the Code of Virginia, no licensee shall sell to 
or allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverage to a on the 
licensed premises by any person whom he shall know, the 
licensee knows or have has reason at the time to believe, is: 

1. Under the age of Younger than 21 years of age; 

2. Intoxicated; or 

3. An interdicted person. 

B. No licensee shall allow the consumption of any alcoholic 
beverage upon his licensed premises by any person to whom 
such alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be sold under this 
section. 

3VAC5-50-20. Determination of legal age of purchaser. 

A. In determining whether a licensee, or his the licensee's 
employee or agent, has reason to believe that a purchaser is not 
of legal age, the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority will consider, but is not limited to, the following 
factors: 

1. Whether an ordinary and prudent person would have 
reason to doubt that the purchaser is of legal age based on 
the general appearance, facial characteristics, behavior, and 
manner of the purchaser; and 

2. Whether the seller demanded, was shown, and acted in 
good faith in reliance upon bona fide evidence of legal age, 
as defined herein in subsection B of this section, and that 
evidence contained a photograph and physical description 
consistent with the appearance of the purchaser. 

B. Such bona fide evidence of legal age shall include a valid 
motor vehicle driver's license issued by any state of the United 
States or the District of Columbia, armed forces identification 
card, United States passport or foreign government visa, valid 
special identification card issued by the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles, or any valid identification issued by any 
other federal or state government agency, excluding student 
university and college identification cards, provided such 
identification shall contain a photograph and signature of the 
subject, with the subject's height and the subject's date of birth. 

C. It shall be incumbent upon the licensee, or his the licensee's 
employee or agent, to scrutinize carefully the identification, if 
presented, and determine it to be authentic and in proper order. 
Identification which that has been altered so as to be apparent 
to observation or has expired shall be deemed not in proper 
order. 

3VAC5-50-30. Restricted hours; exceptions. 

A. The hours during which licensees shall not sell or permit 
to be consumed upon their licensed premises any wine, beer, 
or mixed beverages shall be as follows: 

1. In localities where the sale of mixed beverages has been 
authorized: 

a. For on-premises sale and consumption: 2 a.m. to 6 a.m. 

b. For off-premises sale: 12 a.m. to 6 a.m. 

2. In all other localities: 12 a.m. to 6 a.m. for on-premises 
sales and consumption and off-premises sales, except that on 
New Year's Eve the licensees shall have an additional hour 
in which to exercise the on-premises privileges of their 
licenses. 

B. Exceptions to restricted hours are: 

1. Club licensees: No restrictions at any time; 

2. Individual licensees whose hours have been more 
stringently restricted by the board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority shall comply with such 
requirements; and 

3. Licensees in the City of Danville are prohibited from 
selling wine and beer for off-premises consumption between 
the hours of 1 a.m. and 6 a.m. Mixed beverage casino 
licensees. 

3VAC5-50-40. Designated managers of licensees; 
appointment generally; disapproval by board the 
authority; restrictions upon employment. 

A. Each retail licensee, except a licensed individual who is on 
the premises, shall have a designated manager able to 
understand and communicate in the English language in a 
reasonably satisfactory manner present and in actual charge of 
the business being conducted under the license at any time the 
licensed establishment is kept open for business, whether or 
not the privileges of the license are being exercised. The 
designated manager must be able to understand and 
communicate in the English language in a reasonably 
satisfactory manner. The name of the retail licensee's 
designated manager of every retail licensee shall be kept posted 
in a conspicuous place in the establishment, in letters not less 
than one inch in size, during the time he the designated 
manager is in charge. 

The posting of the name of a designated manager shall qualify 
such person to act in that capacity until disapproved by the 
board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority). 

B. The board authority reserves the right to disapprove any 
person as a designated manager if it shall have reasonable 
cause to believe that any cause condition exists which that 
would justify the board authority in refusing to issue such 
person a license, or in suspending or revoking a license granted 
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to that such person has committed any act that would justify 
the board in suspending or revoking a license. 

Before disapproving a designated manager, the board 
authority shall accord him such designated manager the same 
notice, and opportunity to be heard, and follow the same 
administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a 
violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. No licensee of the board authority shall knowingly permit 
a person under younger than 21 years of age, nor one who has 
been disapproved by the board authority within the preceding 
12 months, to act as designated manager of his the licensee's 
business. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 4.1-225 (1) (i) A 1 h 
of the Code of Virginia, the board authority will not take action 
to suspend or revoke a retail license if a licensee knowingly 
employs a person who has been convicted in any court of a 
felony or of any crime or offense involving moral turpitude, 
except in the following two categories: 

1. The board authority may suspend or revoke a license if a 
licensee knowingly employs in the business conducted under 
such license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position 
that is involved in the selling or serving of alcoholic 
beverages to customers, any person who has been convicted 
of a felony violation of the laws of the Commonwealth 
prohibiting the manufacture, sale, distribution, use, or 
possession of controlled substances, imitation controlled 
substances, counterfeit controlled substances, marijuana 
cannabis, or synthetic cannabinoids; driving under the 
influence of alcohol or other self-administered intoxicants; 
or a similar offense under the laws of any state, or the United 
States; or 

2. The board authority may suspend or revoke a license if a 
licensee knowingly employs in the business conducted under 
such license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position 
that is involved in the creation or maintenance of records 
required to be kept by the licensee under the provisions of 
Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or board authority 
regulations, or in the preparation or filing of any tax return 
or report required under Title 4.1 or Title 58.1 of the Code 
of Virginia or board authority regulations, any person who 
has been convicted of a felony violation of the laws of the 
Commonwealth prohibiting robbery, burglary, larceny, 
embezzlement, computer crimes, forgery, false pretenses, 
issuing bad checks, false representations to obtain property 
or credit, credit card forgery or fraud, or money laundering, 
or a similar offense under the laws of any state, or the United 
States. 

E. If a retail licensee wishes to employ a person whose 
employment would be covered by subdivision D 1 or D 2 of 
this section, or who has violated the laws of the 
Commonwealth, of any other state, or of the United States, 
applicable to the manufacture, transportation, possession, use, 

or sale of alcoholic beverages, the licensee may (i) 
immediately employ the individual if the offenses occurred 
more than five years preceding the date of employment or (ii) 
apply to the board authority for approval of such employment 
if the offense occurred within five years preceding the date of 
employment. The board authority will cause the Bureau of Law 
Enforcement Operations to conduct an investigation into the 
suitability of the person for employment and recommend 
approval or disapproval. Before disapproving the employment 
of a person, the board authority shall accord him the person the 
same notice, opportunity to be heard, and follow the same 
administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a 
violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-50-50. Restrictions upon employment of minors. 

No person licensed to sell alcoholic beverages at retail shall 
permit any employee under the age of younger than 18 years 
of age to sell, serve, or dispense in any manner any alcoholic 
beverage in his the licensed establishment for on-premises 
consumption, nor shall such person permit any employee under 
the age of younger than 21 years of age to prepare or mix 
alcoholic beverages in the capacity of a bartender. "Bartender" 
is defined as a person who sells, serves, or dispenses alcoholic 
beverages for on-premises consumption at a counter, as 
defined in 3VAC5-50-110, and does not include a person 
employed to serve food and drink to patrons at tables as defined 
in that section. However, a person who is 18 years of age or 
older may sell or serve beer for on-premises consumption at a 
counter in an establishment that sells beer only, or may sell or 
serve wine for on-premises consumption in an establishment 
that sells wine only. 

3VAC5-50-60. Mixed beverage licensees generally; sales of 
spirits in closed containers; suspension of purchase 
privileges. 

A. No mixed beverage restaurant or carrier licensee shall: 

1. Serve as one drink the entire contents of a container of 
spirits in its original container for on-premises or off-
premises consumption except (i) as provided by subsections 
C, D, and E of this section; or (ii) if the container of spirits 
contains 16 ounces or less and the alcohol by volume content 
is 15% or less. 

2. Sell any mixed beverage to which grain alcohol has been 
added. 

B. No mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall: 

1. Allow to be kept upon the licensed premises any container 
of alcoholic beverages of a type authorized to be purchased 
under his the license that does not bear the required mixed 
beverage stamp imprinted with his the license number and 
purchase report number to be kept on the licensed premises. 

2. Use in the preparation of a mixed beverage any alcoholic 
beverage not purchased from the board Virginia Alcoholic 
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Beverage Control Authority (authority) or a wholesale wine 
licensee. 

3. Fail to obliterate the mixed beverage stamp immediately 
when any container of spirits is emptied. 

4. Allow any patron to possess more than two drinks of 
mixed beverages at any one time, except that a mixed 
beverage licensee may sell to a patron who may lawfully 
purchase mixed beverages a flight of (i) distilled spirits 
products consisting of samples of not more than five 
different spirits products or (ii) no more than five mixed 
beverages. Each distilled spirits product shall contain no 
more than one-half ounce of distilled spirits and each mixed 
beverage shall contain no more than one ounce of distilled 
spirits. 

C. If a restaurant for which a mixed beverage restaurant 
license has been issued under § 4.1-206.3 of the Code of 
Virginia is located on the premises of a hotel or motel, whether 
the hotel or motel be under the same or different ownership, 
sales of mixed beverages, including sales of spirits packaged 
in original closed containers purchased from the board, as well 
as authority and other alcoholic beverages, for consumption in 
bedrooms and private rooms of such hotel or motel, may be 
made by the licensee subject to the following conditions in 
addition to other applicable laws: 

1. Spirits sold by the drink as mixed beverages or in original 
closed containers must have been purchased under the mixed 
beverage restaurant license upon purchase forms provided 
by the board authority; 

2. Delivery of sales of mixed beverages and spirits in 
original closed containers shall be made only in to the 
bedroom of the registered guest or to the sponsoring group 
in the private room of a scheduled function. This section 
shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee catering a 
scheduled private function from delivering mixed beverage 
drinks to guests in attendance at such function; 

3. Receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and spirits sold 
in original closed containers, as well as other alcoholic 
beverages, shall be included in the gross receipts from sales 
of all such merchandise made by the licensee; and 

4. Complete and accurate records of sales of mixed 
beverages and sales of spirits in original closed containers to 
registered guests in bedrooms and to sponsors of scheduled 
private functions in private rooms shall be kept separate and 
apart from records of all mixed beverage sales. 

D. Carrier licensees may serve miniatures not in excess of two 
fluid ounces or 50 milliliters, in their original containers, for 
on-premises consumption. 

E. A mixed beverage restaurant may serve as one drink the 
entire contents of a container of soju in its original container 
for on-premises consumption under the following conditions: 

1. The container may be no larger than 375 milliliters. 

2. Each container of soju served must be served for 
consumption by at least two patrons legally eligible to 
consume alcoholic beverages. 

F. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee may infuse, store, 
and sell flavored distilled spirits under the following 
circumstances: 

1. If infused in the original spirits container, the mixed 
beverage stamp must remain affixed to the bottle. 

2. If infused in a container other than the original spirits 
container, the substitute container, which shall not exceed 20 
liters in volume, will be labeled with the following 
information: 

a. Date of infusion; 

b. Brand of spirits; and 

c. Amount of spirits used. 

3. Accurate records must be kept by the mixed beverage 
licensee as to the spirits used in any spirits infusion process. 

4. Licensees infusing distilled spirits shall comply with all 
applicable state and federal food safety regulations. 

G. Mixed beverage licensees may premix containers of 
sangria and other mixed beverages and serve such alcoholic 
beverages in pitchers subject to the following limitations: 

1. Pitchers of mixed beverages may only be sold in 
containers with a maximum capacity of 32 fluid ounces or 
one liter if the container is in metric size containing a spirits 
product mixed with nonalcoholic beverages. 

2. A pitcher of mixed beverages may only be served to two 
or more patrons. A licensee shall not allow any two patrons 
to possess more than one pitcher at any one time. 

3. Containers of premixed sangria and other mixed 
beverages must be labeled as to the type of mixed beverage 
and the quantities of the products used to produce the mixed 
beverage. 

4. Containers of premixed mixed beverages to be served by 
tapping equipment may not contain more than 20 liters in 
volume and must be labeled as to the type of mixed beverage 
and the brand and quantities of the spirits products used to 
produce the mixed beverage. 

H. The board authority may suspend the privilege of a mixed 
beverage licensee to purchase spirits from the board authority 
upon such licensee's failure to submit any records or other 
documents necessary to verify the licensee's compliance with 
applicable minimum food sale requirements within 30 days of 
the date such records or documents are due. 
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3VAC5-50-70. Restrictions on construction, arrangement 
and lighting of licensed premises; inspections; obstruction; 
"reasonable hours". 

A. The construction, arrangement, and illumination of the 
dining areas and designated areas and the seating arrangements 
therein of a licensed establishment shall be such as to permit 
ready access and reasonable observation by law-enforcement 
officers and by special agents of the board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (authority). The interior lighting 
shall be sufficient to permit ready discernment of the 
appearance and conduct of patrons in all portions of such areas. 

B. The board authority and its special agents shall be allowed 
free access during reasonable hours to every place in the 
Commonwealth where alcoholic beverages are manufactured, 
bottled, stored, offered for sale, or sold, for the purpose of 
examining and inspecting such place. 

C. In addition to special agents, other law-enforcement 
officers in the performance of their official duties shall be 
allowed free access to any retail licensed establishment for the 
purpose of observation of activities on those licensed premises 
during reasonable hours. 

D. Any person who by use of threats, force, or intimidation or 
otherwise impedes or obstructs any special agent or other law-
enforcement officer in the performance of his the agent's or 
officer's official duties from entering or remaining upon any 
licensed establishment shall be guilty of a violation of this 
regulation and shall be subject to the penalty prescribed by 
§ 4.1-349 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. For the purposes of this regulation, the term "reasonable 
hours" shall be deemed to include all business hours of 
operation and any other time at which there exists any 
indication of activity upon the licensed premises. 

3VAC5-50-80. Entreating, urging, or enticing patrons to 
purchase overconsume prohibited. 

No retail licensee shall entreat, urge, or entice any patron of 
his the establishment to purchase overconsume any alcoholic 
beverage;, nor shall such licensee allow any other person to so 
entreat, urge, or entice a patron upon his the licensed premises. 
Entreating, urging or enticing shall include, but not be limited 
to, placing alcoholic beverages in containers of ice which are 
visible, located in public display areas and available to patrons 
of retail establishments for off-premises sales, except for farm 
winery licensees operating at a remote location in connection 
with a wine festival. Knowledge by a manager or employee of 
the licensee of a violation of this section shall be imputed to 
the licensee. 

This section shall not be construed to prohibit the taking of 
orders in the regular course of business, the purchase of a drink 
by one patron for another patron as a matter of normal social 
intercourse, nor advertising in accordance with regulations of 
the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. 

3VAC5-50-90. Storage of alcoholic beverages generally; 
permits for storage; exception. 

A. Alcoholic beverages shall not be stored at any premises 
other than those described in the license, except upon a permit 
issued by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority. 

B. The licensee shall maintain at all times as a part of the 
records required by 3VAC5-70-90, an accurate inventory 
reflecting additions to and withdrawals of stock. Withdrawals 
shall specify: 

1. The name of the person making the withdrawal who shall 
be the licensee or his the licensee's duly authorized agent or 
servant; 

2. The amount withdrawn; and 

3. The place to which transferred. 

C. Draft beer may be stored without permit by a wholesaler 
at a place licensed to do a warehousing business in the 
Commonwealth. 

3VAC5-50-100. Definitions and qualifications for retail off-
premises wine and beer licenses and off-premises beer.... 

A. Retail off-premises wine and beer licenses as described in 
§ 4.1-206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia, excluding gourmet 
shops, may be issued to persons operating the following types 
of those establishments, provided the total monthly sales and 
inventory (cost) of the required commodities listed in the 
definitions are not less than those shown: 

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment which sells a variety of 
prepared foods or foods requiring little preparation such as 
cheeses, salads, cooked meats and related condiments: 

Monthly sales......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

2. "Drugstore." An establishment selling medicines prepared 
by a licensed pharmacist according to prescription and other 
medicines and articles of home and general use: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

3. "Grocery store." An establishment that sells food and 
other items intended for human consumption, including a 
variety of ingredients commonly used in the preparation of 
meals: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

4. "Convenience grocery store." An establishment that has 
an enclosed room in a permanent structure where stock is 
displayed and offered for sale, and maintains an inventory of 
edible items intended for human consumption, consisting of 
a variety of such items of the type normally sold in grocery 
stores: 
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Monthly sales.......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

In regard to both grocery stores and convenience grocery 
stores, "edible items" shall mean such items normally used 
in the preparation of meals, including liquids. 

5. B. "Gourmet shop." An establishment provided with 
adequate inventory, shelving, and storage facilities where, in 
consideration of payment, substantial amounts of domestic and 
imported wines and beers of various types and sizes and related 
products, such as cheese and gourmet foods, are habitually 
furnished to persons: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $1,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $1,000 

B. C. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority (authority) may grant a license to an establishment 
not meeting the qualifying figures in subsections A and B of 
this section, provided it affirmatively appears that there is a 
substantial public demand for such an establishment and that 
public convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the 
license. 

C. The board in D. When determining the eligibility of an 
establishment for a license, the authority shall give 
consideration to, but shall not be limited to, the following: 

1. The extent to which sales of required commodities are 
secondary or merely incidental to sales of all products sold 
in such establishment; 

2. The extent to which a variety of edible items of the types 
normally found in grocery stores are sold; and 

3. The extent to which such establishment is constructed, 
arranged, or illuminated to allow reasonable observation of 
the age and sobriety of purchasers of alcoholic beverages. 

D. E. Notwithstanding the above subsections A through D of 
this section, the board authority may issue a temporary license 
for any of the above retail operations licenses listed in § 4.1-
206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia. Such licenses may be issued 
only after application has been filed in accordance with § 4.1-
230 of the Code of Virginia and in cases where the sole 
objection to issuance of a license is that the establishment will 
not be qualified in terms of the sale of food or edible items. If 
a temporary license is issued, the board authority shall conduct 
an audit of the business after a reasonable period of operation 
not to exceed 180 days. Should the business be qualified, the 
license applied for may be issued. If the business is not 
qualified, the application will become the subject of a hearing 
if the applicant so desires. No further temporary license shall 
be issued to the applicant or to any other person with respect to 
that establishment for a period of one year from the expiration 
and, once the application becomes the subject of a hearing, no 
temporary license may be issued. 

3VAC5-50-110. Definitions and qualifications for retail on-
premises and on-premises and off-premises licenses 
generally; mixed beverage licensee requirements; 
exceptions; temporary licenses. 

A. The following definitions shall apply to retail licensees 
with on-premises consumption privileges and mixed beverage 
licensees where appropriate: 

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant" means an established 
place of business where meals are regularly sold to persons 
and that has adequate facilities and sufficient employees for 
cooking, preparing, and serving such meals for consumption 
at tables in dining areas on the premises. 

2. "Counter" means a long, narrow surface with stools or 
chairs along one side for the patrons, behind which 
refreshments or meals are prepared and served. 

3. "Designated area" means a room or an area in which a 
licensee may exercise the privilege of his the license, the 
location, equipment, and facilities of which room or area 
have been approved by the board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (authority). The facilities shall 
be such that patrons may purchase food prepared on the 
premises for consumption on the premises at substantially 
all times that alcoholic beverages are offered for sale therein. 

4. "Dining area" means a public room or area in which meals 
are regularly sold at substantially all hours that alcoholic 
beverages are offered for sale therein. 

5. "Meal" means a selection of foods for one individual, 
served and eaten especially at one of the customary, regular 
occasions for taking food during the day, such as breakfast, 
lunch, or dinner, that consists of at least one main dish of 
meat, fish, poultry, legumes, nuts, seeds, eggs, or other 
protein sources, accompanied by vegetable, fruit, grain, or 
starch products. 

6. "Table" means an article of furniture supported by one or 
more vertical legs or similar supports and having a flat 
horizontal surface suitable for the service of meals, not 
immediately adjacent to the area where refreshments or 
meals are prepared. 

B. Wine and beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and off-
premises licenses may be granted to persons operating the 
following types of establishments, provided that meals or other 
foods are regularly sold at substantially all hours that wine and 
beer are offered for sale and the total monthly food sales for 
consumption in dining areas and other designated areas on the 
premises are not less than those shown: 

1. "Boat" (on premises only). A common carrier of 
passengers for which a certificate as a sight-seeing carrier by 
boat, or a special or charter party by boat has been issued by 
the State Corporation Commission, habitually serving food 
on the boat: 

Monthly sales..........................................................$2,000 
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2. "Restaurant." A bona fide dining establishment with 
special space and accommodation where, in consideration of 
payment, meals with entrees or other foods prepared on the 
premises are regularly sold: 

Monthly sales..........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." Any duly licensed establishment, provided with 
special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 
of payment, meals and other food prepared on the premises 
and lodging are habitually furnished to persons and which 
has four or more bedrooms: 

Monthly sales..........................................................$2,000 

In regard to both restaurants and hotels, at least $1,000 of the 
required monthly sales must be in the form of meals. 

4. "Gourmet Oyster House." Any duly licensed 
establishment, located on the premises of a commercial 
marina and permitted by the Department of Health to serve 
oysters and other fresh seafood for consumption on the 
premises, where the licensee also offers to the public events 
for the purpose of featuring oysters and other seafood 
products: 

Monthly sales of oysters and other seafood….....$1,000 
$2,000 

C. Mixed beverage licenses. Mixed beverage restaurant 
licenses may be granted to persons operating bona fide, full-
service restaurants. 

1. Service of food in a bona fide, full-service restaurant shall 
consist of serving the food to the table on plates or 
appropriate dinnerware, accompanied by appropriate 
tableware. The board authority may approve the issuance of 
a mixed beverage restaurant license to a buffet restaurant if 
(i) both alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverage service is 
provided at the table and (ii) actual sales show that the 
requirements of subdivision D 2 of this section subsection 
are met. 

2. Monthly sales of food prepared on the premises of a mixed 
beverage restaurant licensee shall not be less than $4,000, of 
which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of meals. 

3. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee must have at least 
as many seats at tables as at counters. 

4. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall have food, 
cooked or prepared on the licensed premises, available for 
on-premises consumption until at least 30 minutes prior to 
an establishment's closing. Such food shall be available in 
all areas of the licensed premises in which spirits are sold or 
served. This provision shall not apply to mixed beverage 
casino licensees. 

D. The board authority may grant a license to an 
establishment not meeting the qualifying figures in this 
section, provided that the establishment otherwise is qualified 
under the applicable provisions of the Code of Virginia and this 

section, if it affirmatively appears that there is a substantial 
public demand for such an establishment and that the public 
convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the license. 

E. Notwithstanding subsections A through D of this section, 
the board authority may issue a temporary license for any of 
the retail operations in subsections A through D of this section. 
Such licenses may be issued only after application has been 
filed in accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia, and 
in cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 
the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 
food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the board 
authority shall conduct an audit of the business after a 
reasonable period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should 
the business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. 
If the business is not qualified, the application will become the 
subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 
temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 
other person with respect to the establishment for a period of 
one year from expiration and, once the application becomes the 
subject of a hearing, no temporary license may be issued. 

F. An outside terrace or patio, the location, equipment, and 
facilities of which have been approved by the board authority, 
may be approved as a "dining area" or as a "designated area" 
in the discretion of the board authority. 

G. Limited mixed beverage licenses may be granted to 
persons operating restaurants as defined in § 4.1-100 of the 
Code of Virginia, provided that food is regularly sold at 
substantially all hours that alcoholic beverages are offered for 
sale, and the total monthly food sales of food cooked or 
prepared on the premises for consumption in dining areas and 
other designated areas on the premises are not less than $2,000. 

H. Wine may be served for on-premises consumption in 
carafes or decanters not exceeding 52 fluid ounces (1.5 liters) 
in capacity. Beer may be served for on-premises consumption 
in pitchers not exceeding 80 fluid ounces in capacity. 

3VAC5-50-130. Clubs; applications; qualifications; 
reciprocal arrangements; changes; financial statements. 

A. Each applicant for a club license shall furnish the 
following information: 

1. A certified copy of the charter, articles of association, or 
constitution; 

2. A copy of the bylaws; 

3. A list of the officers and directors showing names, 
addresses, ages, and business employment; 

4. The average current number of members for the preceding 
12 months. Only natural persons may be members of clubs; 
and 

5. A financial statement for the latest calendar or fiscal year 
of the club, and a brief summary of the financial condition 
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as of the end of the month next preceding the date of 
application. 

B. In determining whether an applicant qualifies under the 
statutory definition of a club, as well as whether a club license 
should be suspended or revoked, the board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (authority) will consider, but is 
not limited to, the following factors: 

1. The club's purposes and its compliance with the purposes; 

2. The club's qualification for tax exempt tax-exempt status 
from federal and state income taxes; and 

3. The club's permitted use of club premises by nonmembers, 
including reciprocal arrangements. 

C. The club shall limit nonmember use of club premises 
according to this section and shall notify the board authority 
each time the club premises are used in accordance with 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. The notice shall be received 
by the board authority at least two business days in advance of 
any such event. 

1. A licensed club may (i) hold public events at the licensed 
premises, such events allowing nonmembers to attend and 
participate in the event at the licensed premises; or (ii) allow 
its premises to be used by organizations or groups who 
obtain banquet or banquet special events licenses. The total 
number of such events in both categories may not exceed 24 
per calendar year. 

2. The number of times a nonmember may patronize a club 
as a guest of any member during any given period of time 
should be stipulated in the bylaws of the club. The licensee 
shall limit the number of times a nonmember may visit the 
club and require the nonmember to be accompanied by a 
club member. If at any time club occupancy consists of more 
nonmembers than club members, it shall be deemed a 
violation of this chapter unless it is a public event pursuant 
to this section. In the case of a homeowner's association, 
unlimited guest visitations may be allowed as long as the 
guest is accompanied by an association member. 

3. A member of a licensed club may sponsor private 
functions on club premises for an organization or group of 
which he the club member is also a member, such attendees 
being guests of the sponsoring club member. A nonmember 
attending a member-sponsored private function shall not be 
counted as a guest with respect to the club's guest 
restrictions. 

3. Additionally, there 4. There shall be no limitation on the 
numbers of times a licensed club may allow its premises to 
be used by organizations or groups if alcoholic beverages are 
not served at such functions. 

D. Persons who are resident members of other clubs located 
at least 100 miles from the club licensed by the board authority 
(the "host club") and who are accorded privileges in the host 

club by reason of bona fide, prearranged reciprocal 
arrangements between the host club and such clubs shall be 
considered guests of the host club and deemed to have 
members' member privileges with respect to the use of its 
facilities. The reciprocal arrangements shall be set out in a 
written agreement and approved by the board authority prior to 
the exercise of the privileges thereunder of the agreement. 

The mileage limitations of this subsection notwithstanding, 
members of private, nonprofit clubs or private clubs operated 
for profit located in separate cities which that are licensed by 
the board authority to operate mixed beverage restaurants on 
their respective premises and which that have written 
agreements approved by the board authority for reciprocal 
dining privileges may be considered guests of the host club and 
deemed to have members' member privileges with respect to 
its dining facilities. 

E. Any change in the officers and directors of a club shall be 
reported to the board authority within 30 days, and a certified 
copy of any change in the charter, articles of association, or by-
laws bylaws shall be furnished to the board authority within 30 
days thereafter. 

F. Each club licensee shall prepare and sign an annual 
financial statement on forms prescribed by the board authority. 
The statement may be on a calendar year or fiscal year basis, 
but shall be consistent with any established tax year of the club. 
The statement must be prepared and available for inspection on 
the club premises no later than 120 days next following the last 
day of the respective calendar or fiscal year, and each such 
statement must be maintained on the premises for a period of 
three consecutive years. In addition, each club holding a mixed 
beverage license shall be required to prepare and timely submit 
the mixed beverage annual review report required by 3VAC5-
70-90 D. 

3VAC5-50-140. Prohibited conduct on licensed premises. 

A. The following conduct upon any licensed premises is 
prohibited: 

1. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 
genitals, pubic hair, or buttocks, or any portion of the breast 
below the top of the areola, by any employee, or by any other 
person;, except that when entertainers are on a platform or 
stage and reasonably separated from the patrons of the 
establishment, they shall be in conformity with subdivision 
2 of this subsection; 

2. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 
genitals, pubic hair, or anus by an entertainer, or any portion 
of the areola of the breast of a female entertainer. When not 
on a platform or stage and reasonably separate from the 
patrons of the establishment, entertainers shall be in 
conformity with subdivision 1 of this subsection; 
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3. Any real or simulated act of sexual intercourse, sodomy, 
masturbation, flagellation, or any other sexual act prohibited 
by law, by any person, whether an entertainer or not; or 

4. The fondling or caressing by any person, whether an 
entertainer or not, of his the person's own or of another's 
breast, genitals, or buttocks. 

As used in this section, the term "reasonably separated" shall 
mean that no portion of the body of an entertainer may come 
in contact with any portion of the body of a patron. 

B. No mixed beverage licensee shall permit any person 
connected with the licensed business in any capacity to enter 
or remain on the premises with less than a fully-opaque fully 
opaque covering of the genitals, pubic hair, or buttocks, or any 
portion of the breast below the top of the areola. For the 
purposes of this subsection, "connected with the licensed 
business" shall mean: (i) any owner, partner, member, 
manager, agent, or employee of the licensed business; (ii) any 
entertainer or other contractor with the licensed business; or 
(iii) any participant in any contest, display, or other event 
conducted by or at the invitation of the licensed business. 

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons 
operating theaters, concert halls, art centers, museums, or 
similar establishments that are primarily devoted to the arts or 
theatrical performances, when the performances that are 
presented are expressing matters of serious literary, artistic, 
scientific, or political value. 

3VAC5-50-150. Off-premises deliveries on licensed retail 
premises; "drive through" establishments. 

No person holding a license which that authorizes the licensee 
to sell wine or beer at retail for consumption off the premises 
shall deliver such wine or beer to a person on the licensed 
premises other than in the licensed establishment. Deliveries of 
such merchandise to persons through windows, apertures, or 
similar openings at "drive through" or similar establishments, 
whether the persons are in vehicles or otherwise, shall not be 
construed to have been made in the establishments. No sale or 
delivery of such merchandise shall be made to a person who is 
seated in a vehicle. Notwithstanding any provision of law to 
the contrary, such deliveries may be made to (i) a person's 
vehicle if located in a designated parking area of the licensee's 
premises where such person has electronically ordered beer, 
wine, or farm wine in advance of the delivery; or (ii) such other 
locations as may be permitted by board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority regulation. 

3VAC5-50-170. Caterer's license; qualifications; 
privileges; restrictions and conditions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, the 
board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) may grant a caterer's license to any person: 

1. Engaged on a regular basis in the business of providing 
food and beverages to persons for service at private 

gatherings, or at special events as defined in § 4.1-100 of the 
Code of Virginia or as provided in § 4.1-206.3 A 3 of the 
Code of Virginia, and 

2. With an established place of business with catering gross 
sales average of averaging at least $4,000 per month and 
who has complied with the requirements of the local 
governing body concerning sanitation, health, construction, 
or equipment and who has obtained all local permits or 
licenses which that may be required to conduct such a 
catering business. 

B. The license authorizes the following privileges: 

1. The purchase of spirits, vermouth, and wine produced by 
farm wineries from the board authority; 

2. The purchase of wine and cider from licensed wholesalers 
or farm wineries or the purchase of beer from licensed 
wholesalers; 

3. The retail sale of alcoholic beverages to persons who 
sponsor the private gatherings or special events described in 
subsection A of this section or directly to persons in 
attendance at such events. No banquet or mixed beverage 
special events license is required in either case; and 

4. The storage of alcoholic beverages purchased by the 
caterer at the established and approved place of business. 

C. In addition to other applicable statutes and regulations of 
the board authority, the following restrictions and conditions 
apply to persons licensed as caterers: 

1. Alcoholic beverages may be sold only for on-premises 
consumption to persons in attendance at the gathering or 
event; 

2. The records required to be kept by 3VAC5-70-90 shall be 
maintained by caterers. If the caterer also holds other 
alcoholic beverage licenses, he the caterer shall maintain the 
records relating to his the caterer's business separately from 
the records relating to any other license. Additionally, the 
records shall include the date, time, and place of the event 
and the name and address of the sponsoring person or group 
of each event catered; 

3. The annual gross receipts from the sale of food cooked 
and prepared for service at gatherings and events referred to 
in this regulation chapter, and nonalcoholic beverages 
served there shall amount to at least 45% of the gross 
receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and food; 

4. The caterer shall notify the board authority in writing at 
least 24 hours in advance of any events to be catered under 
his the license. For events to be catered on Saturday, Sunday, 
or holidays on which the board's authority's offices are 
closed, such notice shall be given by close of the last 
business day prior to the event. The notice shall include the 
date, time, location, and address of the event and the name 
of the sponsoring person, group, corporation, or association; 
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5. Persons in attendance at a private event at which alcoholic 
beverages are served but not sold under the caterer's license 
may keep and consume their own lawfully acquired 
alcoholic beverages; 

6. The private gathering referred to in subsection A above of 
this section shall be a social function which that is attended 
only by persons who are specifically and individually invited 
by the sponsoring person or organization, not by the caterer; 

7. The licensee shall insure ensure that all functions at which 
alcoholic beverages are sold are ones which that qualify for 
a banquet license, for a special event license, or a mixed 
beverage special events license. Licensees are entitled to all 
services and equipment now available under a banquet 
license from wholesalers; 

8. A photocopy of the caterer's license must be present at all 
events at which the privileges of the license are exercised; 
and 

9. The caterer's license shall be considered a retail license for 
purposes of § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-50-180. Volunteer fire departments or volunteer 
rescue squads; banquet facility licenses; restrictions and 
conditions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 D 2 b of the Code of Virginia, the 
board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) may grant banquet facility licenses to volunteer fire 
departments and volunteer rescue squads: 

1. Providing volunteer fire or rescue squad services; 

2. Having as its premises a fire or rescue squad station 
regularly occupied by such fire department or rescue squad; 
and 

3. Being duly recognized by the governing body of the city, 
county, or town in which it is located. 

B. The license authorizes the following privileges: 

The consumption of legally acquired alcoholic beverages on 
the premises of the licensee or on premises other than such fire 
or rescue squad station which are occupied and under the 
control of the licensee while the privilege of its license is being 
exercised, by any person, association, corporation or other 
entity, including the fire department or rescue squad, and bona 
fide members and guests thereof, otherwise eligible for a 
banquet license and entitled to such privilege for a private 
affair or special event. 

C. B. In addition to other applicable statutes and regulations 
of the board authority, the following restrictions and conditions 
apply to persons holding such banquet facility licenses: 

1. Alcoholic beverages cannot be sold or purchased by the 
licensee; 

2. Alcoholic beverages cannot be sold or charged for in any 
way by the person, association, corporation or other entity 
permitted to use the premises; 

3. The private affair referred to in subsection B shall be a 
social function which is attended only by persons who are 
members of the association, corporation or other entity, 
including the fire department or rescue squad, and their bona 
fide guests; 

4. 1. The volunteer fire department or rescue squad shall 
notify the board authority in writing at least two calendar 
days in advance of any affair or event at which the license 
will be used away from the fire department or rescue squad 
station. The notice shall include the date, time, location, and 
address of the event and the identity of the group, and the 
affair or event. Such records of off-site affairs and events 
should be maintained at the fire department or rescue squad 
station for a period of two years; 

5. 2. A photocopy of the banquet facility license shall be 
present at all affairs or events at which the privileges of the 
license are exercised away from the fire or rescue squad 
station; and 

6. 3. The fire department or rescue squad shall comply with 
the requirements of the local governing body concerning 
sanitation, health, construction, or equipment and shall 
obtain all local permits or licenses which that may be 
required to exercise the privilege privileges of its license. 

3VAC5-50-190. Bed and breakfast licenses; restrictions 
and conditions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 A 9 of the Code of Virginia, the 
board may grant a bed and breakfast license to any person who 
operates an establishment consisting of: 

1. No more than 15 bedrooms available for rent; 

2. Offering to the public, for compensation, transitory 
lodging or sleeping accommodations; and 

3. Offering at least one meal per day, which may but need 
not be breakfast, to each person to whom overnight lodging 
is provided. 

B. In addition to other applicable statutes and regulations of 
the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, the 
following restrictions and conditions apply to persons licensed 
as bed and breakfast establishments: 

1. Alcoholic beverages served under the privileges conferred 
by the license must be purchased from a government store, 
wine or beer wholesaler, or farm winery; 

2. Alcoholic beverages may be served for on-premises 
consumption to persons who are registered, overnight guests 
and are of legal age to consume alcoholic beverages; 

3. Lodging, meals, and service of alcoholic beverages shall 
be provided at one general price and no additional charges, 
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premiums, or surcharges shall be exacted for the service of 
alcoholic beverages; 

4. Alcoholic beverages may be served in dining areas, 
private guest rooms, and other designated areas, including 
outside terraces or patios; 

5. The bed and breakfast establishment, upon request or 
order of lodgers making overnight reservations, may 
purchase and have available for the lodger upon arrival, any 
alcoholic beverages so ordered, provided that no premium or 
surcharge above the purchase price of the alcoholic 
beverages may be exacted from the consumer for this 
accommodation purchase; 

6. Alcoholic beverages purchased under the license may not 
be commingled or stored with the private stock of alcoholic 
beverages belonging to owners of the bed and breakfast 
establishment; and 

7. The bed and breakfast establishment shall maintain 
complete and accurate records of the purchases of alcoholic 
beverages and provide sufficient evidence that at least one 
meal per day is offered to persons to whom overnight 
lodging is provided. 

3VAC5-50-200. Gift shops; wine and beer off-premises 
licenses; conditions; records; inspections. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
board may grant retail wine and beer off-premises licenses to 
gift shops. Such gift shop may be located (i) on the premises 
or grounds of a government registered national, state or local 
historic building or site or (ii) within the premises of a 
museum. 

B. The following restrictions and conditions apply to gift shop 
licensees: 

1. A gift shop shall be defined as any bona fide retail store 
selling, predominately, (i) floral arrangements or handmade 
arts and crafts, which may include a combination of gifts, 
books, souvenirs, specialty items, collectibles, or other 
original and handmade products; and (ii) which is open to 
the public on a regular basis in a permanent structure where 
stock is displayed and offered for sale and which has 
facilities to properly secure any stock of wine or beer. 

2. The board shall consider the purpose, characteristics, 
nature, and operation of the applicant establishment in 
determining whether it shall be considered a gift shop within 
the meaning of this section. 

3. 1. Gift shop licenses, pursuant to this regulation, shall be 
granted only to persons who have places of business which 
that have been in operation for no less than 12 continuous 
months next preceding the filing of the application. 

4. 2. Gift shop licenses shall authorize the licensees to sell 
wine and beer, which that have been purchased from and 
received at the establishment from farm winery or wholesale 

licensees, to sell such alcoholic beverages unchilled only 
within the interior premises of the gift shop in closed 
containers for off-premises consumption, and to deliver or 
ship the same to purchasers thereof in accordance with Title 
4.1 of the Code of Virginia and regulations of the board 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority). 

5. 3. In granting licenses under this regulation chapter, the 
board authority may impose restrictions and conditions upon 
purchases and sales of wine and beer in accordance with this 
regulation chapter or as may be deemed reasonable by the 
board authority to ensure that the distribution of alcoholic 
beverages is orderly, and lawful and only incidental to the 
principal business of the licensee. In no event may the sale 
of such alcoholic beverages exceed 25% of total annual 
gross sales at the establishment. 

6. 4. Every person licensed to sell alcoholic beverages under 
this regulation chapter shall comply with 3VAC5-70-90. 

3VAC5-50-210. Manner of compensation of employees of 
retail licensees. 

Employees of a retail licensee shall not receive compensation 
based directly, in whole or in part, upon the volume of 
alcoholic beverages sales only; provided, however, that in the 
case of retail wine and beer or beer only licensees, nothing in 
this section shall be construed to prohibit a bona fide 
compensation plan based upon the total volume of sales of the 
business, including receipts from the sale of alcoholic 
beverages. 

3VAC5-50-220. Interests in the businesses of licensees. 

Persons to whom licenses have been issued shall not allow 
any other person to receive a percentage of the income of the 
licensed business or have any beneficial interest in such 
business; provided, however, that nothing in this section shall 
be construed to prohibit: 

1. The payment by the licensee of a franchise fee based in 
whole or in part upon a percentage of the entire gross 
receipts of the business conducted upon the licensed 
premises, where such is reasonable as compared to 
prevailing franchise fees of similar businesses; 

2. Where the licensed business is conducted upon leased 
premises, and the lease when construed as a whole does not 
constitute a shift or device to evade the requirements of this 
section: 

a. The payment of rent based in whole or in part upon a 
percentage of the entire gross receipts of the business, 
where such rent is reasonable as compared to prevailing 
rentals of similar businesses; and 

b. The landlord from imposing standards relating to the 
conduct of the business upon the leased premises, where 
such standards are reasonable as compared to prevailing 
standards in leases of similar businesses and do not 
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unreasonably restrict the control of the licensee over the 
sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages; or 

3. The payment by the licensee of a management fee based 
in whole or in part upon a percentage of the entire gross 
receipts of the business conducted under the license where 
the licensee has contracted with a management company or 
promoter to perform operational duties on behalf of the 
licensee, provided that: 

a. All payments to any management company or promoter 
are less than 10% in aggregate of the gross receipts of the 
business conducted under the license; and 

b. The licensee provides the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Authority (authority) a copy of the contract 
between the licensee and the management company or 
promoter that identifies the management company or 
promoter as an agent of the licensee for the purposes of 
exercising the privileges of the license and holds the 
licensee liable for any violations of the Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 of the Code of Virginia) 
or authority regulation committed by the management 
company or promoter. 

3VAC5-50-240. Alcoholic energy drinks beverage displays. 

A. "Alcoholic energy drink" means an alcoholic beverage that 
contains caffeine or other stimulants. 

B. Any establishment licensed to sell beer or wine for off-
premises consumption shall display alcoholic energy drinks for 
sale immediately adjacent to other alcoholic beverage 
products, and not immediately adjacent to any nonalcoholic 
beverages. 

Any establishment licensed to sell beer or wine for off-
premises consumption and that displays beer and wine for sale 
outside of a clearly discernible location reserved for alcoholic 
beverage products shall (i) place no such alcoholic beverages 
immediately adjacent to any nonalcoholic beverages 
containing the same or similar brand name, logo, or packaging 
and (ii) install additional signage on the shelving or the floor 
display to indicate that the product is an alcoholic beverage. 
Such signage shall be clearly visible to consumers and of 
sufficient size to notify the consumer of the alcohol contents of 
the product. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the sale and 
display of nonalcoholic beer or wine in the same display or 
near similarly branded alcoholic beer or wine products. 

3VAC5-50-250. Confectionery; definition; restrictions; 
labeling. 

A. "Confectionery" means baked goods and candies having 
an alcohol content not more than 5.0% by volume. 

B. Any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not be 
in liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold. Such 
alcohol shall be fully integrated or blended into the 
confectionery product. 

C. Any such confectionery shall only be sold to those 
individuals who can lawfully consume alcohol. 

D. Subsections A, B, and C of this section shall only apply to 
licenses issued pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 C 3 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

E. Any establishment licensed to sell confectioneries for off-
premises consumption shall properly label the product with 
such label, including: 

1. Notice that the product contains alcohol; 

2. Notice that the product can only be consumed off 
premises; and 

3. Warning that the product should not be consumed by 
anyone younger than 21 years of age. 

3VAC5-50-260. Marketplace license; qualifications; 
application. 

A. The following words and terms, when used in this section, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

1. "Bona fide customer" means a patron of the business 
enterprise that is seeking to obtain the goods or services of 
the licensee. 

2. "Personalized experience" means goods or services 
catered to the specifications of an individual or event. 

B. The marketplace license is a retail license. A premises 
described in an application for a marketplace license shall be 
subject to any regulations and requirements that apply to 
licensed premises upon which alcoholic beverages may be sold 
at retail for on-premises consumption. The employees who are 
involved in the marketplace licensee's service of 
complimentary alcoholic beverages shall be subject to the 
regulations and requirements that apply to employees of 
licensed establishments selling wine or beer at retail. A 
marketplace licensee's alcoholic beverage control manager 
shall be subject to the same regulations and requirements as 
designated managers of licensed establishments selling wine or 
beer at retail. 

C. Marketplace licensees shall be subject to all requirements 
of 3VAC5-70-90 that apply to licensed premises upon which 
beer or wine may be sold at retail. In addition, every 
marketplace licensee shall keep complete, accurate, and 
separate records of the complimentary service of alcoholic 
beverages. Such records shall include accurate accounts of 
daily service of alcoholic beverages, by the drink, showing the 
kinds and quantities of alcoholic beverages served. 

D. In addition to the requirements in § 4.1-206.3 E of the 
Code of Virginia, the Board of Directors of the Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority may also consider other 
requirements for licensure that the Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority may deem appropriate to protect 
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the public health, safety, and welfare based on a review of the 
application and determinations of the Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority, Bureau of Law Enforcement 
during the investigation of the applicant. 

E. Any person licensed pursuant to § 4.1-206 A 9, A 11, A 
12, A 14, A 18, or A 19 of the Code of Virginia prior to July 1, 
2021, that wishes to maintain licensure after December 31, 
2021, shall apply for a marketplace license on or before July 1, 
2021. If the licensee fails to apply for a marketplace license, 
the licensee shall be authorized to continue to operate under 
such license until the expiration of its original term. 

F. Any person licensed pursuant to § 4.1-206 A 9, A 11, A 
12, A 14, A 18, or A 19 of the Code of Virginia prior to July 1, 
2021, whose license expires prior to December 31, 2021, and 
wishes to renew the license, may renew the license for another 
year and shall be authorized to continue to operate under such 
license until the expiration of that term. At least 60 days prior 
to the expiration of that term, the licensee shall apply for a 
marketplace license if the licensee wishes to maintain licensure 
following the expiration of the renewed license. 

G. Any persons not currently licensed may apply for issuance 
of a license pursuant to § 4.1-206 A 9, A 11, A 12, A 14, A 18, 
or A 19 of the Code of Virginia on or before December 31, 
2021. If such license is issued, the licensee shall be authorized 
to continue to operate under such license until the expiration of 
that term. At least 60 days prior to the expiration of that term, 
the licensee shall apply for a marketplace license if the licensee 
wishes to maintain licensure following the expiration of the 
issued license. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7512; Filed July 1, 2024, 4:18 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions (amending 
3VAC5-70-10 through 3VAC5-70-40, 3VAC5-70-70 
through 3VAC5-70-130, 3VAC5-70-150, 3VAC5-70-160 
through 3VAC5-70-250; repealing 3VAC5-70-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2024. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 
Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 
Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 
Directors (board) has the authority to adopt regulations and to 
do all acts necessary or advisable to carry out the purposes of 
Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-111 of the Code 
of Virginia provides the board with the authority to adopt 

reasonable regulations that it deems necessary to carry out the 
provisions of the Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia and to amend 
or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of citizens because it provides 
comprehensive guidance to Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Authority licensees across all tiers related to rules that 
do not squarely fit in one of the previous chapters. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) remove redundant 
and duplicative language; (ii) revise and add definitions; (iii) 
increase license suspension periods or civil penalties for any 
licensee when a first-time offender chooses to settle a 
violation; (iv) allow first-time offenders more time to settle; (v) 
no longer allow a waiver of penalties for three types of serious 
offenses; (vi) add new restrictions on the use of grain alcohol; 
(vii) extend the time period during which a winery, brewery, 
bottler, or importer is not allowed to increase prices following 
a notification to the wholesaler; (viii) require monthly rather 
than quarterly activity reports from wine and beer shippers and 
Internet retail licensees; (ix) no longer require delivery 
permittees or licensees with a delivery privilege to file a report 
of activity if no sales or deliveries were made in the preceding 
12 months; (x) add language stating that records kept by all 
licensees must be available for inspection "any time the 
licensee is open to the public"; and (xi) update reference and 
language for clarity. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public with these 
revisions is to remove redundant text, more clearly define 
when records should be available, simplify the granting of a 
grain alcohol permit, and incorporate guidance regarding 
designer and vintage bottles. The public in general is not 
disadvantaged, but licensees may see higher penalties and 
suspension periods for violations. The Commonwealth is 
benefited because there is a reduction in regulatory 
requirements as well as more clarity to the remaining 
requirements, making them more accessible. There are no 
disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 
analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 
Directors (board) proposes to (i) increase license suspension 
periods or civil penalties for any licensee when a first-time 
offender chooses to settle a violation; (ii) allow first-time 
offenders more time to settle; (iii) no longer allow a waiver of 
penalties for three types of serious offenses; (iv) add new 
restrictions on the use of grain alcohol; (v) extend the time 
period during which a winery, brewery, bottler, or importer is 
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not allowed to increase prices following a notification to the 
wholesaler; (vi) require monthly rather than quarterly activity 
reports from wine and beer shippers and Internet retail 
licensees; (vii) no longer require delivery permittees or 
licensees with a delivery privilege to file a report of activity if 
no sales or deliveries were made in the preceding 12 months; 
(viii) add language stating that records kept by all licensees 
must be available for inspection "any time the licensee is open 
to the public"; and (ix) make editorial changes aimed at 
removing text that the board indicates is redundant of the Code 
of Virginia or otherwise updating the language to comport with 
current practices within the industry and the agency. 

Background. This regulation contains catch-all rules about 
alcoholic beverages that do not clearly fall under other 
regulatory chapters of the board. These include but are not 
limited to transportation, shipping, delivery, warehousing, 
wholesale, recordkeeping, non-commercial or commercial 
carrier permits, handling of cider, culinary licenses, schedule 
of penalties, and waiver of penalty for first-offense violations. 

After conducting a comprehensive review of this chapter, and 
to reduce regulatory requirements in response to the regulatory 
reduction objectives in Executive Order 19 (2022), the board 
proposes the changes discussed. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Section 4.1-227 B of the Code 
of Virginia provides the board authority to impose a civil 
penalty of up to $3,000 for first violations involving either the 
sale of alcoholic beverages to a person who is prohibited from 
purchasing alcoholic beverages or allowing alcoholic 
beverages to be consumed by underage, intoxicated, or 
interdicted persons; civil penalties of up to $2,000 can also be 
imposed for other types of first violations. The Code of 
Virginia does not appear to limit the duration of the suspension 
period that can be imposed by the board and the board also 
appears to have the authority to revoke a license. In addition to 
any suspension or civil penalty, the board may impose a 
requirement that the licensee pay for the cost incurred by the 
board (not to exceed $25,000) in investigating the licensee and 
in holding the proceeding resulting in the violation. Thus, a 
licensee faced with a notice of hearing for a first-time violation 
faces a substantial risk in terms of the range of possible 
outcomes of such a hearing. 

This regulation allows for the settlement of first-time 
violations (i.e., no pending charges and no substantiated 
charges within the preceding three years) in lieu of going to a 
hearing and contesting the charge. Settlement is available if the 
licensee agrees to either a suspension period or a civil penalty, 
as provided in the schedule of penalties for first-offense 
violations and enters into an agreement with the Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority). However, 
according to the authority, negotiated orders may include both 
a suspension period as well as a monetary fine if both sides 
agree. 

One of the proposed changes would amend the schedule of 
penalties contained in 3VAC5-70-210. The schedule consists 

of 26 types of violations for which the penalty includes either 
suspension of a license for a certain number of days or, in lieu 
of the suspension, the payment of a civil monetary charge. 
Additionally, four types of offenses allow for less stringent 
suspension periods or reduced charges if the licensee has 
recently completed certified training. All 26 violations would 
see an increase in either the suspension periods or in the 
monetary fines or both. The complete schedule with the 
proposed changes can be found in the appendix of this analysis. 
The increases currently proposed by the board would be in 
addition to increases that were made in 2019, at which time the 
civil monetary penalties were increased by either $250 or $500 
over the amounts that were in effect prior to 2019.2 The 2019 
increases followed 2017 legislation that increased the 
maximum amounts that the board may charge.3 

The changes in the appendix can be summarized as follows. 
For 16 types of offenses, the current suspension period of seven 
days would be increased to 10 days and the civil penalty would 
increase by an additional $250 (i.e., from $500 to $750 for one 
type of violation, from $750 to $1,000 for 15 types of 
violations). For one type of violation, the suspension period 
would increase from 10 days to 15 days with a corresponding 
increase in the charge from $1,250 to $1,500. For five types of 
violations, the civil charge would increase from $1,250 to 
$1,500 with no change in the suspension period (i.e., the 
suspension period would remain at 10 days for all five 
violations). There is no change to either suspension periods or 
in monetary penalties in four offenses, although these four 
offenses provide for less onerous penalties if the licensee has 
completed training recently, which are separately discussed. 

ABC reports that the intent of increasing these penalties is to 
act as a deterrent, although no data or information has been 
provided to indicate why additional deterrence is needed. As a 
result of the proposed changes to the schedule of penalties for 
first offense violations, the authority projects a 20% to 25% 
increase in the monetary penalties collected from licensees that 
settle their charges before a hearing. In fiscal year 2023, the 
authority collected $853,429 in total from penalties (i.e., 
$702,500 from 302 expedited consent orders and $150,929 
from 78 matters resolved through negotiations). Using these 
data, and assuming no change in behavior by licensees, this 
20% to 25% increase corresponds to an amount between 
$170,686 and $213,357 in additional collections by the 
authority. 

The proposed changes would also increase the suspension 
periods during which the licensee would be prohibited from 
selling alcohol. In cases where alcohol sales make up the 
majority of the revenue stream of the licensee, the licensee may 
close the business in its entirety. Thus, if suspension is chosen, 
the licensee would lose revenues for the duration of the 
suspension, which would be increased by an additional three 
or five days depending on the specific violation, and some 
businesses may have to temporarily furlough their employees 
if they are highly reliant upon alcohol sales. In fiscal year 2023, 
36 consent orders (11% of all consent orders) and nine 
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negotiated orders (11% of all negotiated orders) contained a 
suspension period. 

In general, the opportunity to settle may incentivize some 
individuals because settlements often result in the imposition 
of reduced penalties compared to the full extent of the law. 
This can include lower fines, shorter license suspensions, or 
other consequences. Additionally, settling a violation may lead 
to a faster resolution of the case. This can be advantageous for 
businesses looking to move past the incident and continue 
operations without prolonged administrative proceedings. 
Settling a violation may also help in preserving the reputation 
of the business. The act of contesting a violation is public 
information which can be damaging to a company's image, and 
settling may minimize negative publicity. Moreover, a 
settlement provides certainty regarding the outcome. A 
business can better plan for the future without the uncertainty 
of a protracted administrative process. This is no different in 
the case of the violations discussed. 

However, an increase in the penalties associated with 
settlement may change this incentive, with the result that some 
individuals may decide to contest the charges. The imposition 
of higher penalties would increase the cost of settling disputed 
violations depending on the type of violation. Thus, an increase 
in the suspension periods or the monetary penalties may lead 
to an increase in the number of contested cases and hearings 
the authority would conduct. In fiscal year 2023, there were 
seven initial hearings involving a single first-time violation in 
the schedule of penalties that had a suspension period ranging 
from no suspension to up to 28 days, and the licensee also paid 
a monetary penalty ranging from $900 to $2,650. Thus, it is 
unclear whether and how much this change would lead to more 
contested cases. 

Additionally, an increase in the cost of settling a dispute may 
incentivize some licensees to be more careful and devote more 
resources to employee training or supervision to reduce the 
chances of a violation. Thus, it is unclear whether and how 
much this change would alter the number of violations or 
contested cases. 

The regulation also identifies four violations for which the 
suspension periods and monetary penalties are reduced if the 
licensee can demonstrate that they provided the employee 
responsible for the violation with certified training within the 
preceding 12 months. The authority provides the training 
online free of charge, and the reduced penalties are aimed at 
incentivizing licensees to ensure that their employees are 
knowledgeable about the current rules and regulations. The 
suspension period with training for all four of these violations 
would increase from five days to 15 days. Only two of the four 
violations would have an increased monetary penalty, which 
would increase from $1,500 to $2,000, while the monetary 
penalty for the other two violations would remain at $1,500. 

The proposed increases in suspension period or the monetary 
penalties for the four types of violations where the licensee has 
recently completed certified training would reduce the 

potential benefit of having completed training compared to the 
status quo. For example, the current suspension period is five 
days with the training and 25 days without the training, which 
provides a 20-day reduction in the suspension period for all 
four types of violations in this category. Because the proposal 
would increase the suspension period from five days to 15 days 
for all four violations, it would reduce the benefit of training 
by half: from 20 days to 10 days. Similarly, the monetary 
benefit of training is currently $1,000 for two of the four 
violations (i.e., $2,500 without training versus $1,500 with 
training). Under the proposal, the monetary penalty with 
training would increase from $1,500 to $2,000. This increase 
would therefore reduce the monetary benefit of training by half 
to $500. In short, a potentially unintended consequence of 
these changes would be to decrease the relative attractiveness 
of training in terms of the suspension period and the monetary 
penalty. All other things being equal, the number of licensees 
who require their employees to complete annual training may 
decline. 

The relative significance of the suspension period and 
monetary penalty would also change, because 17 violations 
would see an increase in both the suspension period and civil 
penalty, five of the violations would see an increase in only in 
monetary penalty, and suspension and monetary fines would 
remain the same for four violations unless the licensee recently 
completed training. Of the four violations that offer lesser 
penalties (suspension or monetary) compared to those 
licensees without recent training, two would see an increase in 
both types of penalties. The authority explains that the main 
reason for the proposed longer suspension periods for certain 
violations is to increase the significance of suspension periods 
in conjunction with the proposed increases in civil penalties. If 
suspension periods were not increased, the board feels that 
violators would choose the suspension period and easily avoid 
increased monetary fines. 

Another amendment to the schedule of penalties would allow 
a licensee more time to settle. Currently, the regulation allows 
the licensees 20 days from the date of notification to settle the 
violation. The board proposes to strike the notification 
language, which would have the effect of allowing the licensee 
to settle the violation at any point until the time of the hearing. 
This change would benefit licensees who could not settle the 
violation within 20 days, but who would have settled it if they 
had more time. 

The regulation currently also allows penalties to be waived for 
licensees that have not had a violation in the preceding five 
years, if it appears that the violation was unintentional. The 
board proposes to no longer allow penalties to be waived for 
three of these offenses because the board has determined that 
the nature of the offenses is "too significant." These offenses 
are: allowing an intoxicated person to loiter on the premises; 
after-hours sales or consumption of alcoholic beverages; and 
sale by a wholesaler of wine or beer to unauthorized person. 
Under the proposed changes, licensees who may have received 
a waiver of the penalty for one of these violations would no 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 29, 2024  

2024 

longer have that option. According to the board, the penalty for 
one of these offenses has only been waived twice in the past 
eight years and there were no waivers for two other offenses in 
the same time period; and no waivers for any of the three 
violations were granted in the last fiscal year. Removing the 
availability of a waiver for the three violations would make the 
penalties more punitive and encourage licensees to take actions 
(e.g., training or increased supervision) that would help them 
avoid these serious violations. 

Two of the proposed changes would add new restrictions on 
the use of grain alcohol. The proposal would add that grain 
alcohol cannot be used in the manufacture of products intended 
for human consumption and remove the current allowance for 
the commercial and culinary uses of grain alcohol. According 
to the board, both internal and external stakeholders were 
concerned about the risks involved in the current approach, 
which allows products containing a high alcohol proof to be 
sold for human consumption. Thus, the board proposes to 
introduce restrictions on the use of grain alcohol in 
manufacturing and to no longer allow the commercial and 
culinary uses. 

Another change in the proposal includes an extension in the 
time that must elapse before a price increase by a winery, 
brewery, bottler, or importer can go into effect. The regulation 
currently states that a price increase from a winery, brewery, 
bottler, or importer to wholesalers cannot go into effect until 
30 calendar days after a notice of such increase is postmarked. 
The proposed change would start the required 30-day notice 
period from the date of delivery of the price increase notice to 
the wholesaler, rather than the day the notice is postmarked. 
Since the delivery of the notice to the wholesaler would be after 
the notice is postmarked, the price increase would not go in 
effect for a longer period of time. This change would delay the 
ability of winery, brewery, bottler, or importer to increase their 
prices and would allow the wholesaler additional time to take 
action if they choose. 

Under the proposed changes, wine and beer shippers and 
Internet retail licensees would be required to file activity 
reports more frequently and would be required to report the 
weight of the items shipped and delivered in the report. 
Currently, these entities are required to file activity reports 
with the authority quarterly (i.e., on or before the 15th day of 
January, April, July, and October). Under the proposed 
changes, they would be required to file activity reports on or 
before the 15th day of each month. According to the authority, 
this change is being proposed because the current quarterly 
reporting is not effective. The board states that if there is a 
violation, several months would elapse before enforcement is 
made aware of the violation, and then even more time would 
pass before it is brought to a hearing. Reporting monthly 
increases the likelihood that violations would be discovered 
sooner and addressed more quickly. However, more frequent 
report filing would also add to shipper and licensee 
administrative costs because they would collect data more 
often and prepare and send additional reports to the authority. 

As noted, the board also proposes to require the report to 
include the weight of the shipment. The board states that this 
would provide more oversight to make sure that entities are not 
shipping more than what is permitted by law. 

Another report-related change would no longer require 
delivery permittees, or licensees with a delivery privilege, to 
file a report of activity at least once every 12 months even if 
no sales or deliveries were made in the preceding 12 months. 
Thus, affected permittees and licensees would be expected to 
save the administrative cost of this reporting. 

The board proposes to also add language stating that records 
kept by all licensees must be available for inspection "any time 
the licensee is open to the public." Currently, the records must 
be available for inspection during reasonable hours and 
between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., but some licensees 
open their business after 5 p.m. According to the board, this 
change clarifies that "reasonable hours" includes hours the 
licensee is open. The board states that there have been few 
instances where agents were not provided access when the 
businesses were open outside of the current 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
window. Therefore, this change should improve agent ability 
to inspect records and thereby improve compliance. 

Of the proposed editorial changes, some would remove text 
that the board states is redundant of the Code of Virginia. This 
would reduce the length of the regulatory text but would also 
remove the convenience of identifying relevant statutory 
requirements by reading the regulation itself. Although the 
laws of the Commonwealth are presumed to be known by all 
citizens, a decrease in information about statutory 
requirements may reduce compliance for those persons who 
rely upon the regulation instead of consulting the Code of 
Virginia. Although the board notes that the laws could change 
over time, and that outdated statutory requirements would 
remain in the regulation until the regulation is updated, the time 
and effort to retain and then update the regulation may be 
beneficial to the board and to citizens and consumers to the 
degree that it increases compliance. 

The other editorial changes would remove language that is no 
longer applicable since the implementation of alcoholic 
beverage control license reform.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are 20,892 
licensees that are subject to this regulation. No entity appears 
to be disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 
adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.4 An 
adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 
or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 
exceed the costs for all entities combined.5 As noted, all 
changes except three (i.e., allowing more time to settle a first 
time violation; no longer requiring delivery permittees or 
licensees with delivery privilege to file a report of activity if 
there is no deliveries or sales; and the editorial changes) are 
expected to add to compliance costs as discussed above. The 
changes to schedule of penalties would make it more costly for 
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a violator to settle the case. Thus, an adverse impact on 
licensees is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 It is more than likely that some 
of the licensees are small businesses. Thus, the proposal does 
appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 
The board states that it does not have the capability to 
determine how many of its licensees meet the definition of a 
small business. 

Costs and Other Effects: The costs and other effects on small 
business licensees are the same as discussed above for all 
licensees. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: There are 
no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 
and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed changes apply statewide 
and they do not appear to introduce any costs for the localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to increase the 
suspension periods for first-time offenders if they choose to 
settle the violation may lead to a reduction in their demand for 
labor because of decreased sales or potentially the closure of 
some licensed premises for a several additional days if they 
significantly rely on alcohol sales, depending on the type of 
violation. This may lead to a reduction in the need for 
employees and negatively affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. With the 
exception of small benefits to licensees from having more time 
to settle with the authority and a reduced reporting 
requirement, all of the remaining proposed changes are 
expected to add to compliance costs of licensees. An increase 
in compliance costs would reduce profitability, and 
consequently lead to a negative impact on asset values of 
affected licensees. No impact is expected on real estate 
development costs. 

Violation Suspension Civil 
Charge 

Suspensio
n with 

Certified 
Training 

Civil 
Charge 

with 
Certified 
Training 

Sale of beer, 
wine, or 
mixed 
beverages to 
a person at 
least 18 but 
younger than 
21 years of 
age. 

25 days $2,500 5 (15) 
days 

$1,500 
($2,000) 

Allowing 
consumption 
of beer, wine, 
or mixed 
beverages by 
a person at 

25 days $2,500 5 (15) 
days 

$1,500 
($2,000) 

least 18 but 
younger than 
21 years of 
age. 

Aiding and 
abetting the 
purchase of 
alcoholic 
beverages by 
a person at 
least 18 but 
younger than 
21 years of 
age. 

10 (15) 
days 

$1,250 
($1,500) 

  

Keeping 
unauthorized 
alcoholic 
beverages on 
the premises, 
upon which 
appropriate 
taxes have 
been paid. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Allow an 
intoxicated 
person to 
loiter on the 
premises. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Sale to an 
intoxicated 
person. 

25 days $2,500 5 (15) 
days 

$1,500 

Allow 
consumption 
by an 
intoxicated 
person. 

25 days $2,500 5 (15) 
days 

$1,500 

After hours 
sales or 
consumption 
of alcoholic 
beverages. 

10 days $1,250 
($1,500) 

  

No 
designated 
manager on 
premises. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Invalid check 
to wholesaler 
or authority. 

7 (10) days $500 
($750) 

  

Inadequate 
illumination. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

ABC license 
not posted. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Not timely 
submitting 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 
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report 
required by 
statute or 
regulation. 

Designated 
manager not 
posted. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Person 
younger than 
18 years of 
age serving 
alcoholic 
beverages; 
younger than 
21 years of 
age acting as 
bartender. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Sale of 
alcoholic 
beverages in 
unauthorized 
place or 
manner. 

10 days $1,250 
($1,500) 

  

Consumption 
of alcoholic 
beverages in 
unauthorized 
area. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Removal of 
alcoholic 
beverages 
from 
authorized 
area. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Failure to 
obliterate 
mixed 
beverage 
stamps. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Employee on 
duty 
consuming 
alcoholic 
beverages. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Conducting 
illegal happy 
hour. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Illegally 
advertising 
happy hour. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Unauthorized 
advertising. 

7 (10) days $750 
($1,000) 

  

Failure to 
remit state 

10 days $1,250 
($1,500) 

  

beer or wine 
tax (if 
deficiency 
has been 
corrected). 

Wholesaler 
sale of beer 
or wine in 
unauthorized 
manner. 

10 days $1,250 
($1,500) 

  

Wholesaler 
sale of beer 
or wine to 
unauthorized 
person. 

10 days $1,250 
($1,500) 

  

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2 https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=13595. 

3 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0698&171+ful+CHAP0698 and https://lis.v
irginia.gov/ cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0707&171+ful+CHAP0707. 
4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  
5 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 
a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 
for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 
changes to the regulation. 
6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 
than $6 million."  
7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
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8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 
likely to occur.  
9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 
disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) 
concurs with the majority of the Department of Planning and 
Budget's (DPB) economic impact analysis (EIA); however, the 
agency does take exception to various statements regarding the 
amendments made to the schedule of penalties made by the 
analyst that are highly speculative and fail to take into 
consideration specific aspects of the data provided to DPB 
regarding the penalties collected over the last fiscal year.  

The analyst asserts that an increase in suspension periods or 
monetary penalties may lead to an increase in the number of 
contested cases and hearings the authority would conduct. The 
analyst notes that nine initial hearings were heard that included 
violations that are covered in the schedule of penalties; 
however, the analyst fails to mention that seven of those nine 
cases resulted in penalties exceeding the limits that the 
amendments to this chapter are proposing and would have 
resulted in the licensee seeing lower penalties had they settled 
according to the schedule of penalties. Additionally, there are 
various issues at play as to why matters may go to a hearing 
instead of settling pursuant to the schedule of penalties. The 
matter mentioned in the EIA that resulted in a $10,750 civil 
penalty and a 71-day suspension (reduced to 30 days after 
payment of penalty) was one matter that involved a licensee 
that had committed 10 different violations, including multiple 
incidents of selling alcohol after hours, failing to submit the 
annual review, prohibited purchases of alcohol, and submitting 
an inaccurate annual report for multiple years. The settlement 
process is not meant for licensees that so blatantly violate the 
law to such a significant extent. Other than this singular 
example, there were no other cases with penalties or 
suspensions that high. To determine an overall adverse impact 
across all 20,892 licensees based on the actions of one singular 
licensee that would not have been subject to the chapter 
currently being amended is faulty logic at best. Of the nine 
cases cited by the analyst, only one resulted in a civil penalty 
less than the proposed amendments in the current action and 
that was only by $100. It is also worth noting that the current 
schedule of penalties and as amended are suspensions and 
penalties that the licensee may voluntarily enter into; neither 
the authority nor the chapter mandate that the licensee must 
accept these penalties or suspensions. Furthermore, the 
licensee may also negotiate a different penalty or suspension 
period that may be considered based on the facts of the matter 
and through the offer and compromise process included in 
3VAC5-10-160. If acceptance of the penalty or suspension 
period would adversely impact the licensee to such a degree 
that in the licensee's summation it is not worth it, the licensee 
does not have to accept either.  

The analyst asserts that all but three changes are expected to 
add to compliance costs. But for the requirement to report 
monthly as opposed to reporting quarterly, there are no 
additional compliance requirements imposed on licensees that 
do not already currently exist. Even if the requirement to report 
monthly as opposed to quarterly results in an additional 
"compliance cost," said cost would be negligible because the 
licensee is reporting data that the licensee is already required 
to maintain. Also, in many cases the authority allows for this 
data to be submitted via email, which would avoid any postal 
charges. The analyst also asserts that an increase to suspension 
periods may lead to a reduction in need for employees. As 
previously mentioned, the proposed suspension periods are 
voluntary. There is no mandate in these amendments that the 
licensee must accept a suspension. Additionally, the 
suspension is a suspension of the licensee's alcohol privileges. 
The licensee may continue to engage in the non-alcohol related 
activities of the licensee's business (e.g., a convenience store 
may be prohibited from selling alcohol while the license is 
suspended but may continue to sell other nonalcoholic items in 
its inventory). Furthermore, any reduction in the need for 
employees would be negligible across the licensee community, 
considering that out of approximately 417 matters resolved 
through a consent settlement or negotiation in the last fiscal 
year, only 45 licensees chose to voluntarily accept a 
suspension. For the statements indicated, the authority only 
partially concurs with the analysis provided by DPB. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove redundant and 
duplicative language; (ii) revise and add definitions; (iii) 
increase license suspension periods or civil penalties for any 
licensee when a first-time offender chooses to settle a 
violation; (iv) allow first-time offenders more time to settle 
violations; (v) no longer allow a waiver of penalties for three 
types of serious offenses; (vi) add new restrictions on the use 
of grain alcohol; (vii) extend the time period during which a 
winery, brewery, bottler, or importer is not allowed to 
increase prices following a notification to the wholesaler; 
(viii) require monthly rather than quarterly activity reports 
from wine and beer shippers and Internet retail licensees; 
(ix) no longer require delivery permittees or licensees with 
a delivery privilege to file a report of activity if no sales or 
deliveries were made in the preceding 12 months; (x) add 
language stating that records kept by all licensees must be 
available for inspection "any time the licensee is open to the 
public"; and (xi) update reference and language for clarity. 

3VAC5-70-10. Transportation of alcoholic beverages; 
noncommercial permits; commercial carrier permits; 
refusal, suspension or revocation of permits; exceptions; 
out-of-state limitation not affected. 

A. The transportation within or through this the 
Commonwealth of alcoholic beverages lawfully purchased 
within this the Commonwealth is prohibited, except upon a 
permit issued by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 
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Control Authority (authority), when in excess of the following 
limits: 

1. Wine and beer. No limitation. 

2. Alcoholic beverages other than those described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. Three gallons. 

The transportation within, into, or through this the 
Commonwealth of alcoholic beverages lawfully purchased 
outside of this the Commonwealth is prohibited, except upon a 
permit issued by the board authority, when in excess of the 
following limits: 

Alcoholic beverages, including wine and beer. Three gallons. 

If satisfied that the proposed transportation is otherwise 
lawful, the board authority shall issue a transportation permit, 
which shall accompany the alcoholic beverages at all times to 
the final destination. 

B. Commercial carriers desiring to engage regularly in the 
transportation of alcoholic beverages within, into, or through 
this the Commonwealth shall, except as hereinafter noted in 
this subsection, obtain a transportation permit from the board 
authority or otherwise possess acceptable documentation as 
required by the following provisions. 

A transportation permit may be obtained by filing an 
application in writing upon forms furnished by the board 
authority. If satisfied that the proposed transportation is 
otherwise lawful, the board authority shall issue a 
transportation permit. Such permit shall not be transferable and 
shall authorize the carrier to engage in the regular 
transportation of alcoholic beverages upon condition that there 
shall accompany each such transporting vehicle a bill of lading 
or other memorandum describing the alcoholic beverages 
being transported and showing the names and addresses of the 
consignor and consignee, who shall be lawfully entitled to 
make and to receive the shipment. Such a The bill of lading or 
other memorandum may serve as a transportation permit so 
long as it is made available for inspection to special agents of 
the board authority or any law-enforcement officer upon 
request. 

C. The board authority may refuse, suspend, or revoke a 
carrier's transportation permit, including the use of a bill of 
lading or other memorandum as a transportation permit as 
provided in subsection B of this section, if it shall have 
reasonable cause to believe that alcoholic beverages have been 
illegally transported by such carrier or that such carrier has 
violated any condition of a permit for any reason that it may 
refuse to issue, suspend, or revoke a license. Before refusing, 
suspending, or revoking such permit, the board authority shall 
accord the carrier involved the same notice and opportunity to 
be heard and follow the same administrative procedures 
accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

D. There shall be exempt from the requirements of this 
section This section shall not apply to the following: 

1. Common carriers by water engaged in transporting 
lawfully acquired alcoholic beverages for a lawful consignor 
to a lawful consignee; 

2. Persons transporting wine, beer, or cider, or spirits 
purchased from the board authority or a licensee; 

3. Persons transporting alcoholic beverages that may be 
manufactured and sold without a license; 

4. A licensee transporting lawfully acquired alcoholic 
beverages he the licensee is authorized to sell in a vehicle 
owned or leased by the licensee; 

5. Persons transporting alcoholic beverages to the board 
authority, or to licensees, provided that a bill of lading or a 
complete and accurate memorandum accompanies the 
shipment, and provided further, in the case of the licensee, 
that the merchandise is such as his merchandise that the 
license entitles him the licensee to sell; 

6. Persons transporting alcoholic beverages as a part of their 
official duties as federal, state, or municipal officers or 
employees; and 

7. Persons transporting lawfully acquired alcoholic 
beverages in a passenger vehicle, other than those alcoholic 
beverages referred to in subdivisions D 2 and D 3 of this 
section, provided the same that the alcoholic beverages are 
in the possession of the bona fide owners thereof and that no 
occupant of the vehicle possesses any alcoholic beverages in 
excess of the maximum limitations set forth in subsection A 
of this section. 

E. This section shall not be construed to alter the one-gallon 
(four liters if any part is in a metric-sized container) three-
gallon limitation upon alcoholic beverages that may be brought 
into the Commonwealth pursuant to § 4.1-310 E 4.1-311 B of 
the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-70-20. Procedures for handling cider; authorized 
licensees; containers; labels; markup; age limits. 

A. The procedures established by regulations of the board 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) for 
the handling of wine having an alcoholic content of not more 
than 14% by volume shall, with the necessary change of detail, 
be applicable to the handling of cider, subject to the following 
exceptions and modifications. 

B. Licensees authorized to sell beer and wine, or either, at 
retail are hereby approved by the board for the sale of cider and 
such sales shall be made only in accordance with the age limits 
set forth in this section. 

C. Containers of cider containing less than 7.0% alcohol by 
volume may be sold in any containers that comply with federal 
regulations for wine and beer provided such containers are 
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labeled in accordance with board regulations. Cider containing 
7.0% or more alcohol by volume may be sold in any containers 
that comply with federal regulations for wine, provided the 
containers are labeled in accordance with board regulations. 

D. B. If the label of the product is subject to approval by the 
federal government, a copy of the federal label approval shall 
be provided to the board authority. 

E. C. The markup or profit charged by the board shall be $.08 
per liter or fractional part thereof. 

F. Persons must be 21 years of age or older to purchase or 
possess cider. 

G. D. The provisions of subsection A and subdivision B 4 of 
3VAC5-60-20 shall not be applicable to the sale of cider by 
wholesale wine licensees to retail licensees of the board 
authority. 

3VAC5-70-30. Sacramental wine; purchase orders; 
permits; applications for permits; use of sacramental wine. 

A. Purchase orders for sacramental wine shall be on separate 
order forms prescribed by the board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (authority) and provided at cost if 
supplied by the board authority. 

B. Sales for sacramental purposes shall be only upon permits 
issued by the board authority without cost and on which the 
name of the wholesaler authorized to make the sale is 
designated. 

C. Requests for permits by a religious congregation shall be 
in writing, and executed by an officer of the congregation, and 
shall designate the quantity of wine and the name of the 
wholesaler from whom the wine shall be purchased. 

D. Wine purchased for sacramental purposes by a religious 
congregation shall not be used for any other purpose. 

3VAC5-70-40. Alcoholic beverages for culinary purposes; 
permits; purchases; restrictions. 

A. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) may issue a culinary permit to a person operating 
an establishment where food is prepared on the premises. The 
board authority may refuse to issue or may suspend or revoke 
such a permit for any reason that it may refuse to issue, 
suspend, or revoke a license. 

B. Spirits shall be purchased from government stores. Wine 
and beer may be purchased from retail licensees when the 
permittee does not hold any retail on- or off-premises licenses. 
A permittee possessing a retail on- or off-premises license must 
purchase its wine and beer from wholesale licensees. However, 
a permittee who only has an on- or on- and off-premises beer 
license may purchase its wine from a retail licensee. 

C. Permittees shall keep complete and accurate records of 
their purchases of alcoholic beverages at the permittee's place 
of business for two years. The records shall be available for 

inspection and copying by any member of the board or its 
special agents during reasonable hours. 

D. Alcoholic beverages purchased for culinary purposes shall 
not be sold or used for any other purpose. They and shall be 
stored at the permittee's place of business, separate and apart 
from all other commodities. 

3VAC5-70-70. Permits for persons having alcoholic 
beverages distilled; limitations. 

A. Any person who contracts with or engages a licensed 
distiller to manufacture spirits from grain fruit, fruit products, 
or other substances grown or lawfully produced by such person 
shall obtain a board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority (authority) permit before withdrawing the spirits 
from the distillery's premises. The permit shall accompany the 
shipment at all times. The application for the permit shall 
include the following: 

1. The name, address, and license number, if any, of the 
consignee; 

2. The kind and quantity in gallons of alcoholic beverages; 
and 

3. The name of the company employed to transport the 
shipment. 

B. Permits shall be issued only for (i) spirits shipments to the 
board authority, (ii) sales and shipments to a lawful consignee 
outside the Commonwealth under a bona fide written contract, 
or (iii) shipments of spirits samples to the person growing or 
producing the substance being distilled. Samples shall be 
packaged in containers of 375 or 750 milliliters and the words 
"Sample-Not for Sale" shall be printed in letters of reasonable 
size on the label. 

3VAC5-70-90. Records to be kept by licensees generally; 
additional requirements for certain retailers; "sale" and 
"sell" defined; gross receipts; reports. 

A. All licensees shall keep complete, accurate, and separate 
records for a period of two years. The records shall be available 
for inspection and copying by any member of the board 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) or 
its special agents during reasonable hours. Licensees may use 
microfilm, microfiche, disks, or other any available 
technologies for the storage of their records, and may store 
them off site, provided the records so stored are readily subject 
to retrieval and made available for viewing on a screen or in 
hard copy by the board authority or its special agents at the 
licensed premises between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. or 
any time the licensee is open to the public. At any other time 
of day, if the licensee's records are not available for inspection, 
the licensee shall provide the records to a special agent of the 
board authority within 24 hours after a request is made to 
inspect the records. 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 29, 2024  

2030 

The board authority and its special agents shall be allowed 
free access during reasonable hours to every place in the 
Commonwealth where alcoholic beverages are manufactured, 
bottled, stored, offered for sale, or sold, for the purpose of 
examining and inspecting all records, invoices, and accounts 
therein. 

"Reasonable hours" shall be deemed to include all business 
hours of operation and any other time at which there exists any 
indication of activity upon the licensed premises. 

B. All licensed manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers of 
alcoholic beverages shall keep a complete, accurate, and 
separate record of all alcoholic beverages manufactured, 
bottled, purchased, sold, or shipped by him the licensee. Such 
records shall show the quantities of all such alcoholic 
beverages manufactured, bottled, purchased, sold, or shipped 
by him the licensee; the dates of all sales, purchases, deliveries, 
or shipments; the names and addresses of all persons to or from 
whom such sales, purchases, deliveries, or shipments are made; 
the quantities and kinds of alcoholic beverages sold and 
delivered or shipped and the prices charged therefor for the 
alcoholic beverages, and the taxes applicable thereto to the 
alcoholic beverages, if any. Every manufacturer and 
wholesaler, at the time of delivering alcoholic beverages to any 
person, shall also prepare a duplicate invoice showing the date 
of delivery, the quantity and value of each delivery, and the 
name of the purchaser to whom the delivery is made. 

C. Every retail licensee shall keep complete, accurate, and 
separate records, including invoices, of the purchases and sales 
of alcoholic beverages, food, and other merchandise. The 
records of alcoholic beverages shall be kept separate and apart 
from other records and shall include all purchases thereof of 
the alcoholic beverages, the dates of such purchases, the kinds 
and quantities of alcoholic beverages purchased, the prices 
charged therefor for the alcoholic beverages, and the names 
and addresses of the persons from whom purchased. 

Additionally, each retail licensee shall keep accurate accounts 
of daily sales, showing quantities of alcoholic beverages, food, 
and other merchandising sold and the prices charged therefor 
for such items. 

D. In addition to the requirements of subsections A and C of 
this section, mixed beverage restaurant licensees shall keep 
records of all alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as mixed 
beverages and records of all mixed beverage sales. The 
following actions shall also be taken: 

1. On delivery of a mixed beverage restaurant license by the 
board authority, the licensee shall furnish to the board 
authority or its special agents a complete and accurate 
inventory of all alcoholic beverages currently held in 
inventory on the premises by the licensee; and 

2. Once a year, each licensee shall submit on prescribed 
forms to the board authority an annual review report. The 

report is due within 30 days after the end of the mixed 
beverage license year and shall include: 

a. A complete and accurate inventory of all alcoholic 
beverages purchased for sale as mixed beverages and held 
in inventory at the close of business at the end of the 
annual review period; 

b. An accounting of the annual purchases of food, 
nonalcoholic beverages, and alcoholic beverages, 
including alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as mixed 
beverages, and miscellaneous items; and 

c. An accounting of the monthly and annual sales of all 
merchandise specified in subdivision 2 b of this 
subsection. 

E. The terms "sale" and "sell" shall include exchange, barter 
or traffic, or delivery made otherwise than gratuitously, by any 
means whatsoever, of mixed beverages and other alcoholic 
beverages, and of meals or food. 

F. E. In determining "gross receipts from the sale of food" for 
the purposes of § 4.1-206.3 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 
shall not include any receipts for food for which there was no 
sale, as defined in this section. Food which that is available at 
an unwritten, non-separate charge to patrons or employees 
during Happy Hours, private social gatherings, promotional 
events, or at any other time, shall not be included in the gross 
receipts. Food shall include hors d'oeuvres. 

If, in conducting its review pursuant to § 4.1-114 of the Code 
of Virginia, the board authority determines that the licensee has 
failed or refused to keep complete and accurate records of the 
amounts of mixed beverages or other alcoholic beverages sold 
at regular prices, as well as at all various reduced and increased 
prices offered by the licensee, the board authority may 
calculate the number of mixed drinks and other alcoholic 
beverage drinks sold, as determined from purchase records, 
and presume that such sales were made at the highest posted 
menu prices for such merchandise. 

G. F. Any changes in the officers, directors, or shareholders 
owning 10% or more of the outstanding the licensee's capital 
stock of a corporation if the licensee is a corporation or, if the 
licensee is a limited liability company, any changes in 
member-managers or any members owning 10% or more of the 
membership interest of the limited liability company shall be 
reported to the board authority within 30 days; provided, 
however, that corporations or their wholly owned subsidiaries 
whose corporate common stock is publicly traded and owned 
shall not be required to report changes in shareholders owning 
10% or more of the outstanding capital stock. 

H. G. All banquet and special event licensees in charge of 
public events shall report to the board authority the income and 
expenses associated with the public event on a form prescribed 
by the board authority when the licensee engages another 
person to organize, conduct, or operate the event on behalf of 
the licensee. Reports shall be made within 90 days after the 
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date of each event. "Public events" shall be deemed to include 
any event at which alcoholic beverages are sold to the general 
public and not only to personally invited guests. 

All applicants for banquet or special event licenses shall 
indicate at the time of application whether the event is open to 
the public and whether another person has been or will be 
engaged to organize, conduct, or operate the event on behalf of 
the licensee. If the applicant indicates that the event is open to 
the public and another person has been or will be engaged to 
organize, conduct, or operate the event on behalf of the 
licensee, the applicant shall attach a copy of any contract 
between the applicant and such other person to the license 
application. 

3VAC5-70-95. Proration of license tax for businesses 
destroyed by natural disaster. 

The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
shall make refunds of the state license tax paid pursuant to 
subsection A of § 4.1-231 of the Code of Virginia to licensees 
whose place of business designated in the license is destroyed 
by an act of God, including but not limited to fire, earthquake, 
hurricane, storm, or similar natural disaster or phenomenon, 
upon the following schedule: 

If the destruction takes place within the first three months of 
the license year, 75% of the license tax shall be refunded. If the 
destruction takes place within the second three months of the 
license year, 50% of the license tax shall be refunded. If the 
destruction takes place within the third three months of the 
license year, 25% of the license tax shall be refunded. No 
refund shall be issued if the destruction takes place within the 
last three months of the license year. 

3VAC5-70-100. Gifts of alcoholic beverages generally; 
exceptions; wine and beer tastings; taxes and records. 

A. Gifts of alcoholic beverages by a licensee to any other 
person are prohibited except as otherwise provided in this 
section or as provided in §§ 4.1-119 G, 4.1-201, 4.1-201.1, 4.1-
206.3, 4.1-209, 4.1-215, 4.1-325, and 4.1-325.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Gifts of alcoholic beverages may be made by licensees as 
follows: 

1. Personal friends. Gifts may be made to personal friends as 
a matter of normal social intercourse when in no wise way a 
shift or device to evade the provisions of this section. 

2. Samples. A representative of a wholesaler, winery, 
brewery, or importer may give a retail licensee a sample 
serving or a container not then sold by such licensee of wine 
or beer if (i) the licensee is licensed to sell such product, 
provided that in the case of containers, the container does not 
exceed 52 fluid ounces in size (1.5 liters if in a metric-sized 
container) and (ii) the label bears the word "Sample" in 
lettering of reasonable size. Such samples may not be sold. 
For good cause shown, the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) may authorize a 
larger sample container. Samples must be obtained from 
licensed wholesalers or purchased from retail licensees in 
the Commonwealth. 

3. Gifts by retail licensees. An on-premises retail licensee 
may give a gift of one alcoholic beverage to a patron or one 
bottle of wine to a group of two or more patrons, provided 
that such gifts are made to patrons to whom such alcoholic 
beverages may be sold. No subsequent gift shall be provided 
to the same patrons within 24 hours. 

4. Hospitality rooms; conventions. The following activities 
are permitted: 

a. A brewer or vintner may give samples of his the 
brewer's or vintner's products to visitors to his the brewer's 
or vintner's winery or brewery for consumption on 
premises only in a hospitality room approved by the board 
authority, provided the donees are persons to whom such 
products may be lawfully sold; and 

b. A manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 
may host an event at conventions of national, regional, or 
interstate associations or foundations organized and 
operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, 
literary, civil affairs, educational, or national purposes 
upon the premises occupied by such licensee, or upon 
property of the licensee contiguous to such premises, or in 
a development contiguous to such premises, that is owned 
and operated by the licensee or a wholly owned subsidiary. 

5. Conventions; educational programs, including alcoholic 
beverage tastings; research; licensee associations. 
Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers 
may donate alcoholic beverages to: 

a. A convention, trade association, or similar gathering, 
composed of licensees and their guests, when the alcoholic 
beverages donated are intended for consumption during 
the convention; 

b. Retail licensees attending a bona fide educational 
program relating to the alcoholic beverages being given 
away; 

c. Research departments of educational institutions, or 
alcoholic research centers, for the purpose of scientific 
research on alcoholism; and 

d. Official associations of alcoholic beverage industry 
members when conducting a bona fide educational 
program concerning alcoholic beverages, with no 
promotion of a particular brand, for members and guests 
of particular groups, associations, or organizations. 

6. Conditions. Exceptions authorized by subdivisions 4 b 
and 5 of this subsection are conditioned upon the following: 

a. That prior written notice of the activity be submitted to 
the board authority describing it and giving the date, time, 
and place of such activity; and 
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b. That the activity be conducted in a room or rooms set 
aside for that purpose and be adequately supervised. 

C. Wine and beer wholesalers may participate in a wine or 
beer tasting sponsored by a gourmet shop an off-premises retail 
licensee enumerated in § 4.1-206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia 
for its customers and may provide educational material, oral or 
written, pertaining thereto, as well as participate in the pouring 
of such wine or beer. 

D. Any gift authorized by this section shall be subject to the 
taxes imposed on sales by Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
and complete and accurate records shall be maintained. 

3VAC5-70-110. Release of alcoholic beverages from 
customs and bonded warehouses; receipts; violations; 
limitation upon sales. 

A. Alcoholic beverages held in a United States customs 
bonded warehouse may be released therefrom for delivery to: 

1. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority); 

2. A person holding a license authorizing the sale of the 
alcoholic beverages at wholesale; 

3. Boats actually engaged in foreign trade or trade between 
the Atlantic and Pacific ports of the United States or trade 
between the United States and any of its possessions outside 
of the several states and the District of Columbia; or 

4. Persons for shipment outside the Commonwealth to 
someone legally entitled to receive the same alcoholic 
beverages under the laws of the state of destination. 

Releases to any other person shall be under a permit issued 
by the board authority and in accordance with the instructions 
therein set forth in such permit. 

B. A copy of the permit, if required, shall accompany the 
alcoholic beverages until delivery to the consignee. The 
consignee, or his the consignee's duly authorized 
representative, shall acknowledge receipt of delivery upon a 
copy of the permit, which receipted copy shall be returned to 
the board authority by the permittee within 10 days after 
delivery. 

C. The board authority may refuse to issue additional permits 
to a permittee who has previously violated any provision of this 
section. 

D. A maximum of six imperial gallons of alcoholic beverages 
may be sold, released, and delivered in any 30-day period to 
any member of foreign armed forces personnel. 

 

 

 

3VAC5-70-120. Approval of warehouses for storage of 
alcoholic beverages not under customs or internal revenue 
bond; segregation of merchandise; release from storage; 
records; exception. 

A. Upon the application of a person qualified under the 
provisions of § 4.1-130 of the Code of Virginia, the board 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) 
may issue a certificate of approval permit for the operation of 
a warehouse for the storage of lawfully acquired alcoholic 
beverages not under customs bond or internal revenue bond, if 
satisfied that the warehouse is physically secure. 

B. The alcoholic beverages of each owner shall be kept 
separate and apart from merchandise of any other person. 

C. Alcoholic beverages shall be released for delivery to 
persons lawfully entitled to receive the same alcoholic 
beverages only upon permit issued authorization by the board, 
authority and in accordance with the instructions therein set 
forth therein. The owner of the alcoholic beverages, or the 
owner or operator of the approved permitted warehouse as 
agent of such owner, may apply for release permits, for which 
a charge may be made by the board enter into a memorandum 
of understanding with the authority for the purpose of allowing 
them to submit out-of-bond transfer reports via email. 

D. Complete and accurate records shall be kept at the 
warehouse for a period of two years, which records shall be 
available during reasonable hours for inspection by a member 
of the board authority or its special agents. Such records shall 
include the following information as to both receipts and 
withdrawals: 

1. Name and address of owner or consignee; 

2. Date of receipt or withdrawal, as the case may be; and 

3. Type and quantity of alcoholic beverage. 

E. Alcoholic beverages stored by licensees pursuant to 
3VAC5-50-90 are excepted from the operation of this section. 

3VAC5-70-130. Special mixed beverage licenses; locations; 
special privileges; taxes on licenses. 

A. Special mixed beverage licenses may be granted to persons 
by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority at 
places primarily engaged in the sale of meals where the place 
to be occupied (i) is owned by the government of the United 
States, or any agency thereof, (ii) is located on land used as a 
port of entry or egress to and from the United States, and (iii) 
otherwise complies with the requirements of § 7.1-21.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, which. Such licenses shall convey all of the 
privileges and be subject to all of the requirements and 
regulations pertaining to mixed beverage restaurant licensees, 
except as otherwise altered or modified herein in this chapter. 

B. "Meals" need not be "full meals," but shall at least 
constitute "light lunches," and the gross receipts from the sale 
of food and nonalcoholic beverages at such establishment shall 
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be not less than 45% of the gross receipts from the sale of 
mixed beverages and food means the same as defined in 
3VAC5-50-110 A 5. 

C. The annual tax on a special mixed beverage license shall 
be $500 and shall not be prorated; provided, however, that if 
application is made for a license of shorter duration, the tax 
thereon on a special mixed beverage license shall be $25 per 
day. 

3VAC5-70-140. Definitions and requirements for wine 
licenses; wine; wine coolers. (Repealed.) 

Wherever the term "wine" appears in this chapter, it shall 
include "wine coolers" as defined in § 4.1-100 of the Code of 
Virginia. Wine coolers shall be treated as wine for the purposes 
of the regulations, except for purposes of taxation and 
shipments from points outside the Commonwealth to 
installations of the United States armed forces located within 
the Commonwealth for resale on such installations, in 
accordance with §§ 4.1-112 and 4.1-236 of the Code of 
Virginia and 3VAC5-60-70.  

Any person licensed to manufacture, bottle or sell wine shall 
not be required to pay any additional state tax for any license 
to manufacture, bottle or sell, as the case may be, any wine 
cooler. Such person shall have the privilege to manufacture, 
bottle or sell any wine cooler under the provisions of Title 4.1 
of the Code of Virginia as long as his license remains in full 
force and effect.  

3VAC5-70-150. Wholesale alcoholic beverage sales; winery 
and brewery discounts, price-fixing; price increases; price 
discrimination; inducements. 

A. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 of the Code of Virginia 
or brewery as defined in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall 
require a wholesale licensee to discount the price at which the 
wholesaler shall sell any alcoholic beverage to persons holding 
licenses authorizing sale of such merchandise at retail. No 
winery, brewery, bottler, or wine or beer importer shall in any 
other way fix or maintain the price at which a wholesaler shall 
sell any alcoholic beverage. 

B. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 of the Code of Virginia 
or brewery as defined in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall 
increase the price charged to any person holding a wholesale 
license for alcoholic beverages, except by written notice to the 
wholesaler signed by an authorized officer or agent of the 
winery, brewery, bottler, or importer which that shall contain 
the amount and effective date of the increase. 

No increase shall take effect prior to 30 calendar days 
following the date on which the notice is postmarked; 
delivered, provided that the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Authority (authority) may authorize such price 
increases to take effect with less than the aforesaid 30 calendar 
days' calendar-day notice if a winery, brewery, bottler, or 

importer so requests and demonstrates good cause therefor for 
such an expedited increase. 

The provisions of this subsection shall not apply in any case 
where the importer required to provide notice of a price 
increase and the wholesaler to whom notice is to be provided 
are the same person. 

C. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 of the Code of Virginia 
or brewery as defined in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall 
discriminate in price of alcoholic beverages between different 
wholesale purchasers, except where the difference in price 
charged by such winery or brewery is due to a bona fide 
difference in the cost of sale or delivery, or where a lower price 
was charged in good faith to meet an equally low price charged 
by a competing winery or brewery on a brand and package of 
like grade and quality. Where such difference in price charged 
to any such wholesaler does occur, the board authority may ask 
and the winery or brewery shall furnish written substantiation 
for the price difference. 

D. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 
alcoholic beverages at wholesale shall knowingly induce or 
receive a discrimination in price prohibited by subsection C of 
this section. 

3VAC5-70-160. Farm wineries; percentage of Virginia 
products; other agricultural products; remote outlets. 

A. No more than 25% of the fruits, fruit juices, or other 
agricultural products used by the farm winery licensee shall be 
grown or produced outside the Commonwealth, except upon 
permission of the board authority as provided in § 4.1-219 of 
the Code of Virginia. This 25% limitation applies to the total 
production of the farm winery, not individual brands or labels. 
The term "other agricultural products," as used in this 
subsection, includes wine. 

B. The term "other agricultural products," as used in 
subsection A of this section, includes wine. 

C. A farm winery license limits retail sales to the premises of 
the winery and to five additional retail establishments that need 
not be located on the premises. These B. The five additional 
retail outlets permitted for farm winery licenses may be moved 
throughout the state as long as advance board authority 
approval is obtained for the location, equipment, and facilities 
of each remote outlet. 

3VAC5-70-170. Credit and debit cards. 

Government stores may accept credit or debit cards from 
consumers and licensees for the purchase of alcoholic 
beverages subject to the policies of the Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (authority). The board authority 
may establish policies to set purchase requirements, determine 
the credit or debit cards that will be accepted, provide for the 
collection of related fees, penalties, or service charges where 
appropriate, establish credit procedures for returned 
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merchandise, and make any other decisions to carry out the 
purpose of this chapter. 

3VAC5-70-180. Regulation of the sale of alcoholic 
beverages in kegs and other containers; permit and 
registration; other requirements. 

A. The following definitions shall apply for purposes of this 
section: 

1. "Keg." Any container capable of holding four gallons or 
more of beer or wine and which that is designed to dispense 
beer or wine directly from the container for purposes of 
consumption; and 

2. "Registration seal." Any document, stamp, declaration, 
seal, decal, sticker, or device approved by the board which 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) 
that is designed to be affixed to kegs and which that displays 
a registration number and such other information as may be 
prescribed by the board authority. 

B. 1. No person licensed to sell wine or beer at retail for off-
premises consumption, or any officer, agent, or employee 
thereof, shall sell any such alcoholic beverage in a keg without 
having (i) registered the sale on a form prescribed by the board 
authority and (ii) affixed a registration seal on the keg at the 
time of sale;, provided, that if the purchaser takes possession 
of the keg at the premises of the wholesale licensee pursuant to 
subsection G, the wholesale licensee shall affix the registration 
seal. 

2. Prior to the sale of alcoholic beverages in kegs, the keg 
registration declaration and receipt form provided by the 
board authority shall be properly completed and shall 
contain: 

a. The name and address of the purchaser verified by valid 
identification as defined in 3VAC5-50-20 B; 

b. The type and number of the identification presented by 
the purchaser; 

c. A statement, signed by the purchaser, that the purchaser 
is 21 years of age or older, does not intend to allow persons 
under younger than 21 years of age to consume the 
alcoholic beverages purchased, and that the purchaser will 
not remove or obliterate the key registration tag affixed to 
the keg or allow its removal or obliteration; and 

d. The particular address or location where the keg will be 
consumed, and the date or dates on which it will be 
consumed. 

3. Where the purchaser obtains more than one keg for 
consumption at the same location and on the same date, only 
one keg registration declaration and receipt form must 
contain all required information. All other keg registration 
declaration and receipt forms for that particular transaction 
shall contain the registration number from the fully 
completed form as a reference and be signed by the 
purchaser. Such The keg registration declaration and receipt 

forms which that contain the reference number of a fully 
completed form and have been signed by the purchaser 
constitute a valid and properly completed keg registration 
and declaration receipt. 

4. The keg registration seal affixed to the keg may serve as 
the purchaser's receipt. Upon receipt of a properly registered 
keg from a consumer, the retail licensee shall remove and 
obliterate the keg registration seal from the keg and note 
such action on the keg registration declaration and receipt 
form to be retained by the retail licensee on the licensed 
premises. Kegs made of disposable packaging do not have 
to be returned to the retail licensee. The retailer shall indicate 
on the keg declaration and receipt form that the keg was not 
returnable due to its disposable packaging. 

C. For the purpose of tracing the kegs and purchaser 
responsibility, it shall be the responsibility of the seller to affix 
the properly completed and signed keg registration seal to all 
containers of four gallons or more of alcoholic beverages prior 
to the container leaving control of the seller. 

D. Except in accordance with this section, no person shall 
remove, alter, deface, or obliterate the registration seal affixed 
to a keg pursuant to this section. Throwing away empty kegs 
made of disposable packaging shall not constitute obliteration 
of the keg registration seal. If any nonlicensee is in possession 
of a keg containing alcoholic beverages, and which keg that 
does not bear the registration seal, or upon which keg the 
registration seal has been altered, defaced, or obliterated, the 
container and its contents shall be deemed to be contraband and 
subject to seizure and forfeiture. 

E. Licensees shall maintain a complete and accurate record of 
all registration forms and other documentation of the sale of 
kegs at the place of business designated in his the license for a 
period of one year. Such records shall include the registration 
seal for nondisposable kegs, which the retail licensee shall 
remove from the keg upon its return by the purchaser. 
Moreover, such records regarding keg sales shall during 
reasonable hours be open to inspection by the board authority 
or its special agents or other law-enforcement officers. 

F. Before a purchaser may take possession of a keg at the 
premises of the wholesale licensee after purchasing such keg 
from a retail licensee, the purchaser shall be required to (i) 
complete the registration of the transaction at the premises of 
the retail licensee and (ii) deliver the registration seal to the 
wholesale licensee who shall affix it to the keg; however, no 
wholesale licensee may deliver possession of any such keg to 
the purchaser until the wholesale licensee has collected 
payment from the retail licensee pursuant to 3VAC5-30-30. 

G. Except as authorized by the board authority, no person 
shall transfer possession of or give the registered keg or 
container to another person. This prohibition shall not apply, 
however, to the return of the registered container to the seller. 
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3VAC5-70-190. Waiver of banquet license tax; 
qualifications; restrictions and conditions; exceptions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia, the board 
The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) may waive the banquet license tax for a duly 
organized not-for-profit corporation or association holding a 
nonprofit event. A "nonprofit event" means income from the 
event shall not exceed expenses for the event. Fixed costs, 
including but not limited to staff salaries, rent, utilities, and 
depreciation, shall not be included as expenses. 

B. 1. The applicant shall sign an affidavit certifying the not-
for-profit status of the corporation or association and that the 
event being held is nonprofit. 

2. The applicant may serve alcoholic beverages in any 
combination, the in an amount to be no more than that which 
equals no more than the total alcohol content by volume in 
two kegs of beer (31 gallons). 

3. The granting of a waiver is limited to two events per fiscal 
year (July 1 - through June 30) for any qualifying 
corporation or association. 

C. The board authority may issue a permit authorizing a 
variance from subdivision B 2 of this section for good cause 
shown. 

3VAC5-70-200. Grain alcohol; permits; qualifications; 
records; refusal, suspension, or revocation. 

A. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) may issue a yearly permit authorizing the permittee 
to purchase grain alcohol with a proof greater than 151 at 
government stores for any of the following purposes: 

1. Industrial use; 2. Commercial use; 3. Culinary use, not to 
include the manufacturing of products intended for human 
consumption; or 

4. 2. Medical use by a federal or state board-licensed medical 
professional or hospital. 

B. The application for such permits shall be on forms 
provided by the board authority. 

C. Permits may be issued to legitimate businesses for any one 
or more of the purposes stated in subsection A of this section 
upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of the conduct of the 
business activity involved. For good cause shown, the board 
authority may issue a permit to an individual for any of the uses 
stated in subsection A of this section. 

D. A person obtaining a permit shall maintain complete and 
accurate records of all purchases for a period of two years. The 
board authority and its special agents shall have free access 
during reasonable hours to all records required to be kept 
pursuant to this section. 

E. The board authority may refuse to issue, suspend, or revoke 
a permit if the board authority has reasonable cause to believe 
that (i) the permittee would use, has used, or allowed to be used 
grain alcohol for any unlawful purpose or, (ii) any cause exists 
under § 4.1-222 of the Code of Virginia for which the board 
authority may refuse to grant the applicant any license, or (iii) 
the permittee has done any act for which the board authority 
might suspend or revoke a license under § 4.1-225 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

3VAC5-70-210. Schedule of penalties for first-offense 
violations. 

A. Any licensee charged with any violation of board Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) regulations 
or statutes listed in this subsection, if the licensee has no other 
pending charges and has not had any substantiated violations 
of regulation or statute within the three years immediately 
preceding the date of the violation, may accept an offer by the 
authority extended in writing to enter a written waiver of 
hearing and (i) accept the period of license suspension set forth 
in this subsection for the violation, or (ii) pay the civil charge 
set forth in this subsection for the violation in lieu of 
suspension. In the case of a violation involving the sale of beer, 
wine, or mixed beverages to a person at least 18 years of age 
but younger than 21 years of age, or to an intoxicated person, 
or allowing consumption of such beverages by such person, 
any retail licensee that can demonstrate that it provided alcohol 
seller or server training certified in advance by the board 
authority to the employee responsible for such violation within 
the 12 months immediately preceding the alleged violation 
may accept the lesser period of license suspension or pay the 
lesser civil charge listed for the violation in lieu of suspension. 
Any notice of hearing served on a licensee for a violation 
covered by this section shall contain a notice of the licensee's 
options under this section. Any licensee who fails to notify the 
board of its intent to exercise one of the options provided for 
under this section within 20 days after the date of mailing of 
the notice of hearing shall be deemed to have waived the right 
to exercise such options, and the case shall proceed to hearing. 
For good cause shown, the board may, in its discretion, allow 
a licensee to exercise the options provided for under this 
section beyond the 20-day period. 
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VIOLATION SUSPENSION 
CIVIL 

CHARGE 

SUSPENSION WITH 
CERTIFIED 
TRAINING 

CIVIL CHARGE 
WITH CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

Sale of beer, wine, or mixed beverages to a 
person at least 18 years of age but younger 
than 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 $2,000 

Allowing consumption of beer, wine, or 
mixed beverages by a person at least 18 
years of age but younger than 21 years of 
age. 

25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 $2,000 

Aiding and abetting the purchase of 
alcoholic beverages by a person at least 18 
years of age but younger than 21 years of 
age. 

10 15 days $1,250 
$1,500 

  

Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages 
on the premises, upon which appropriate 
taxes have been paid. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Allow an intoxicated person to loiter on the 
premises. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Sale to an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 

Allow consumption by an intoxicated 
person. 

25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 

After hours sales or consumption of 
alcoholic beverages. 

10 days $1,250 
$1,500 

  

No designated manager on premises. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Invalid check to wholesaler or board 
authority. 

7 10 days $500 $750 
  

Inadequate illumination. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

ABC license not posted. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 
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Not timely submitting report required by 
statute or regulation. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Designated manager not posted. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Person younger than 18 years of age 
serving alcoholic beverages; younger than 
21 years of age acting as bartender. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized 
place or manner. 

10 days $1,250 
$1,500 

  

Consumption of alcoholic beverages in 
unauthorized area. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Removal of alcoholic beverages from 
authorized area. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Failure to obliterate mixed beverage 
stamps. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Employee on duty consuming alcoholic 
beverages. 

7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Conducting illegal happy hour. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Illegally advertising happy hour. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Unauthorized advertising. 7 10 days $750 
$1,000 

  

Failure to remit state beer or wine tax (if 
deficiency has been corrected). 

10 days $1,250 
$1,500 

  

Wholesaler sale of beer or wine in 
unauthorized manner. 

10 days $1,250 
$1,500 

  

Wholesaler sale of beer or wine to 
unauthorized person. 

10 days $1,250 
$1,500 
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B. For purposes of this section, the Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority authority will certify alcohol 
seller or server training courses that provide instruction on all 
the topics listed on the Seller/Server Seller or Server Training 
Evaluation form. The following steps should be completed to 
submit a training program for approval: 

1. Complete the Alcohol Seller/Server Seller or Server 
Training Data Sheet and review the Seller/Server Seller or 
Server Training Evaluation form to make sure the program 
will meet the listed criteria; and 

2. Submit the Alcohol Seller/Server Seller or Server 
Training Data Sheet and a copy of the proposed training 
program materials for review. Materials submitted should 
include copies of any lesson plans and instructional 
materials used in the training program. 

Requests for certification of training courses should be sent 
to:  

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
 

Education Section Community Health and Engagement 
 

P.O. Box 27491 3250 
 

Richmond, VA 23261 Mechanicsville, VA 23116 
 

Email: education@abc.virginia.gov 
education@virginiaabc.com 

Persons in charge of any certified alcohol server training 
course shall maintain complete records of all training classes 
conducted, including the date and location of each class and 
the identity of all those successfully completing the course. 

C. For a licensee that operates more than one retail 
establishment, each such establishment shall be considered a 
separate licensee for the purpose of this section. 

3VAC5-70-220. Wine or beer shipper's licenses, Internet 
wine retailer licenses, and Internet beer retailer licenses; 
application process; common carriers; records. 

A. Any person or entity qualified for a wine and beer shipper's 
license pursuant to § 4.1-209.1 of the Code of Virginia, or an 
Internet wine and beer retailer license pursuant to subdivision 
F 2 of - § 4.1-206.3 F 2 of the Code of Virginia, must apply for 
such license by submitting form 805-52, Application for the 
Retail License Application form. In addition to the application, 
each applicant shall submit as attachments a list of all brands 
of wine or beer sought to be shipped by the applicant, along 
with the board-assigned authority-assigned code numbers for 
each brand or a copy of the label approval by the appropriate 
federal agency for any brand not previously approved for sale 
in Virginia pursuant to 3VAC5-40-20 that will be sold only 
through direct shipment to consumers. 

If the applicant is not also the brand owner of the brands listed 
in the application, the applicant shall obtain and submit with 

the application a dated letter identifying each brand, from the 
brand owner or any wholesale distributor authorized to 
distribute the brand, addressed to the Supervisor, Tax 
Management Section, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority (authority), indicating the brand owner's or 
wholesale distributor's consent to the applicant's shipping the 
brand to Virginia consumers. 

The applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current license 
as a winery, farm winery, brewery, or alcoholic beverage 
retailer issued by the appropriate authority for the location 
from which shipments will be made and (ii) evidence of the 
applicant's registration with the Virginia Department of 
Taxation for the collection of Virginia retail sales tax. 

B. Any brewery, winery, or farm winery that applies for a 
shipper's license or consents to the application by any other 
person, other than a retail off-premises licensee, for a license 
to ship such brewery's, winery's, or farm winery's brands of 
wine or beer shall notify all wholesale licensees that have been 
authorized to distribute such brands in Virginia that an 
application for a shipper's license has been filed. Such 
notification shall be by a dated letter to each such wholesale 
licensee, setting forth the brands that wholesaler has been 
authorized to distribute in Virginia for which a shipper's 
license has been applied. A copy of each such letter shall be 
forwarded to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 
authority by the brewery, winery, or farm winery. 

C. Any holder of a wine and beer shipper's license or Internet 
wine and beer retailer's license may add or delete brands to be 
shipped by letter to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 
authority designating the brands to be added or deleted. Any 
letter adding brands shall be accompanied by any appropriate 
brand-owner consents or notices to wholesalers as required 
with an original application. 

D. Any brand owner that consents to a holder of a wine and 
beer shipper's license or Internet wine and beer retailer's 
license shipping its brands to Virginia consumers may 
withdraw such consent by a dated letter to the affected wine 
and beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine and beer retailer's 
licensee. Copies of all such withdrawals shall be forwarded by 
the brand owner, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to 
the Supervisor, Tax Management Section authority. 
Withdrawals shall become effective upon receipt of the copy 
by the Tax Management Section authority, as evidenced by the 
postmark on the return receipt. 

E. Wine and beer shipper's licensees and Internet wine and 
beer retailer's licensees shall maintain for two years complete 
and accurate records of all shipments made under the privileges 
of such licenses, including for each shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; 
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4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 
available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board authority or its special agents upon request. 

F. On or before the 15th day of each month, each wine and 
beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine and beer retailer's 
licensee shall file with the Supervisor, Tax Management 
Section, authority either in paper form or electronically as 
directed by the department authority, a report of activity for the 
previous calendar month. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were made during the month; and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 
each shipment: 

a. Number of containers shipped; 

b. Volume of each container shipped; 

c. Brand of each container shipped; 

d. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

e. Price charged. 

Unless otherwise paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 
wine tax shall accompany each report. 

G. All shipments by holders of wine and beer shipper's 
licenses or Internet wine and beer retailer's licenses shall be by 
approved common carrier only. Common carriers possessing 
all necessary licenses or permits to operate as common carriers 
in Virginia may apply for approval a permit to provide 
common carriage of wine or beer, or both, shipped by holders 
of wine and beer shipper's licenses or Internet wine and beer 
retailer's licenses, by dated letter to the Supervisor, Tax 
Management Section, requesting such approval and agreeing 
to perform deliveries of beer or wine shipped, maintain 
records, and submit reports in accordance with the 
requirements of this section application. The board authority 
may refuse, suspend, or revoke approval if it shall have 
reasonable cause to believe that a carrier does not possess all 
necessary licenses or permits, that a carrier has failed to 
comply with the regulations of the board authority, or that a 
cause exists with respect to the carrier that would authorize the 
board authority to refuse, suspend, or revoke a license pursuant 
to Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Before refusing, 
suspending, or revoking such approval, the board authority 
shall follow the same administrative procedures accorded an 
applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and regulations of the board authority. 

H. When attempting to deliver wine or beer shipped by a wine 
and beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine and beer retailer's 
licensee, an approved common carrier shall require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that the 
recipient is at least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 
acknowledgment of receipt that allows the maintenance of 
the records required by this section. 

The approved common carrier shall refuse delivery when the 
proposed recipient appears to be younger than 21 years of age 
and refuses to present valid identification. All licensees 
shipping wine or beer pursuant to this section shall affix a 
conspicuous notice in 16-point type or larger to the outside of 
each package of wine or beer shipped within or into the 
Commonwealth, in a conspicuous location stating: 
"CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE 
OF PERSON AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED 
FOR DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the wine and 
beer shipper's or Internet wine and beer retailer's license 
number of the shipping licensee. No approved common carrier 
shall accept for shipment any wine or beer to be shipped to 
anyone other than a licensee of the board authority unless the 
package bears the information required by this subsection. 

I. Approved common carriers shall maintain for two years 
complete and accurate records of all shipments of wine or beer 
received from and delivered for wine and beer shipper's 
licensees or Internet wine and beer retailer's licensees 
including for each shipment: 

1. Date of shipment and delivery; 

2. Number of items shipped and delivered; 

3. Weight of items shipped and delivered; 

4. Acknowledgment signed by recipient; and 

5. Names and addresses of shippers and recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 
available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board authority or its special agents upon request. 

J. On or before the 15th day of each January, April, July, and 
October month, each approved common carrier shall file with 
the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, authority a report of 
activity for the previous calendar quarter month. Such report 
shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were delivered during the quarter; 
and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 
each shipment: 

a. Dates of each delivery; and 

b. Names and address of shippers and recipients for each 
delivery; and 

c. Weight of items shipped and delivered. 

3VAC5-70-225. Delivery permits; application process; 
records and reports; delivery requirements. 

A. Any out of state out-of-state person or entity qualified for 
a delivery permit pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of 
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Virginia must apply for such permit by submitting Form 805-
52, the Retail License Application form. The applicant shall 
attach (i) a photocopy of its current license as an alcoholic 
beverage retailer that is authorized to sell wine or beer at retail 
for off-premises consumption, issued by the appropriate 
authority for the location from which deliveries will be made 
and (ii) evidence of the applicant's registration with the 
Virginia Department of Taxation for the collection of Virginia 
retail sales tax. 

B. Delivery permittees and licensees with delivery privileges 
pursuant to §§ 4.1-212.1 and 4.1-212.2 of the Code of Virginia 
shall maintain for two years complete and accurate records of 
all deliveries made under the privileges of such permits, 
including for each delivery: 

1. Number of containers delivered; 

2. Volume of each container delivered; 

3. Brand of each container delivered; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; 

5. Signature of recipient; and 

6. Price charged for the wine or beer delivered. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 
available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority) or its special agents upon request. 

C. On or before the 15th day of each month, each delivery 
permittee and licensees with delivery privileges pursuant to 
§ 4.1-212.1 of the Code of Virginia shall file with the 
Supervisor, Tax Management Section, authority a report of 
activity for the previous calendar month, if any deliveries were 
made during the month for which the licensee or permittee is 
required to collect and remit excise taxes pursuant to § 4.1-
212.1 H of the Code of Virginia. Such report shall include the 
following information for each delivery: 

1. Number of containers delivered; 

2. Volume of each container delivered; 

3. Brand of each container delivered; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged for the wine or beer delivered. 

Unless previously paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 
wine tax imposed by § 4.1-234 or 4.1-236 of the Code of 
Virginia shall accompany each report. If no wine or beer was 
sold and delivered in any month, the permittee shall not be 
required to submit a report for that month; however, every 
permittee must submit a report no less frequently than once 
every 12 months even if no sales or deliveries have been made 
in the preceding 12 months. 

D. All deliveries by holders of delivery permits and licensees 
with delivery privileges pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be performed by the owner or any agent, officer, 
director, shareholder, or employee of the permittee or licensee, 
or third-party delivery licensee. 

E. No more than four cases of wine nor more than four cases 
of beer may be delivered at one time to any person, except that 
a permittee or licensee may deliver more than four cases of 
wine or more than four cases of beer if he the permittee or 
licensee notifies the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 
authority in writing at least one business day in advance of such 
delivery. Any notice given pursuant to this section shall 
include the number of containers to be delivered, the volume 
of each container to be delivered, the brand of each container 
to be delivered, and the name and address of the intended 
recipient. 

F. When attempting to deliver wine or beer alcoholic 
beverages pursuant to a delivery permit or license privilege 
pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of Virginia, an owner, 
agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee of the 
permittee or licensee, or third-party delivery licensee shall 
require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that he the 
recipient is at least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 
acknowledgment of receipt that allows the maintenance of 
the records required by this section; however, a signature 
shall not be required so long as the licensee verifies at the 
time of delivery that the recipient is 21 years of age or older; 
ensures that the recipient's bona fide identification, as 
described in 3VAC5-50-20 B, bears a photograph that 
reasonably appears to match the appearance of the recipient; 
and records the recipient's name and date of birth and the 
address to which the alcoholic beverages were delivered. 

The owner, agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee 
of the permittee or licensee, or third-party delivery licensee 
shall refuse delivery when the proposed recipient appears to be 
under the age of younger than 21 years of age and refuses to 
present valid identifications identification. All retail permittees 
or licensees delivering wine or beer alcoholic beverages 
pursuant to this section shall affix a conspicuous notice in 16-
point type or larger to the outside of each package of wine or 
beer alcoholic beverages delivered in the Commonwealth, in a 
conspicuous location, stating: "CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC 
BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE OF RECEIPT BY PERSON 
AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR 
DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the delivery 
permit number of the delivering permittee or license number of 
the licensee and shall be affixed to the package even if the 
product is delivered in the manufacturer's original sealed 
container. Third-party delivery licensees shall not deliver any 
alcoholic beverages that do not bear the required label. 
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3VAC5-70-230. Sale of designer or vintage spirit bottles. 

A. The following definitions shall apply to designer and 
vintage bottles of spirits: 

1. Designer: A bottle of spirits manufactured specifically as 
a departure from the manufacturer's standard trademark, 
design, or packaging; originally sold in limited quantities; 
and with a retail value in excess of $500. Each bottle shall 
be accompanied by the manufacturer's certificate of designer 
status.  

2. Vintage: A bottle of spirits wherein the product therein 
has been bottled for at least 20 years or has not been sold by 
the brand owner for a minimum of 10 years. 

3. In either instance the bottle must be (i) the original 
manufacturer's unopened bottle; (ii) neither owned by a 
distillery nor sold on behalf of a distillery, manufacturer, or 
wholesaler; and (iii) not otherwise available for purchase 
from the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
(authority). 

B. Collectors of designer or vintage bottles containing 
distilled spirits may sell them at auction under the following 
conditions: 

1. The seller shall notify the secretary to the board of the 
date, time, and place of the auction sale. 

2. Any bottle sold must be unopened and the manufacturer's 
seals, marks, or stamps affixed to the bottles must be intact. 

3. The auction must be conducted in accordance with the 
provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

4. Any purchaser at such auction must be a minimum of 21 
years of age. 

5. For two years from the date of sale, the auctioneer must 
keep records, available to the board authority upon request, 
of the name and address of each purchaser and a description 
of the alcoholic beverages purchased. 

3VAC5-70-240. Marketing portal and fulfillment 
warehouse approval process. 

A. Any holder of a wine and beer shipper's license wishing to 
use the services of a marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse, 
as defined in § 4.1-209.1 of the Code of Virginia, must use an 
approved marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse. 
Marketing portals or fulfillment warehouses licensed to 
perform such services by the state in which they are located 
may apply for approval to provide such services to holders of 
Virginia wine or beer shipper's licenses by letter to the 
Supervisor, Tax Management Section, Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority, requesting such approval 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority). 
Each applicant shall submit as attachments copies of all 
licenses issued by the state in which its place of business is 

located that authorize the provision of the services to be 
provided. A marketing portal shall submit as attachments 
copies of documents showing that it is properly organized as 
an agricultural cooperative in the state where it is located. The 
board authority may refuse, suspend, or revoke approval if it 
shall have has reasonable cause to believe that a marketing 
portal or fulfillment warehouse is not licensed to provide such 
services by its home state, that it has failed to comply with the 
regulations of the board authority, or that a cause exists with 
respect to the marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse that 
would authorize the board authority to refuse, suspend, or 
revoke a license pursuant to the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia). 
Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such approval, the 
board authority shall follow the same administrative 
procedures accorded an applicant or licensee under § 4.1-100 
et seq. of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia the Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Act and regulations of the board authority. 

B. Any approved marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse 
shall, prior to performing services for a wine and beer shipper's 
licensee, enter into a written contract. The contract must 
designate the marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse as the 
agent of the shipper for the purposes of complying with the 
provisions of this regulation and §§ 4.1-206.3 and 4.1-209.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. A copy of each such contract shall be 
submitted by the marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse to 
the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Authority, authority prior to the commencement of 
services. 

C. Approved fulfillment warehouses shall maintain for two 
years complete and accurate records of all shipments made on 
behalf of Virginia wine and beer shippers, including for each 
shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; and 

4. Names and addresses of recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 
available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board authority or its special agents upon request. 

3VAC5-70-250. Waiver of penalty for certain first-time 
violations. 

A. In accordance with subdivision E 4 of § 4.1-227 E 5 of the 
Code of Virginia, whenever the board Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority (authority) finds that a charge 
against a licensee for a violation listed in this subsection is 
substantiated, the licensee has had no prior violations within 
five years immediately preceding the date of the subject 
violation, and the subject violation was not willful and 
knowing, the board shall authority may enter an order 
substantiating the violation without imposing a penalty. The 
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provisions of this subsection shall apply to the following 
violations: 

1. Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages on the 
premises, upon which appropriate taxes have been paid; 

2. Allowing an intoxicated person to loiter on the premises; 

3. After hours sales or consumption of alcoholic beverages; 

4. 2. No designated manager on premises; 

5. 3. Invalid check to wholesaler or board authority; 

6. 4. Inadequate illumination; 

7. 5. Not timely submitting a report required by statute or 
regulation; 

8. 6. Designated manager not posted; 

9. 7. Person less younger than 18 years of age serving 
alcoholic beverages; less younger than 21 years of age acting 
as bartender; 

10. 8. Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized place or 
manner; 

11. 9. Consumption of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized 
area; 

12. 10. Removal of alcoholic beverages from authorized 
area; 

13. 11. Failure to obliterate mixed beverage stamps; 

14. 12. Employee on duty consuming alcoholic beverages; 

15. 13. Conducting illegal happy hour; 

16. 14. Illegally advertising happy hour; 

17. 15. Unauthorized advertising; 

18. 16. Failure to remit state beer/wine beer or wine tax (if 
deficiency has been corrected); and 

19. 17. Wholesaler sale of wine/beer beer or wine in 
unauthorized manner; and 

20. Wholesaler sale of wine/beer to unauthorized person. 

B. Whenever any licensee who has not had any substantiated 
violations of regulation or statute within the previous five years 
is charged with a violation, the board authority, if the facts 
found by the board authority would justify a finding that the 
charge is substantiated but is not a willful and knowing 
violation, with the consent of the licensee, may defer further 
proceedings and place the licensee on probation upon terms 
and conditions. 

As a term or condition, the board authority shall require the 
licensee to participate in or provide employees such board-
approved seller/server authority-approved seller or server or 
manager training as, in the opinion of the board authority, may 

be best suited to the needs of the licensee based upon 
consideration of the nature of the violation. 

As a condition of probation, the board authority shall require 
the licensee to (i) successfully complete the required training 
program and (ii) comply with all alcoholic beverage laws and 
regulations during the period of probation. 

Upon violation of a term or condition, the board authority 
may enter an adjudication that the charge is substantiated and 
proceed as otherwise provided. Upon fulfillment of the terms 
and conditions, the board authority shall dismiss the 
proceedings against the licensee. Dismissal under this section 
shall be without adjudication of the charge and is a 
substantiated violation only for the purposes of applying this 
section in subsequent proceedings. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 
the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 
The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 
be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (3VAC5-70) 

Retail License Application (rev. 7/2024) 

Order and Permit for Transportation of Alcohol (rev. 
11/2015) 

Order and Permit for Transportation of Alcoholic Beverages 
(rev. 11/2015) 

Instructions for Completion of the Mixed Beverage Annual 
Report and Inventory Report (rev. 6/2018) 

Application for Grain Alcohol Permit, #805-75 (filed 8/2021) 

Special Event License Application Addendum - Notice to 
Special Event Licenses Applicants, Form SE-1 (rev. 3/2019) 

Statement of Income and Expenses for Special Event 
Licenses (with instructions), Form SE-2 (rev. 3/2019) 

Alcohol Seller/Server Seller or Server Training Data Form 
and Evaluation Form (eff. 7/2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7514; Filed July 1, 2024, 4:20 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Home Inspector 
Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-10 through 
18VAC15-40-33, 18VAC15-40-35, 18VAC15-40-48, 
18VAC15-40-50, 18VAC15-40-60, 18VAC15-40-72, 
18VAC15-40-75 through 18VAC15-40-105, 18VAC15-40-
120 through 18VAC15-40-160, 18VAC15-40-180, 
18VAC15-40-210 through 18VAC15-40-270; adding 
18VAC15-40-73; repealing 18VAC15-40-108). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 15, 2024 - 2 p.m. - Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Second 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 27, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Parris, Regulatory Operations 
Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-9183, FAX (866) 350-5354, or 
email cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia allows the 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors to 
promulgate regulations for the licensing of home inspectors 
regarding (i) the professional qualifications of home inspector 
applicants, (ii) the requirements necessary for passing home 
inspector examinations, (iii) the proper conduct of its 
examinations, (iv) the proper conduct of the home inspectors 
licensed by the board, and (v) the proper discharge of the 
board's duties. 

Purpose: The General Assembly has charged the board with 
the responsibility for regulating those who engage in the 
practice of home inspection by requiring that such individuals 
obtain a license in order to perform home inspections on 
residential buildings for compensation. Home inspections are 
a common component of residential real estate transactions. 
The parties to such transactions rely on the expertise of a home 
inspector to provide an accurate evaluation of the condition of 
a home that is the subject of the transaction. The evaluation 
provided by a home inspector can have a significant effect on 
the transaction, particularly if there are substantial defects in 
the condition of the property. Home inspections performed by 
individuals who lack sufficient training and expertise expose 
the public to the risk of harm, which can include financial harm 
to purchasers who may have to assume costs after acquiring 
the property to remedy defects that were not properly identified 
during the home inspection. Similarly, home inspections and 

home inspection reports that fail to meet certain minimum 
standards can deprive the parties to a residential real estate 
transaction of an accurate evaluation of the condition of a home 
that is the subject of the transaction. In addition, home 
inspectors who engage in unscrupulous practices may expose 
the public to the risk of harm. The board protects the public 
welfare, in part, by establishing through regulation the 
minimum qualifications for entry into the profession, as well 
as the minimum requirements for the provision of home 
inspection services. 

Substance: The amendments (i) amend definitions, including 
adding and removing terms; (ii) clarify that an inspection on a 
new residential structure includes any course of construction 
inspection; (iii) clarify that an unlicensed individual who is 
only conducting inspections of a component or system of a 
home is not considered to be performing a home inspection; 
(iv) require that applicants and licensees disclose all 
misdemeanor convictions, except marijuana-related 
convictions; (v) clarify the disclosure of prior disciplinary 
action; (vi) transition qualifications for licensure to a points-
based system; (vii) revise provisions pertaining to continuing 
professional education; (viii) amend procedures for renewal of 
a license to require submission of a completed renewal 
application and proof of completing continuing professional 
education; (ix) amend standards for home inspection contracts 
and home inspection reports; (x) require minimum provisions 
of home inspection contracts and home inspection reports; (xi) 
clarify that a home inspector is prohibited from designing or 
performing repairs or modifications to a home on which the 
inspector has performed an inspection within 12 months after 
the date of inspection; (xii) revise prohibited acts; and (xiii) 
repeal unnecessary requirements. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the regulated 
community are that the amendments will (i) provide needed 
updating and clarification, including incorporating the board's 
previous interpretive guidance; (ii) address concerns regarding 
barriers to licensure, including to individuals in neighboring 
states; and (iii) enhance standards for home inspection 
contracts and home inspection reports, and standards of 
conduct and practice, that will better serve to protect members 
of the public. 

An anticipated advantage is that the amendments potentially 
increase the number of individuals who may qualify for 
licensure, and, therefore, be available to members of the public 
to provide home inspection services. This may be of particular 
benefit to members of the public located in more rural areas of 
the Commonwealth where there are fewer licensed home 
inspectors available. There are no identifiable disadvantages to 
the public. The board anticipates no substantial disadvantages 
to the regulated community. The primary advantage of the 
amendments to the Commonwealth is that the board will be 
more able to administer the licensure program, including the 
process for renewal of licenses, and to more effectively address 
issues that are the subject of complaints from the public against 
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licensees. There are no anticipated disadvantages to the agency 
or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 
estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 
analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Virginia board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
(board) proposes numerous amendments to Home Inspector 
Licensing Regulations (18VAC15-40), including requirements 
for: initial licensure, license renewal, information to be 
reported the board, contracts, home inspection reports, 
licensee's responsibilities, grounds for disciplinary action, 
prohibited acts, and extensive clarifying language. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The following are sections of the 
regulation where proposed amendments are likely to have 
impact. 

18VAC15-40-30: General requirements for licensure. The 
current regulation requires that each applicant shall disclose all 
misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual 
offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within five years of the date of the application. The proposed 
regulation would broaden this to require the disclosure of all 
misdemeanor convictions (except marijuana convictions), 
while reducing the timeframe to three years (rather than the 
current five years) from the date of the application. Since the 
applicant would be required to disclose all misdemeanor 
convictions (excluding marijuana convictions) during the 
three-year period prior to application, it potentially covers 
more varieties of misdemeanors. This additional information 
may be useful in judging the applicant's fitness for licensure 
and would make it easier to determine which criminal 
convictions should or should not be disclosed. On the other 
hand, it may require some applicants to do some additional 
reporting. Reducing the timeframe to only require disclosure 
of misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
application, instead of the current five years, would help reduce 
barriers to licensure for individuals with a prior criminal 
history. The board believes the most recent three years are the 
most relevant.2 

The current regulation also requires additional reporting 
pertaining to licensure status, stating, "The applicant shall 
report any suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, 
certification, or registration in connection with a disciplinary 
action or a license, certification, or registration that has been 
the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying 
for licensure. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure 
to any applicant based on prior suspensions, revocations, or 
surrender of licenses based on disciplinary action by any 
jurisdiction." The board proposes to also require that the 

applicant report when another jurisdiction has imposed a 
monetary penalty or required the applicant to take remedial 
education or other corrective action. Additionally, the second 
quoted sentence would be amended to state that "The board, in 
its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant for any prior 
action taken by any board or administrative body in any 
jurisdiction." The proposed new language provides the board 
with greater relevant information upon which to make 
licensure denial decisions. 

18VAC15-40-32: Qualifications for licensure. Under the 
current regulation, an applicant for licensure as a home 
inspector must pass the National Home Inspector Examination 
provided by the Examination board of Professional Home 
Inspectors, and also furnish documentation acceptable to the 
board that one of the five qualification methods for licensure 
listed in Table 1 has been met. 

Table 1 

Board-approved 
pre-license 

education course 
contact hours 

Experience 

35 Completion of 100 home inspections prior 
to July 1, 2017 

35 Completion of 50 home inspections under 
the direct supervision of a home 
inspector3 

70 Completion of 50 home inspections prior 
to July 1, 2017 

70 Completion of 25 home inspections under 
the direct supervision of a home 
inspector4 

None Verification of 10 years' experience as a 
home inspector prior to July 1, 2017, with 
a minimum of 250 home inspections 
completed during such time period 

No more than half of the required pre-license education course 
contact hours may be completed using distance or online 
education technology. 

For the proposed regulation, the applicant for licensure as a 
home inspector must still pass the National Home Inspector 
Examination provided by the Examination Board of 
Professional Home Inspectors; but instead of meeting one of 
the five qualification methods for licensure listed in Table 1, 
the applicant must instead acquire a minimum of 15 qualifying 
points from a combination of the following education and 
experience categories listed in Tables 2 and 3, with a minimum 
of five points from each of Tables 2 and 3. 
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Table 2: Education Qualifying Points 

Points 
Assigned 

Education Description Max. 
Allowable 
Points 

5 Successfully completed a three-credit
hour minimum class with a passing
grade in home inspection from an
accredited college or university. 

5 

1 Successfully completed a three-credit
hour minimum class with a passing
grade in construction, remodeling,
engineering, architecture, building
design, building technology, or real
estate from an accredited college or
university. 

3 

1 Successfully completed a four-hour
minimum course specific to home
inspection contracts, home inspection
reports, or topics covered on the board-
approved examination. 

3 

5 Successfully completed a minimum 35-
hour pre-license education course
approved by the board. 

5 

10 Successfully completed a minimum 70-
hour pre-license education course
approved by the board 

10 

Table 3: Experience Qualifying Points 

Points 
Assigned 

Experience Description Max. 
Allowable 
Points 

2 One month of full-time qualifying
experience.5 

12 

1 Completion of 5 home inspections
under the direct supervision of a home
inspector or without supervision if
lawfully conducted as authorized under
the laws of the applicable jurisdiction. 

12 

1 Membership in a home inspector trade
or professional association.6 

2 

2 One year teaching at an accredited
college or university, trade school, or
private business for monetary
compensation in construction,
remodeling, engineering, architecture,
building design, building technology,
real estate, or home inspections. 

6 

2 The qualified individual of a 
contractor license issued pursuant to 
the Code of Virginia for one or more 
of the following classifications or 
specialty services: 1. Residential 
Building Contractors, 2. Home 
Improvement Contracting, 3. 
Commercial Building Contractors 

2 

1 The qualified individual of a 
contractor license issued pursuant to 
the Code of Virginia for one or more 
of the following classifications: 1. 
Electrical Contractors, 2. HVAC 
Contractors, 3. Plumbing Contractors 

3 

2 Licensed architect or professional 
engineer. 

2 

2 Building code official certified pursuant 
to the Department of Housing and 
Community Development Virginia 
Certification Standards. 

2 

The proposed regulation does not limit the amount of pre-
license education course contact hours that may be completed 
using distance or online education technology. 

According to DPOR, it is the board's intent to increase the 
variety of methods by which one can qualify for home 
inspector license. In particular, the proposed regulation 
includes methods that are less reliant on supervised inspections 
since there have been reports of difficulties finding licensees 
willing to provide supervised training. Further, the removal of 
the limitation on the amount of pre-license education course 
contact hours that may be completed using distance or online 
education technology reduces the practical burden on receiving 
the relevant education. 

As can be seen in Table 4, while the variety of methods by 
which one can qualify for home inspector license increases 
under the board's proposal, the burden for applicants remains 
similar to the current system.  

Table 4: Comparison of Qualifying with Ed. Contact 
Hours and Supervised Home Inspections 

Current Regulation Proposed Regulation 

70 education course 
contact hours;  

Completion of 25 
home inspections 
under the direct 
supervision of a home 
inspector. 

70 education course contact hours;  

Completion of 25 home inspections 
under the direct supervision of a home 
inspector or without supervision if 
lawfully conducted as authorized 
under the laws of the applicable 
jurisdiction. 
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35 education course 
contact hours;  

Completion of 50 
home inspections 
under the direct 
supervision of a home 
inspector. 

35 education course contact hours;  

of 50 home inspections under the direct
supervision of a home inspector or
without supervision if lawfully
conducted as authorized under the laws
of the applicable jurisdiction. 

18VAC15-40-73: Acceptable topics for continuing 
professional education. Each licensee must complete 16 
contact hours of continuing professional education (CPE) 
during each two-year license renewal cycle. The board 
proposes to add the following to the list of topics that are 
acceptable for continuing professional education: completion 
of training required to maintain credentials, howsoever 
denominated, related to home inspection services, including 
asbestos inspection, lead inspection, and radon testing. There 
would be a limit of four contact hours of CPE for such training 
per cycle. This could somewhat reduce burden for licensees 
and does appear to be relevant to maintaining their professional 
expertise.  

18VAC15-40-80: Procedures for renewal. When renewing a 
license, the licensee attests to compliance with CPE 
requirements. However, DPOR audits have shown that some 
licensees have inaccurately reported compliance. The board 
proposes to require that as part of the licensure renewal 
process, the licensee provide proof of completion of CPE. The 
regulation already requires that each licensee maintain 
evidence of the satisfactory completion of CPE for at least 
three years following the end of the license renewal cycle for 
which the CPE was taken. Thus, the proposal to present this 
evidence at the time of renewal should not be a substantial 
additional burden, and would help enable greater assurance of 
compliance.  

18VAC15-40-120: Home inspection contract. The current 
regulation specifies that for the protection of both the client and 
the licensee, both parties must sign a legible, written contract 
clearly specifying the terms, conditions, and limitations and 
exclusions of the work to be performed. The board proposes to 
add, "Prior to the commencement of work or acceptance of 
payments, the contract must be signed by both the client, or the 
client's authorized representative, and the licensee. The 
licensee must make prompt delivery to the client, or client's 
authorized representative, a fully executed copy of the contract 
in compliance with this section before work begins. Any 
modification to the contract that changes the cost, scope of 
work to be performed, or estimated completion date, must be 
in writing and signed by all parties." This may help minimize 
potential disputes and misunderstandings. 

18VAC15-40-130: Home inspection report. The current 
regulation requires that the home inspection report contains the 
licensee's telephone number. The proposal amends the 
requirement to telephone number, email address, or other 
contact information, as applicable. This is beneficial in that it 

allows the licensee to provide the best means of contact for 
their situation. The inspection report would be required to note 
the presence or absence of carbon monoxide detectors, in 
addition to the current requirement for smoke detectors. This 
has become a common concern for homeowners and is a 
beneficial addition. 

18VAC15-40-150: Grounds for disciplinary action. The board 
proposes to add violating provisions of "the regulations of the 
board" to grounds for disciplinary action. According to the 
agency, the revised language permits the board to take action 
against a home inspector licensee in instances where the 
licensee may have violated regulations related to other 
disciplines (e.g., asbestos or lead) falling under the board's 
jurisdiction. This may be beneficial in determining appropriate 
status for a licensee who participated in misconduct. 

18VAC15-40-152: Notice of adverse action. Among other 
items, this section requires that licensees notify the board of 
conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, regardless of 
adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 
United States of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical 
injury or relating to performing a home inspection. Similar to 
18VAC15-40-30, the proposal is to require the applicant to 
notify the board of all misdemeanor convictions except 
marijuana convictions. Since the applicant would be required 
to disclose all misdemeanor convictions, excluding marijuana 
convictions, it would be easier to determine which criminal 
convictions should or should not be disclosed. On the other 
hand, it may require some applicants to do some additional 
reporting. It also potentially covers more varieties of 
misdemeanors, which may be useful in judging the applicant's 
fitness for licensure. 

18VAC15-40-155: Prohibited acts. The current list of 
prohibited acts includes "Obtaining or attempting to obtain a 
license by false or fraudulent representation." The board 
proposes to add "or maintaining, renewing, or reinstating a 
license by false or fraudulent representation; or furnishing 
substantially inaccurate or incomplete information to the board 
in obtaining, renewing, reinstating, or maintaining a license." 
According to DPOR, the current subdivision is interpreted as 
being applicable to only the initial obtaining of a license, and 
would not be applicable to cases where a licensee has renewed 
or reinstated a license falsely. One area where there have been 
demonstrated instances of renewal by false representation is in 
completion of CPE. There have been cases where a licensee 
has renewed a license by representing that the licensee has 
completed CPE, when in fact the licensee has not. This revised 
subdivision would better enable the agency to charge a 
violation under the prohibited acts for such conduct. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 
regulation affects the 1,318 licensed home inspectors7 in the 
Commonwealth, as well potential applicants for licensure, 
clients, and training providers. 
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The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 
adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.8 An 
adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 
or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 
exceed the costs for all entities combined. No adverse impact 
is indicated. 

Small Businesses9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do 
not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposed amendments neither 
appear to disproportionately affect particularly localities, nor 
substantively affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 
amendments do not substantively affect the use and value of 
private property. The proposed amendments do not 
substantively affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  
2 Source: DPOR. 
3 The direct supervision of a home inspector must be provided by an individual 
who was properly licensed or certified by the Board during the applicable time 
period. 
4 Ibid. 
5 In order to be acceptable, qualifying experience must meet all of the 
following: 1. Experience must be verified by one or more of the following: 
licensed home inspector; qualified individual or responsible manager of a 
licensed contractor; or any combination of at least three licensed real estate 
professionals or clients. 2. An applicant's experience must have been gained 
by assisting a properly licensed or certified home inspector, as applicable, and 
under such home inspector's direct supervision; or through the performance of 
home inspections as authorized under the laws of the applicable jurisdiction. 
3. For the purposes of this part, experience requirements are expressed in terms 
of calendar periods of full-time employment. a. A month of full-time 
qualifying experience is a minimum of 146 hours during a one-month period 
or a minimum of 18 workdays in a one-month period. More than 146 hours or 
18 workdays during a one-month period will not be considered as more than 
one month of full-time employment. b. Partial credit may be given for actual 
hours of qualifying experience if the applicant's experience was gained 
working less than full time. 
6 The current membership fee for the International Association of Certified 
Home Inspectors (InterNACHI) is $499 per year. The current membership fee 
for the American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI) is $449 per year. The 
current membership fee for the Virginia Association of Real Estate Inspectors 
(VAREI) is $175 per year. 
7 Source: DPOR 
8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 
regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  
9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 
than $6 million."  
10 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 
have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
11 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 
likely to occur.  
12 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 
disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add new definitions, remove 
unnecessary definitions, and clarify existing definitions; (ii) 
revise licensure entry requirements, including establishing a 
points-based system for education and experience 
qualifications; (iii) adjust requirements for renewal of a 
license; (iv) adjust standards for conducting home 
inspections; (v) update standards of conduct pertaining to 
conflicts of interest; and (vi) revise prohibited acts in the 
standards of conduct and practice. 

18VAC15-40-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-500 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Board" 

"Home inspection" 

"Home inspector" 

"Person" 

"Residential building" 

B. Section 54.1-517.2:1 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in 
18VAC15-40-130: 

"Bonding" 

"Corrugated stainless steel tubing" 
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"Grounding" 

C. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless a different meaning 
is provided or is plainly required by the context: 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated by 
the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from the 
board. 

"Adjacent" means adjoining or within three feet of the 
residential building and that may affect the residential building. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted an 
application for licensure. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation. 

"Client" means a person who engages the services of a home 
inspector for a home inspection. 

"Compensation" means the receipt of monetary payment or 
other valuable consideration for services rendered. 

"Component" means a part of a system. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity. 

"Course of construction inspection" means one or more 
inspections conducted during the construction of a new 
residential structure. 

"CPE" means continuing professional education. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation. 

"Describe" means to report a system or component by its type 
or other observed significant characteristics to distinguish it 
from other systems or components. 

"Direct supervision" means that a licensed home inspector is 
physically present on the premises at all times and is at all 
times responsible for compliance with this chapter. 

"Financial interest" means financial benefit accruing to an 
individual or to a member of his that individual's immediate 
family. Such interest shall exist by reason of (i) ownership in a 
business if the ownership exceeds 3.0% of the total equity of 
the business; (ii) annual gross income that exceeds or may be 
reasonably anticipated to exceed $1,000 from ownership in real 
or personal property or a business; (iii) salary, other 
compensation, fringe benefits, forgiveness of debt, or benefits 
from the use of property, or any combination of it these, paid 
or provided by a business person that exceeds or may be 
reasonably expected to exceed $1,000 annually; (iv) ownership 
of real or personal property if the interest exceeds $1,000 in 
value and excluding ownership in business, income, salary, 
other compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from the use of 
property; (v) personal liability incurred or assumed on behalf 

of a business if the liability exceeds 3.0% of the asset value of 
the business; or (vi) an option for ownership of a business, real 
property, or personal property if the ownership interest will 
consist of clause (i) or (iv) of this definition. 

"Fireplace" means an interior fire-resistant masonry 
permanent or prefabricated fixture that can be used to burn fuel 
and is either vented or unvented assembly consisting of a 
hearth and fire chamber of noncombustible material provided 
with a chimney for use with solid fuel. 

"Foundation" means the element of a structure that connects 
to the ground and transfers loads from the structure to the 
ground. Foundations may be shallow or deep. 

"Licensee" means a home inspector as defined in Chapter 5 
(§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 
engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is 
unlawful to practice without such license. 

"New residential structure" or "NRS" means a residential 
structure for which the first conveyance of record title to a 
purchaser has not occurred or the purchaser has not taken 
possession, whichever occurs later. 

"NRS specialty" means a designation granted by the board to 
a home inspector that authorizes such individual licensee to 
conduct a home inspections inspection on any a new residential 
structure. 

"Outbuilding" means any structure on the property that is 
more than three feet from the residential building and that may 
affect the residential building. 

"Prelicense education course" means an instruction program 
approved by the board and is one of the requirements for 
licensure effective July 1, 2017. 

"Qualifying experience" means the experience used by a 
home inspector applicant to qualify for licensure. 

"Readily accessible" means available for access without 
requiring moving or removing of any obstacles. 

"Reinstatement" means the process and requirements through 
which an expired license can be made valid without the 
licensee having to apply as a new applicant. 

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 
periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Residential structure" means a structure consisting of no 
more than two dwelling units or a townhouse. 

"Solid fuel burning fuel-burning appliances" means a hearth 
and fire chamber or similarly prepared place in which a fire 
may be built and that is built in conjunction with a chimney, or 
a listed assembly of a fire chamber, its chimney and related 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 25  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 29, 2024  

2049 

factory-made parts designed for unit assembly without 
requiring field construction chimney-connected devices that 
burn solid fuel for purposes of heating, cooking, or both. Such 
appliances include wood stoves, fireplace wood-burning 
inserts, wood pellet-burning appliances, or similar solid fuel-
burning devices. 

"System" means a combination of interacting or 
interdependent components, assembled to carry out one or 
more functions. 

"Virginia Residential Code" means the provisions of the 
Virginia Construction Code (Part I (13VAC5-63-10 et seq. 
through 13VAC5-63-390) of 13VAC5-63) applicable to R-5 
residential structures and that includes provisions of the 
International Residential Code as amended by the Board of 
Housing and Community Development. 

18VAC15-40-20. Necessity for licensure. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any individual who does not 
possess a license as a home inspector issued by the board to 
perform a home inspection for compensation on a residential 
building. 

B. A home inspection on a new residential structure, to 
include any course of construction inspection, shall only be 
conducted by a home inspector with the NRS specialty and 
who has completed a training module on the Virginia 
Residential Code. 

C. An individual who does not hold a license as a home 
inspector and who is only conducting inspections of a 
component or system of a residential building is not considered 
to be performing a home inspection. 

18VAC15-40-25. Application procedures. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure shall must submit an 
application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-40-
50. Application shall will be made on forms provided by the 
board or its the board's agent. 

1. By submitting the application to the department, the 
applicant certifies that the applicant has read and 
understands the applicable statutes and the board's 
regulations. 

2. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 
board do not indicate approval of the application by the 
board. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 
amplify information supplied. All applications shall must be 
completed in accordance with the instructions contained in this 
section and on the application. Applications will not be 
considered complete until all required documents are received 
by the board. 

C. The applicant will be notified within 30 days of the board's 
receipt of an initial application if the application is incomplete. 
An individual who fails to complete the application process 
within 12 months of receipt of the application in the board's 
office must submit a new application. 

D. The applicant shall must immediately report all changes in 
information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 
to issuance of the license or expiration of the application. 

18VAC15-40-30. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the provisions of 18VAC15-40-32, every 
applicant for a home inspector license shall must meet the 
requirements provided in this section. 

B. The applicant shall must be at least 18 years old. 

C. The applicant shall must provide a mailing address, which 
shall will serve as the address of record. A post office box is 
only acceptable as the address of record when a physical 
address is also provided. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall must disclose the following information: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical 
injury, except marijuana convictions, within five three years 
of the date of the application; and 

2. All felony convictions during the applicant's lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 
for the purposes of this section. The record of conviction 
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 
of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 
may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The applicant for licensure shall must be in compliance 
with the standards of conduct and practice set forth in Part V 
(18VAC15-40-140 et seq. through 18VAC15-40-180) of this 
chapter at the time of application, while the application is under 
review by the board, and at all times when the license is in 
effect. 

F. The applicant shall must report any suspension, revocation, 
or surrender of a license, certification, or registration in 
connection with a disciplinary action or a license, certification, 
or registration that has been the subject of discipline in any 
jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure action taken by any 
board or administrative body in any jurisdiction against a 
professional or occupational license, certification, or 
registration issued to the applicant, to include any suspension, 
revocation, or surrender of a license, certification, or 
registration; imposition of a monetary penalty; or requirement 
to take remedial education or other corrective action. The 
board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 
based on prior suspensions, revocations, or surrender of 
licenses based on disciplinary action by for any prior action 
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taken by any board or administrative body in any jurisdiction. 
The applicant has the right to request further review of any 
such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

G. The applicant for licensure shall must submit evidence 
satisfactory to the board of having obtained general liability 
insurance with minimum limits of $250,000 per occurrence. A 
business liability insurance policy or a commercial general 
liability insurance policy with minimum limits of $250,000 
may be considered to meet such requirement, so long as the 
applicant is listed as an additional insured. If for any reason the 
board cannot reasonably ensure that the applicant is 
sufficiently covered in accordance with this subsection, the 
board may require that requisite coverage be obtained in the 
name of the applicant. Proof of such insurance policy must be 
submitted in order to obtain the license. 

18VAC15-40-32. Qualifications for licensure. 

A. Qualifications for licensure. An applicant for licensure as 
a home inspector shall must furnish documentation acceptable 
to the board that one of the qualifications for licensure in Table 
1 has been met. 

TABLE 1 
 

Board-
approved 
prelicense 
education 

course 
contact hours 

Experience 

Passed the 
board-

approved 
examination 

1. 35 Completion of 100 
home inspections prior 
to July 1, 2017 

Yes 

2. 35 Completion of 50 
home inspections 
under the direct 
supervision of a home 
inspector 

Yes 

3. 70 Completion of 50 
home inspections prior 
to July 1, 2017 

Yes 

4. 70 Completion of 25 
home inspections 
under the direct 
supervision of a home 
inspector 

Yes 

5. None Verification of 10 
years' experience as a 
home inspector prior to 
July 1, 2017, with a 
minimum of 250 home 
inspections completed 
during such time 
period 

Yes 

B. Prelicense education courses must be approved by the 
board pursuant to Part VI (18VAC15-40-200 et seq.) of this 
chapter. No more than half of the required hours may be 
completed using distance or online education technology. 

C. Verification of home inspections completed under the 
direct supervision of a home inspector must be provided by an 
individual who was properly licensed or certified by the board 
during the applicable time period. 

D. The National Home Inspector Examination provided by 
the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors is the 
board-approved examination pursuant to § 54.1-517.2 A 2 c of 
the Code of Virginia. of the following: 

1. The applicant has passed a board-approved examination. 
The National Home Inspector Examination provided by the 
Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors is the 
board-approved examination pursuant to § 54.1-517.2 A 2 c 
of the Code of Virginia. 

2. A minimum of 15 qualifying points from a combination 
of the following education and experience, with a minimum 
of five points from each category in Tables 1 and 2. An 
applicant cannot be assigned points from multiple areas in 
each table for the same activity for which credit is being 
sought. Except as provided in Tables 1 and 2, an applicant 
cannot be assigned points multiple times for the same 
activity for which credit is being sought. 

TABLE 1 

Qualifying Points Table: Education Category 

Points 
Assigned 

Education Description Maximum 
Allowable 

Points 

5 Successfully completed a three credit-hour minimum class with a passing grade in home 
inspection from an accredited college or university pursuant to 18VAC15-40-32 C. 

5 
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1 Successfully completed a three credit-hour minimum class with a passing grade in 
construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building design, building technology, or 
real estate from an accredited college or university pursuant to 18VAC15-40-32 C. 

3 

1 Successfully completed a four-hour minimum course specific to home inspection contracts, 
home inspection reports, or topics covered on the board-approved examination. 

3 

5 Successfully completed a minimum 35-hour prelicense education course approved by the 
board in accordance with Part VI (18VAC15-40-200 through 18VAC15-40-300) of this 
chapter. 

5 

10 Successfully completed a minimum 70-hour prelicense education course approved by the 
board in accordance with Part VI (18VAC15-40-200 through 18VAC15-40-300) of this 
chapter. 

10 

TABLE 2 

Qualifying Points Table: Experience Category 

Points 
Assigned 

Experience Description Maximum 
Allowable 

Points 

2 One month of full-time qualifying experience pursuant to subsection B of this section. 12 

1 Completion of five home inspections under the direct supervision of a home inspector or 
without supervision if lawfully conducted as authorized under the laws of the applicable 
jurisdiction. 

12 

1 Membership in a home inspector trade or professional association. 2 

2 One year teaching at an accredited college or university, trade school, or private business for 
monetary compensation in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building 
design, building technology, real estate, or home inspections. 

6 

2 The qualified individual of a contractor license issued pursuant to Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for one or more of the following classifications or 
specialty services: 

1. Residential building contractors (RBC)  

2. Home improvement contracting (HIC) 

3. Commercial building contractors (CBC) 

2 

1 The qualified individual of a contractor license issued pursuant to Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for one or more of the following classifications: 

1. Electrical contractors (ELE)  

2. HVAC contractors (HVA) 

3. Plumbing contractors (PLB) 

3 

2 Architect or professional engineer licensed pursuant to Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2 

2 Building code official certified pursuant to the Department of Housing and Community 
Development Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21). 

2 

B. Qualifying experience. In order to be acceptable, 
qualifying experience must meet all of the following: 

1. Experience must be verified by one or more of the 
following: licensed home inspector; qualified individual or 

responsible manager of a licensed contractor; or any 
combination of at least three licensed real estate 
professionals or clients. 
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2. An applicant's experience must have been gained by 
assisting a properly licensed or certified home inspector, as 
applicable, and under such home inspector's direct 
supervision or through the performance of home inspections 
as authorized under the laws of the applicable jurisdiction. 

3. For the purposes of this part, experience requirements are 
expressed in terms of calendar periods of full-time 
employment. 

a. A month of full-time qualifying experience is a 
minimum of 146 hours during a one-month period or a 
minimum of 18 workdays in a one-month period. More 
than 146 hours or 18 workdays during a one-month period 
will not be considered as more than one month of full-time 
employment. 

b. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of 
qualifying experience if the applicant's experience was 
gained working less than full time. 

C. Accredited colleges or universities and verification 
procedures. An applicant seeking to qualify for licensure based 
on completion of a class from an accredited college or 
university must submit an official transcript from the school 
where the applicable class was completed. Only classes from 
an accredited college or university that is approved or 
accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern 
Association of Colleges and Schools, a regional or national 
accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education will be 
considered. An applicant seeking to qualify for licensure based 
on working or teaching at an accredited college or university 
must submit evidence satisfactory to the board of employment 
by the college or university. Only employment with an 
accredited college or university that is approved or accredited 
by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of 
Colleges and Schools, a regional or national accreditation, or 
by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education will be considered. 

18VAC15-40-33. Examination conduct. 

Procedures and appropriate conduct established by the board 
or examination organization administering the examination 
approved by the board, or both, shall must be followed by the 
applicant. Such procedures shall include written instructions 
communicated prior to the examination date and instructions 
communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of 
the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures 
established by the board or the examination organization with 
regard to conduct at the examination shall will be grounds for 
denial of the application. 

18VAC15-40-35. Qualifications for the new residential 
structure specialty. 

To obtain the NRS specialty, the applicant shall submit the 
appropriate application form and fee pursuant to 18VAC15-
40-50 and meet the following qualifications: 

1. Hold a current and valid home inspector license. An 
applicant who does not hold a current and valid home 
inspector license shall apply for such licensure and meet the 
requirements contained in 18VAC15-40-30 and 18VAC15-
40-32. 

2. Submit proof of successful completion of an NRS training 
module approved by the board pursuant to Part VI 
(18VAC15-40-200 et seq. through 18VAC15-40-300) of 
this chapter and completed no more than two years prior to 
the date of application. 

18VAC15-40-48. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall will not be prorated. The 
date on which the fee is received by the department or its the 
department's agent will determine whether the fee is on time. 
Checks or money orders shall must be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-50. Fees. 

A. The following table lists fees: 

Fee type 
Fee 

amount 
When due 

Initial home inspector 
application 

$80 With application for 
home inspector 

Initial NRS specialty 
application 

$80 With application for 
NRS specialty 
designation 

Home inspector 
renewal 

$45 With renewal 
application 

Home inspector with 
NRS specialty renewal 

$90 With renewal 
application 

Home inspector 
reinstatement 

$125 With reinstatement 
application 

Home inspector with 
NRS specialty 
reinstatement 

$170 
With reinstatement 
application 

Prelicense education 
course approval 

$250 With prelicense 
education course 
approval application 

NRS training module 
approval 

$150 With NRS training 
module approval 
application 

NRS CPE course 
approval 

$150 With NRS CPE course 
approval application 

For licenses expiring after February 1, 2020, and before 
February 1, 2022, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 
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Home inspector renewal $40 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 
renewal 

$80 

For reinstatement applications received after March 1, 2020, 
and on or before February 28, 2022, the reinstatement fees 
shall be as follows: 

Home inspector reinstatement $120 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 
reinstatement 

$160 

B. For licenses expiring after February 1, 2022, and before 
February 1, 2024, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Home inspector renewal $25 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 
renewal 

$50 

C. For reinstatement applications received after March 1, 
2022, and on or before February 29, 2024, the reinstatement 
fees shall be as follows: 

Home inspector reinstatement $105 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 
reinstatement 

$130 

18VAC15-40-60. Renewal required. 

Licenses issued under this chapter shall will expire two years 
from the last day of the month in which they were issued. 

18VAC15-40-72. Continuing professional education 
required for home inspector licensure. 

A. Each licensee shall have completed must complete 16 
contact hours of continuing professional education (CPE) 
during each license renewal cycle. CPE can be met through 
classroom instruction, distance learning, or online education 
technology. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 18VAC15-40-75, the 
subject matter addressed during CPE contact hours shall be is 
limited to the content areas covered by the board's approved 
examination and the list of acceptable topics provided in 
18VAC15-40-73. 

C. The licensee shall will not receive CPE credit for the same 
training course more than once during a single license renewal 
cycle. 

D. A licensee who completes the initial training module 
required by 18VAC15-40-35 to obtain an NRS specialty may 
count completion of the module towards toward the required 
16 hours of CPE credit for that renewal cycle. 

18VAC15-40-73. Acceptable topics for continuing 
professional education.  

A. The following topics will be accepted for CPE credit, all 
as related to home inspection services: 

1. Site conditions; 

2. Exterior components; 

3. Roof components; 

4. Structural components; 

5. Electrical systems; 

6. Cooling systems; 

7. Heating systems; 

8. Insulation, moisture management systems, and ventilation 
systems; 

9. Mechanical exhaust systems; 

10. Plumbing systems; 

11. Interior components; 

12. Fireplaces, fuel-burning appliances, chimney, and vent 
systems; 

13. Common permanently installed kitchen appliances; 

14. Home inspection reporting requirements; 

15. Responsibilities to the client, including required home 
inspection contract elements; 

16. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; and 

17. Content areas covered by the board's approved 
examination. 

B. In addition to the topics provided in subsection A of this 
section, a licensee may receive a maximum of four contact 
hours of CPE credit for completion of training required to 
maintain credentials related to home inspection services, 
including asbestos inspection, lead inspection, and radon 
testing. 

C. A licensee may apply completion of the NRS CPE course, 
as applicable, toward the 16 contact hours of CPE required for 
license renewal. 

18VAC15-40-75. Board-approved new residential 
structure update continuing professional education course 
required to maintain new residential structure specialty. 

A. In addition to the CPE requirements of 18VAC15-40-72, 
to maintain the NRS specialty, the licensee shall must submit 
proof of completion of a four-hour, board-approved NRS CPE 
course, which can be applied toward the 16 contact hours of 
CPE required for the license renewal. 

B. A licensee who has taken the initial NRS training module 
pursuant to subdivision 2 of 18VAC15-40-35 no more than one 
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year before the expiration date on the license will not require 
proof of the NRS CPE course for that renewal. All other 
requirements for renewal must be met in order to renew the 
license and the home inspector is still required to have 
completed all other CPE requirements pursuant to this chapter. 

18VAC15-40-76. Continuing professional education for 
instructors. 

A licensee may receive CPE credit for teaching a course that 
otherwise meets the requirements of this chapter; however, 
additional credit shall will not be given for subsequent 
offerings of a course or activity with the same content within 
the same licensing cycle. In addition, a licensee may receive 
two hours of CPE no more than once during a single licensing 
cycle for the initial development or substantial updating of a 
CPE course. 

18VAC15-40-78. Maintenance of continuing professional 
education records. 

A. Each licensee shall must maintain evidence of the 
satisfactory completion of CPE for at least three years 
following the end of the license renewal cycle for which the 
CPE was taken. Such documentation shall must be provided to 
the board or its the board's duly authorized agents upon request. 
The following shall will be maintained by the licensee to 
document completion of the hours of CPE specified in 
18VAC15-40-72: 

1. Evidence of completion that shall contain contains the 
name, address, and telephone number of the training 
provider; 

2. The dates the applicant licensee participated in the 
training; 

3. Descriptive material of the subject matter presented 
documenting that it the subject matter covers the content 
areas covered by the board's examination or the list of 
acceptable topics provided in 18VAC15-40-73; and 

4. A statement from the provider verifying the number of 
CPE contact hours completed. 

B. The board may conduct an audit of its licensees to ensure 
compliance with the applicable CPE requirements. Licensees 
who are selected for audit shall must provide the necessary 
documentation stipulated in this section. 

C. The licensee may request additional time to meet the CPE 
requirement; however, CPE hours earned during a license 
renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE requirement of the preceding 
license renewal cycle shall will be valid only for that preceding 
license renewal cycle. 

18VAC15-40-80. Procedures for renewal. 

A. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the board 
shall will mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of 
record. 

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the a 
licensee desiring to renew his a license shall must return to the 
board the renewal notice (i) a completed renewal application, 
(ii) proof of insurance required by 18VAC15-40-30, (iii) proof 
of completion of CPE, in accordance with 18VAC15-40-72, 
and (iv) the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-40-50. 

C. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license In 
addition to the requirements of subsection B of this section, a 
licensee with the NRS specialty must submit proof of 
completion of four hours of board-approved NRS CPE, in 
accordance with 18VAC15-40-75, along with the renewal 
notice and the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-40-50. 

D. Failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the 
licensee of the obligation to renew. If the licensee fails to 
receive the renewal notice, a copy of the license may be 
submitted with the required fee and any other required 
documentation as an application for renewal. The date on 
which the renewal application is received by the department or 
its the department's agent will determine whether the renewal 
application was received on time. 

E. By submitting the renewal application, the licensee is 
affirming that the CPE requirements of 18VAC15-40-72 have 
been met, and he the licensee is in continued compliance with 
this chapter. 

18VAC15-40-90. Reinstatement. 

A. If the requirements for renewal of a license, as provided in 
18VAC15-40-80, are not completed by the licensee within 30 
days after the expiration date on the license, reinstatement of 
the license shall will be required. 

B. All applicants for reinstatement shall must meet all 
requirements set forth in 18VAC15-40-30, 18VAC15-40-72, 
and 18VAC15-40-75, as applicable. 

C. A license may be reinstated for up to two years following 
the expiration date upon submittal of the reinstatement 
application consisting of (i) payment of the reinstatement fee, 
(ii) proof of insurance required by 18VAC15-40-30, (iii) proof 
of CPE in accordance with 18VAC15-40-72, and (iv) proof of 
CPE to maintain the NRS specialty, if applicable. After two 
years, the license shall will not be reinstated under any 
circumstances, and the individual shall must apply as a new 
applicant and meet entry requirements current at the time of 
submittal of the new application. 

D. By submitting the reinstatement application, the individual 
is affirming that he is in continued compliance with this 
chapter. 

18VAC15-40-105. Status of licensee during the period prior 
to reinstatement. 

A. A licensee who reinstates his a license shall will be 
regarded as having been continuously licensed without 
interruption and shall; will remain under the disciplinary 
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authority of the board during this entire period; and shall will 
be held accountable for his the licensee's activities during this 
period. 

B. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the license 
expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and be 
subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-108. License renewal or reinstatement after 
July 1, 2017. (Repealed.) 

A license eligible for renewal or reinstatement on or after July 
1, 2017, shall be required to meet the requirements of this part 
as amended effective July 1, 2017, upon submittal of the 
renewal or reinstatement application, as applicable.  

18VAC15-40-120. Home inspection contract. 

A. For the protection of both the client and the licensee, both 
parties shall must sign a legible, written contract clearly 
specifying the terms, conditions, and limitations and 
exclusions of the work to be performed. Prior to the 
commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 
contract must be signed by both (i) the client or the client's 
authorized representative and (ii) the licensee. The licensee 
must make prompt delivery to the client or client's authorized 
representative a fully executed copy of the contract in 
compliance with this section before work begins. Any 
modification to the contract that changes the cost, scope of 
work to be performed, or estimated completion date must be in 
writing and signed by all parties. 

B. At a minimum, the written contract shall must include: 

1. Name, business name (if applicable), business address, 
and telephone number of the home inspector The following 
information applicable to the home inspector: 

a. Name; 

b. Business name, if applicable; 

c. Address; 

d. Telephone number, email address, or other contact 
information, as applicable; and 

e. License number and notation of NRS specialty, if 
applicable. 

2. License number of the home inspector, and notation of 
NRS specialty, if applicable. 

3. 2. Name of the clients client. 

4. 3. Physical address of the residential property building or 
NRS to be inspected. 

5. 4. Cost of the home inspection. 

6. 5. A listing of all areas and systems to be inspected, 
including those inspections that are either partial or limited 
in scope. 

7. 6. A statement in the contract that the home inspection 
does not include a review for compliance with regulatory 
requirements (Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code or 
other codes, regulations, laws, or ordinances, etc.). 

8. To the extent that any of the following categories are not 
covered by the home inspection, they shall be noted as 
exclusions in the inspection contract 7. A statement 
disclosing any exclusions to the home inspection. Such 
exclusions may include the following: 

a. The condition of systems or components that are not 
readily accessible. 

b. The remaining life of any system or component. 

c. The strength, adequacy, effectiveness, or efficiency of 
any system or component. 

d. The causes of any condition or deficiency. 

e. The methods, materials, or costs of corrections. 

f. Future conditions, including failure of systems and 
components. 

g. The suitability of the property for any specialized use. 

h. The market value of the property or its marketability. 

i. The advisability of the purchase of the property. 

j. The presence of diseases harmful to humans or 
potentially hazardous plants or animals, including wood 
destroying wood-destroying organisms and mold. 

k. The presence of any environmental hazards, including 
toxins, carcinogens, noise, asbestos, lead-based paint, 
mold, radon, and contaminates in soil, water, and air. 

l. The effectiveness of any system installed or methods 
utilized to control or remove suspected hazardous 
substances. 

m. The operating costs of systems or components. 

n. The acoustical properties of any system or component. 

o. The presence of components involved in manufacturer's 
recalls. 

p. The inspection of outbuildings. 

To the extent any other items are not specifically included in 
the home inspection by agreement of the parties, they shall 
also be noted as exclusions in the home inspection contract. 

9. 8. Estimated delivery date of the home inspection report 
to the client of the home inspection report. 

10. 9. Dated signatures of both the home inspector and the 
client or the client's authorized representative. 

10. A statement providing that any modification to the 
contract that changes the cost, scope of work to be 
performed, or estimated completion date must be in writing 
and signed by all parties. 

11. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties. 
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12. A general statement on the limits of the home inspector's 
liability. 

C. The home inspection contract shall must make written 
disclosure that the home inspection report is (i) based upon 
visual observation of existing conditions of the inspected 
property residential building or NRS at the time of the 
inspection, and is (ii) not intended to be, or to be construed as, 
a guarantee, warranty, or any form of insurance. This provision 
does not prevent a home inspector from offering a separate 
guarantee, warranty, or any form of insurance if he the home 
inspector so chooses. 

D. If the home inspector recommends a person to the client 
for repairs or modifications to the inspected property, the home 
inspector shall disclose to the client all financial interests that 
the home inspector has with the recommended person. The 
disclosure shall be written within the home inspection contract 
The home inspection contract must disclose any financial 
interest that the licensee has or reasonably expects to have with 
any person whom the licensee recommends to the client for the 
repairs or modifications to the residential building or NRS. 

E. If the home inspector has designed or performed repairs or 
modifications to, or has inspected, the residential building or 
NRS to be inspected within the preceding 12 months, the home 
inspection contract must disclose to the client the specifics of 
the repairs or modifications the home inspector designed or 
performed or any inspection the home inspector performed. 

18VAC15-40-130. Home inspection report. 

A. A home inspection report is a written evaluation of the 
readily accessible components of a residential building or 
NRS, including heating, cooling, plumbing, and electrical 
systems; structural components; foundation; roof; masonry 
structure; exterior and interior components; and other related 
residential housing components. 

B. Home inspection reports shall must contain: 

1. Information pertaining to the licensee, including: 

a. Licensee's name Name; 

b. Business address Address; 

c. Telephone number, email address, or other contact 
information, as applicable; and 

d. License number and expiration date, to be followed by 
"NRS" if so designated and performing a home inspection 
on a new residential structure; 

2. The name, address, and telephone number contact 
information of the client or the client's authorized 
representative, if available at the time of the inspection; 

3. The physical address of the residential property building 
or NRS inspected; and 

4. The date,; time (, to include both start and finish times of 
the home inspection),; and weather conditions at the time of 
the home inspection. 

B. C. In conducting a home inspection and reporting its 
findings, the home inspector, at a minimum, shall must inspect 
the condition of and shall must describe in writing the 
composition or and characteristics of the following readily 
accessible components and readily observable defects of the 
residential building or NRS, except as may be limited in by the 
home inspection contract agreement: 

1. Structural system. 

a. Foundation. 

b. Framing. 

c. Stairs. 

d. Crawl space, the. The method of inspecting the crawl 
space shall must be noted and explained in the home 
inspection report. If the crawl space cannot be inspected, 
the licensee shall explain in the home inspection report 
why this component was not inspected. 

e. Crawl space ventilation and vapor barriers. 

f. Slab floor, when present. 

g. Floors, ceilings, and walls. 

h. Ceilings. 

i. Walls. 

2. Roof structure, attic, and insulation systems and 
components. 

a. Roof covering. The method of inspecting the roof 
covering shall must be noted and explained in the home 
inspection report. If the roof covering cannot be inspected, 
the licensee shall explain in the home inspection report 
why this component was not inspected. 

b. Roof ventilation. 

c. Roof drainage system, to include gutters and 
downspouts. 

d. Roof flashings, if readily visible. 

e. Skylights, chimneys, and roof penetrations, but not 
antennae or other roof attachments. 

f. Roof framing and sheathing. 

g. Attic, unless area is not readily accessible. 

h. Attic insulation. 

3. Exterior of residential building or NRS systems or 
components. 

a. Wall covering, flashing, and trim. 

b. Readily accessible doors Doors and windows, but. This 
does not include the operation of associated security locks, 
devices, or systems. 

c. Decks, balconies, stoops, steps, porches, attached 
garages, carports, and any associated railings that are 
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adjacent to the residential building or NRS and on the 
same property but. This does not include associated 
screening, shutters, awnings, storm windows, detached 
garages, or storm doors. 

d. Eaves, soffits, and fascias where readily accessible from 
ground level. 

e. Walkways, grade steps, patios, and driveways, but. This 
does not include fences or privacy walls. 

f. Vegetation, trees, grading, drainage, and any retaining 
walls adjacent to the residential building or NRS. 

g. Visible exterior portions of chimneys. 

4. Interior of residential building or NRS systems and 
components. 

a. Interior walls, ceilings, and floors of the residential 
building or NRS and any adjacent garage. 

b. Steps, stairways, railings, and balconies and associated 
railings. 

c. Countertops and installed cabinets, including hardware. 

d. Doors and windows, but. This does not include the 
operation of associated security locks, devices, or systems. 

e. Garage doors and permanently mounted and installed 
garage door operators. The automatic safety reverse 
function of garage door openers shall must be tested, either 
by physical obstruction as specified by the manufacturer, 
or by breaking the beam of the electronic photo eye but 
only when the test can be safely performed and will not 
risk damage to the door, the opener, any nearby structure, 
or any stored items. 

f. Fireplaces, venting systems, hearths, dampers, and 
fireboxes, but. This does not include mantles, fire screens 
and doors, or seals and gaskets. 

g. Solid fuel burning fuel-burning appliances, if 
applicable. 

5. Plumbing system. 

a. Interior water supply and distribution systems, 
including water supply lines and all fixtures and faucets, 
but. This does not include water conditioning systems or 
fire sprinkler systems. 

b. Water drainage, waste, and vent systems, including all 
associated fixtures. 

c. Drainage sumps, sump pumps, and related piping. 

d. Water heating equipment, including energy source and 
related vent systems, flues, and chimneys, but. This does 
not include solar water heating systems. 

e. Fuel storage and distribution systems for visible leaks. 

6. Electrical system. 

a. Service drop. 

b. Service entrance conductors, cables, and raceways. 

c. Service equipment and main disconnects. 

d. Service grounding. 

e. Interior components of service panels and sub panels, 
including feeders. 

f. Conductors. 

g. Overcurrent protection devices. 

h. Readily accessible installed Installed lighting fixtures, 
switches, and receptacles. 

i. Ground fault circuit interrupters. 

j. Presence or absence of smoke or carbon monoxide 
detectors. 

k. Presence of solid conductor aluminum branch circuit 
wiring. 

l. Arc fault interrupters shall must be noted if installed but 
not tested if equipment is attached to them. 

7. Heating system. 

a. Heating equipment, including operating controls, but. 
This does not include heat exchangers, gas logs, built-in 
gas burning appliances, grills, stoves, space heaters, solar 
heating devices, or heating system accessories such as 
humidifiers, air purifiers, motorized dampers, and heat 
reclaimers. 

b. Energy source. 

c. Heating distribution system. 

d. Vent systems, flues, and chimneys, including dampers. 

8. Air conditioning system. 

a. Central and installed wall air conditioning equipment. 

b. Operating controls, access panels, and covers. 

c. Energy source. 

d. Cooling distribution system. 

C. D. To the extent that a component or system cannot be 
inspected, the home inspection report must identify such 
component or system and provide an explanation for why the 
component or system was not inspected. 

E. Systems in the home that are turned off, winterized, or 
otherwise secured so that they do not respond to normal 
activation using standard operating controls need not be put 
into operating condition. The home inspector shall inspection 
report must state, in writing, the reason these systems or 
components were not inspected. 

D. F. In accordance with § 54.1-517.2:1 of the Code of 
Virginia, if a home inspector observes the presence of any 
shade of yellow corrugated stainless steel tubing during a home 
inspection in a home that was built prior to the adoption of the 
2006 Virginia Construction Code, effective May 1, 2008, the 
home inspector shall include that observation in the report 
along with the following statement: "Manufacturers believe 
that this product is safer if properly bonded and grounded as 
required by the manufacturer's installation instructions. Proper 
bonding and grounding of the product should be determined by 
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a contractor licensed to perform the work in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia." 

18VAC15-40-140. Conflict of interest. 

A. The licensee shall will not: 

1. Design or perform repairs or modifications to a residential 
building or NRS on which he the licensee has performed a 
home inspection as a result of the findings of the home 
inspection within 12 months after the date he the licensee 
performed the home inspection, except in cases where the 
home inspector purchased the residence after he performed 
the home inspection was performed; 

2. Perform a home inspection of a residential building or 
NRS upon which he the licensee has designed or performed 
repairs or modifications within the preceding 12 months 
without disclosing to the client in the home inspection 
contract the specifics of the repairs or modifications he the 
licensee designed or performed; 

3. Refer his the licensee's client to another person to make 
repairs or modifications to a residential building or NRS on 
which he the licensee has performed a home inspection 
unless, in accordance with 18VAC15-40-120 D, he the 
licensee provides written documentation to his the licensee's 
client that clearly discloses all any financial interests interest 
that the licensee has or reasonably expects to have with the 
person who is recommended for the repairs or modifications; 

4. Represent the financial interests, either personally or 
through his employment, of any of the parties to the transfer 
or sale of a residential building or NRS on which he the 
licensee has performed a home inspection without disclosing 
such fact to the client; or 

5. Perform a home inspection of a residential building or 
NRS under a contingent agreement whereby any 
compensation or future referrals are dependent on the 
reported findings or on the sale of the property. 

B. The Notwithstanding the provisions of 18VAC15-40-180, 
the licensee shall must not disclose any information concerning 
the results of the home inspection without the approval of the 
client for whom the home inspection was performed. However, 
the licensee may disclose information in situations where there 
is an imminent endangerment to life or health. 

C. The licensee shall must not accept compensation from 
more than one interested party for the same service home 
inspection on the same property without the consent of all 
interested parties. 

D. The licensee shall must not accept nor offer commissions 
or allowances, directly or indirectly, from other parties dealing 
with the client in connection with work for which the licensee 
is responsible the home inspection. Additionally, the licensee 
shall must not enter into any financial relationship with any 

party that may compromise the licensee's commitment to the 
best interest of his the licensee's client. 

E. A home inspector may provide services to a client in 
addition to a home inspection. The home inspector must 
disclose to the client the additional services to be performed 
and how such services may conflict with the home inspection. 
The disclosure must be in writing and may be incorporated into 
the home inspection contract or contained in a separate written 
agreement with the client. Any additional services performed 
pursuant to this subsection must be performed in accordance 
with applicable laws and regulations. 

F. The home inspection shall must not be used as a pretext by 
the licensee to solicit or obtain work in another field, except 
for additional diagnostic inspections or testing. 

18VAC15-40-145. Competency for assignments. 

A. The licensee shall must undertake to perform professional 
assignments only when qualified by education or experience, 
or both. 

B. A licensee shall must not misrepresent to a prospective or 
existing client or employer his the licensee's qualifications and 
or the scope of his the licensee's responsibility in connection 
with a home inspection. 

18VAC15-40-150. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board has the power to place a licensee on probation, may 
impose a monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-202 A of 
the Code of Virginia, or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a 
license when the licensee has been found to have violated or 
cooperated with others in violating any provision of the 
regulations of the board or Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 
(§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 5 (§ 54.1-500 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

18VAC15-40-152. Notice of adverse action. 

A. A licensee shall must notify the board of the following 
actions against the licensee: 

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 
or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 
any (i) reprimand; (ii) license or certificate revocation, 
suspension, or denial; (iii) monetary penalty; (iv) 
requirement for remedial education; or (v) other corrective 
action. 

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 
certificate, or registration done in connection with a 
disciplinary action in another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 
regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any (i) misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana 
drug distribution, or physical injury or relating to performing 
a home inspection, except marijuana convictions, or (ii) 
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felony, for which there being is no appeal pending therefrom 
or the time for appeal having has lapsed. Review of 
convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for the purpose of this 
section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 30 
days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 
documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 
conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

18VAC15-40-155. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may result 
in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, including inducing another to violate, 
cooperating with another to violate, or combining or 
conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or associate for 
another to violate any of the provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-
100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 
5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 
or any of the regulations of the board. 

2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 
fraudulent representation; maintaining, renewing, or 
reinstating a license by false or fraudulent representation; or 
furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 
information to the board in obtaining, renewing, reinstating, 
or maintaining of a license. 

2. Performing improvements or repairs to a residential 
building as a result of the findings of the home inspection 
within 12 months before or after performing a home 
inspection on it, except in cases where the home inspector 
purchased the residential building after he performed the 
home inspection. 

3. Violating or inducing another person to violate any of the 
provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3, or 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia or this chapter. 

4. A licensee having 3. Failing to maintain the insurance 
policy required pursuant to 18VAC15-40-30 G. 

4. Failing to report a change or maintain records pursuant to 
18VAC15-40-160. 

5. Having been convicted, or found guilty, in any jurisdiction 
or disciplined by any jurisdiction, board, or administrative 
body in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 
enumerated in 18VAC15-40-152. Review of convictions 
shall will be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

5. 6. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 
that the licensee was convicted, or found guilty, in any 
jurisdiction or disciplined in by any jurisdiction, board, or 

administrative body of any offense or violation enumerated 
in 18VAC15-40-152. 

6. Failing to act as a licensee in such a manner as to 
safeguard the interests of the public. 

7. Engaging Failing to use a contract that complies with 
18VAC15-40-120. 

8. Failing to produce a home inspection report that complies 
with 18VAC15-40-130. 

9. Failing to comply with the requirements of 18VAC15-40-
140. 

10. Committing an action that constitutes negligence, 
incompetence, or misconduct in the practice of the 
profession, including: 

a. Having performed a home inspection when not qualified 
by training or experience to competently perform any part 
of the home inspection. 

b. Failing to demonstrate reasonable care, judgment, or 
application of the required knowledge, skill, and ability in 
the performance of the licensee's duties. 

c. Conducting a home inspection on any new residential 
structure without the NRS specialty issued by the board. 

d. Having cited, stated, or represented that there exists a 
violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 
Code (13VAC5-63) in a home inspection report or other 
document prepared relative to a home inspection. 

e. Advising a client as to whether the client should or 
should not engage in a real estate transaction or providing 
an opinion of value regarding the residential building or 
NRS that is the subject of the home inspection. 

f. Failing to adequately supervise and review work by 
unlicensed individuals who are gaining experience under 
the direct supervision of the licensee. 

11. Committing an action that constitutes engaging in 
improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct in conducting a 
home inspection 

8. Having performed a home inspection when not qualified 
by training or experience to competently perform any part 
of the home inspection. 

9. Failing to maintain, through training, the proficiency to 
perform Virginia home inspections. 

10. Conducting a home inspection on any new residential 
structure without the NRS specialty issued by the board. 

11. Failing to maintain the insurance policy required 
pursuant to 18VAC15-40-30 G. 

12. Failing to report a change pursuant to 18VAC15-40-160. 

13. Having cited, stated, or represented that there exists a 
violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 
(13VAC5-63) in a home inspection report or other 
document prepared relative to a home inspection, including: 
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a. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 
promise that might influence, persuade, or induce. 

b. Knowingly misrepresenting factual information in 
expressing a professional opinion. 

c. Intentionally and without justification failing to 
complete work contracted for or to comply with the terms 
in the contract. 

d. Retaining or misapplying funds paid for which work is 
either not performed or performed only in part. 

12. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 
another. 

13. Failing to comply with the requirements of 18VAC15-
40-180. 

18VAC15-40-160. Maintenance of licenses, reports, and 
documentation. 

A. The licensee shall must at all times keep the board 
informed of his the licensee's current address of record, to 
include the physical address, as applicable. Changes of address 
shall must be reported to the board in writing within 30 
calendar days after such change. A post office box is 
acceptable as the address of record only when a physical 
address is also provided. The board shall will not be 
responsible for the licensee's failure to receive notices, 
communications, and correspondence caused by the licensee's 
failure to promptly notify the board of any change of address. 

B. The licensee shall must notify the board in writing of a 
name change within 30 calendar days of any change in the 
licensee's legal name. Such notification shall must be 
accompanied by a copy of a marriage license, divorce decree, 
court order, or other documentation that verifies the name 
change. 

C. The licensee shall must retain all records pertaining to 
home inspections performed to include written reports and 
supporting documentation for a period of three years from the 
date of the related home inspection. 

D. The licensee shall must report the cancellation, 
amendment, expiration, or any other change of the insurance 
policy submitted in accordance with 18VAC15-40-30 G within 
30 days of the change. 

18VAC15-40-180. Response to inquiry of the board. 

A. A licensee must respond within 10 days to a request by the 
board or any of its the board's agents regarding any complaint 
filed with the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a licensee of the 
board shall must produce to the board or any of its the board's 
agents within 10 days of the request any document, book, or 
record concerning any transaction pertaining to a complaint 
filed in which the licensee was involved, or for which the 
licensee is required to maintain records. The board may extend 

such timeframe upon a showing of extenuating circumstances 
prohibiting delivery within such 10-day period. 

C. A licensee shall must not provide a false, misleading, or 
incomplete response to the board or any of its the board's 
agents seeking information in the investigation of a complaint 
filed with the board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 
and B of this section, a licensee must respond to an inquiry by 
the board or its the board's agent within 21 days. 

18VAC15-40-210. Approval of prelicense education 
courses. 

A training provider seeking approval of a prelicense 
education course shall must submit an application for 
prelicense education course approval on a form provided by 
the board. In addition to the appropriate fee provided in 
18VAC15-40-50, the application shall must include: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of prelicense education courses if established, 
including dates, times, and locations; 

5. Method of delivery; 

6. Instructor information, including name, license number, if 
applicable, and a list of trade-appropriate designations, as 
well as a professional resume with a summary of teaching 
experience and subject matter knowledge and qualifications 
acceptable to the board; 

7. Materials to be provided to students; 

8. Fees for prelicense education course and materials; and 

9. Training module syllabus. 

18VAC15-40-220. Prelicense education course 
requirements. 

A prelicense education course must be a minimum of 35 
hours. The syllabus for each type of prelicense education 
course shall must encompass the following subject areas and 
include methods for identification and inspection, safety and 
maintenance, and standards for material selection and 
installation procedures, as applicable: 

1. Site conditions; 

2. Exterior components of the residential building; 

3. Structural system elements; 

4. Electrical system elements; 

5. Heating and cooling systems; 

6. Insulation, moisture management systems, and ventilation 
systems; 
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7. Plumbing systems; 

8. Interior components; 

9. Fireplace and chimney systems; 

10. Common permanently installed appliances; 

11. Inspection report requirements; 

12. Responsibilities to the client, including required contract 
elements; and 

13. Overview of the board's regulations. 

18VAC15-40-230. Approval of new residential structures 
training modules and new residential structures continuing 
professional education. 

A training provider seeking approval of an NRS training 
module or NRS CPE course shall must submit an application 
for NRS training module or NRS CPE course approval on a 
form provided by the board. NRS training modules and NRS 
CPE can be provided in a classroom environment, online, or 
through distance learning. In addition to the appropriate fee 
provided in 18VAC15-40-50, the application shall must 
include: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Module or CPE course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of training module or CPE course if established, 
including dates, times, and locations; 

5. Method of delivery; 

6. Instructor information, including name, license number, if 
applicable, and a list of trade-appropriate designations, as 
well as a professional resume with a summary of teaching 
experience and subject matter knowledge and qualifications 
acceptable to the board; 

7. Materials to be provided to students; 

8. Fees for NRS training module or NRS CPE course and 
materials; and 

9. Training module syllabus. 

18VAC15-40-240. New residential structures training 
module requirements. 

A. In order to qualify as an NRS training module under 
18VAC15-40-35, the training module must include a minimum 
of eight contact hours, and the syllabus shall must encompass 
all of the subject areas set forth in subsection B of this section. 

B. The following subject areas as they relate to the Virginia 
Residential Code shall must be included in all NRS training 
modules. The time allocated to each subject area must be 
sufficient to ensure adequate coverage of the subject as 
determined by the board. 

1. Origin of the Virginia Residential Code. 

a. Overview of Title 36 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. Roles and responsibilities of the Board of Housing and 
Community Development and the Department of Housing 
and Community Development. 

c. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, Part I 
(13VAC5-63-10 through 13VAC5-63-390) of 13VAC5-
63. 

2. Scope of the Virginia Residential Code. 

a. Purpose of the Virginia Residential Code. 

b. Exemptions from the Virginia Residential Code. 

c. Compliance alternatives. 

d. Code official discretion in administration and 
enforcement of the Virginia Residential Code. 

e. Process for amending the Virginia Residential Code. 

f. Code violations and enforcement. 

(1) Statute of limitations. 

(2) Effect of violations. 

g. Examples of code and non-code violations. 

3. Roles of the building code official and the home inspector, 
including an overview of § 36-105 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-250. New residential structures training 
modules and new residential structures continuing 
professional education requirements. 

In order to qualify for NRS CPE for the renewal of home 
inspector licenses with the NRS specialty, the NRS CPE must 
include a minimum of four contact hours and the syllabus shall 
must encompass all of the topic areas listed in 18VAC15-40-
240 for an NRS training module. 

18VAC15-40-260. Documentation of prelicense education 
courses, new residential structures training modules, and 
new residential structures continuing professional 
education completion requirements. 

All prelicense education course, NRS training module, and 
NRS CPE providers must provide each student who 
successfully completes the course or training module with a 
certificate of completion or other documentation that the 
student may use as proof of course or training module 
completion. Such documentation shall must contain the contact 
hours completed, the date of training, and the course 
identification number assigned by the board. 

18VAC15-40-270. Maintenance of records. 

All providers of approved prelicense education courses, NRS 
training modules, or NRS CPE courses must establish and 
maintain a record for each student. The record shall must 
include the student's name and address, the training module or 
course name and hours attended, the training module or course 
syllabus or outline, the name or names of the instructors, the 
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date of successful completion, and the board's approved 
training module or course identification number. Records shall 
must be available for inspection during normal business hours 
by authorized representatives of the board. Providers must 
maintain these records for a minimum of five years. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 
the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 
The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 
be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC15-40) 

Home Inspector License Application, A506-3380LIC-v4 (eff. 
12/2021) 

Home Inspector NRS Specialty Designation Application, 
A506-3380NRS-v1 (eff. 7/2017) 

Home Inspector Experience Verification Form, A506-
3380EXP-v7 (eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspectors – Inspection Log, A506-3380ILOG-v1 (eff. 
9/2017) 

Home Inspector Reinstatement Application, A506-3380REI-
v4 (eff. 2/2022) 

Home Inspector - Course Approval Application, Prelicense 
Education Course/NRS Training Module/NRS CPE, A506-
3331HICRS-v3 (eff. 2/2020) 

Home Inspector License Application, A506-3380LIC-v4 (eff. 
7/2022) 

Home Inspector Qualifying Experience Verification Form, 
A506-3380EXP-v8 (eff. 7/2022) 

Home Inspectors - Inspection Log, A506-3380ILOG-v2 (eff. 
7/2022) 

Home Inspector NRS Specialty Designation Application, 
A506-3380NRS-v2 (eff. 7/2022) 

Home Inspector Renewal/Reinstatement Application, A506-
3380REN_REI-v1 (eff. 7/2022) 

Home Inspector - Course Approval Application, Prelicense 
Education Course, NRS Training Module, or NRS CPE, A506-
3331HICRS-vs4 (eff. 7/2022) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6496; Filed June 27, 2024, 5:17 p.m. 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 
from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 
North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 
the Prescription Monitoring Program. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC76-20) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting (rev. 
10/2019) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting: 
Veterinarian (rev. 10/2019) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Agent to Receive 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
4/2018) 

Recipient Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
9/2021) 

Regulatory Authority Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 
Authorized Agent Clinical Designee to Receive Information 
from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 
Authorized Agent to Receive Information from the 
Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Account Development Form for Reporting to Virginia's 
Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 7/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Parole or Probation 
Officer to Receive Information from the Prescription 
Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Drug Diversion 
Investigator to Receive Information from the Prescription 
Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 
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Request to Register as an Authorized Investigator for the 
Department of Corrections to Receive Information from the 
Prescription Monitoring Program (eff. 8/2019) 

Recipient Request Form (rev. 6/2023) 

Dispenser Registration Form for Prescription Monitoring 
Program Reporting Account (rev. 1/2022) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting (rev. 
2/2022) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting for 
Veterinarians (rev. 7/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7990; Filed July 8, 2024, 8:11 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 
Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Titles of Documents: Cosmetology Licensees Completing 
Training Prior to Straight Razor Requirement. 

Implementation of 1,000-Hour Cosmetology Curriculum. 

Non-Traditional Classroom Instruction. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 28, 2024. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board for 
Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

Title of Document: Aid to Localities Grant Policy. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 28, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Spencer Willett, Government Affairs 
Manager, Department of Fire Programs, 1005 Technology 
Park Drive, Glen Allen 23059, or email 
spencer.willett@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: Virginia Private Activity Bond Local 
Housing Authority Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 28, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Chase Sawyer, Policy and Legislative 
Services Manager, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 310-5872, or 
email chase.sawyer@dhcd.virginia.gov. 
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Public Comment Opportunity for the 2024 Virginia 
Outdoor Plan - Recreation for All 

The Virginia Outdoors Plan (VOP) fulfills the 
Commonwealth's obligation to the Land and Water 
Conservation Fund (LWCF) Act administered by the National 
Park Service. It is the statewide conservation and outdoor 
recreation plan (SCORP) for all levels of government and other 
recreation interests across the state. The contents of the VOP 
help guide funding prioritization and distribution in outdoor 
recreation planning. Successful VOP publication every five 
years provides the Commonwealth access to significant LWCF 
funding for outdoor public recreation across the state, 
including for local and regional parks. This drafted 2024 
Virginia Outdoors Plan - Recreation for All (VOP 2024-2029) 
must be reviewed and approved by the National Park Service 
(NPS) to ensure it meets all the LWCF requirements for a 
SCORP. This 30-day public comment period is part of the NPS 
review process. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2024. 

Contact Information: Allison Tillett, Virginia Outdoors 
Program Coordinator, Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, 600 East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 238-8620, or email 
allison.tillett@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Residential 
Resources Limited Partnership - Charles City 

County 

The Department of Environmental Quality proposes to issue a 
consent special order to Residential Resources Limited 
Partnership for alleged violation of the State Water Control 
Law at the Sign Post Estates wastewater treatment plant 
located in Charles City County, Virginia. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the DEQ contact listed or online 
at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-
notices/enforcement-orders. DEQ will accept comments by 
email or postal mail from July 29, 2024, through August 28, 
2024. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 
Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality Piedmont 
Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia 
23060, telephone (804) 659-2696, or email 
matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Town of 
Wytheville 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 
proposing an enforcement action for the Town of Wytheville 
for violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations 
at the Wytheville wastewater treatment plant in Wythe County, 
Virginia. The proposed order is available from the DEQ 
contact listed or at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-
notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will accept 
comments by email or postal mail from July 29, 2024, through 
August 28, 2024. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 
Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 
Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 
24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Sedge Hill Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Energy Storage) - 

Halifax County 

Sedge Hill Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 
energy project (energy storage) in Halifax County, Virginia, 
pursuant to 9VAC15-100. The project name is Sedge Hill 
Solar; the owner is Sedge Hill Solar LLC; and the project 
developer is Birch Creek Renewables. The DEQ project 
number is RE0000318. 

The location of the project is near Chaffin Trail in Halifax 
County with a centroid of Latitude 36.7926780°, Longitude -
78.9220490°. The proposed project will have a maximum rated 
capacity of 80 megawatts alternating current on approximately 
812 disturbed acres. The project will include the utilization of 
approximately 224,800 photovoltaic panels. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Renewable Energy Permit 
by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 774-8474, or email 
amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

High Bridge Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Energy Storage) - Town 

of Farmville 

High Bridge Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 
energy project in the Town of Farmville, Virginia, pursuant to 
9VAC15-100. The project name is High Bridge Solar; the 
owner is High Bridge Solar LLC; and the project developer is 
Inovateus Solar. The DEQ project number is RE0000321. 

The location of the project is near Cedar Avenue in the Town 
of Farmville with a centroid of Latitude 37.302096°, Longitude 
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-78.374746°. The proposed project will have a maximum rated 
capacity of 12 megawatts alternating current on one parcel 
totaling 131 acres. The project will include the utilization of 
approximately 27,600 photovoltaic panels and will sit on a 
fixed tilt racking system. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 
Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 718-
9569, or email matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
for a Cleanup Study of Greendale Creek and 

Unnamed Tributary to Fleenor Branch in 
Washington County 

Purpose of Notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) seeks public comment on to the development of a draft 
cleanup study, also known as a total maximum daily (TDML) 
report, for Greendale Creek and Unnamed Tributary to Fleenor 
Branch in Washington County. 

Greendale Creek and the Unnamed Tributary to Fleenor 
Branch are listed as impaired waters and require a cleanup 
study since monitoring data indicates that the waters do not 
meet Virginia's general water quality standard for aquatic life. 
Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of 
the State Water Control Law requires DEQ to develop cleanup 
studies to address pollutants responsible for causing waters to 
be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired waters. A component 
of a cleanup study is the wasteload allocation (WLA); 
therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 
of the Code of Virginia for any future adoption of the WLA 
into the Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 
(9VAC25-720) after completion of the study. The adoption of 
the WLA may require new or additional requirements for 
entities holding a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) permit in the Greendale Creek or Unnamed 
Tributary to Fleenor Branch watersheds. 

A study has been completed for Greendale Creek and the 
Unnamed Tributary to Fleenor Branch to identify pollutant 
sources and recommend reductions needed from the sources to 
meet water quality standards. At the meeting, DEQ will present 
the results of the study and provide an overview of the draft 
report. Citizens are invited to provide comment on the study. 

Cleanup Study Location: The cleanup study addresses the 
following impaired stream segments. Greendale Creek is in 
Washington County and flows approximately 5.03 miles in 
length. It begins at its headwaters and continues to the 
confluence of the North Fork of the Holston River. The 
Unnamed Tributary to Fleenor Branch is in Washington 
County and flows approximately 0.85 miles in length. It begins 
at its headwaters and continues to its confluence with Fleenor 
Branch. 

Public Meeting: The final public meeting on the development 
of the cleanup study will be held at the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality Southwest Regional Office, 355 
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA, August 13, 2024, at 6:30 
p.m. In the event of inclement weather, the meeting will be 
held on August 14, 2024, at the same time and location. 

Public Comment Period: August 13, 2024, to September 12, 
2024. 

How to Comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email or 
postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ during 
the comment period. Submittals must include the name, 
organization represented (if any), mailing addresses, and 
telephone numbers of the commenter or requester. 

Contact Information: Landon Jenkins, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 608-
8643, or email landon.jenkins@deq.virginia.gov. 
 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 
were originally published or last supplemented in the print 
version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 
coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 
sharing pertinent regulatory information. 


